Aviation Thread (https://www.reforestnation.ie/offset-your-carbon)

Burning off fuel for an emergency landing now

Still circling the plane is 31 years old😲

Landed safely thanks be to God

Carnage

Boeing, Airbus they are all gone

Gatwick is totally gone. BA pulling the plug there too.

Could we see the collapse of some of the big aviation leasing firms currently based here?

Large number in Shannon

yep, there’s over a hundred companies in shannon doing leasing, then theres ancillary services such as maintenance, painting and fitout.

could be worse than 08 for LK/CE region

I know someone working in one of the large ones in shannon. They are having some craic battling with airlines trying to get out of contracts.

Ireland is going to be devastated.

How long before Michael O’Leary announces that Ryanair wants to purchase Gatwick?

Ryanair are gone too, they won’t exist in 12 months. The cheap flights model is finished

They’ll need the third runway in heathrow yet

Heathrow is gone, ye need to get yer head around it lads, the tourism industry has been nuked, it will take decades to recover

The ballsy guys will be getting stuck in now.

There will be a cure / vaccine in 6 months and the world will be back where it was.
Possibly a lessening of business travel, but tourism will be back in full swing in 2021.

no chance, people are terrified, the damage has been done

This is the model chaps. The price and timing needs to come down big time but I’m sure it will over the next couple of months.

I’m going to guess that people are going to be reluctant to take the risk of flying and getting stuck so you’ll likely want to do a test before you go, just like a jab or whatever.

There are impracticalities and logistical issues to it certainly but I have faith that it can be done.

Governments and airlines need to move quickly towards this to try and save the industry. The industry will come back in some form in 12-18 months (With higher prices) you’d imagine but there remains a shot at saving things in the short term. The hoops to jump through may not be as high as I outline above either.

its the only hope in the short term

An bhfuil cead agam dul go dti an leithreas?

Passengers travelling with Ryanair will have to ask permission to use the toilet under new rules laid out by the airline, as it prepares to restart 40% of flights in July in the hope that government restrictions on travel in Europe will be lifted.

Surprised if they dont charge 2 yoyos per visit either