Aviation Thread (https://www.reforestnation.ie/offset-your-carbon)

Probably before I hopped onboard the planet saving bandwagon

Berlin, Dresden, Prague, Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest are all along in kind of a line. The Berlin to Budapest train goes through all of them on route. We did Berlin, Dresden, Prague before. Would love to finish it out.
I’d say Berlin or Prague would both be cracking places to live. Night life would be top top class

What’s Dresden like.

I thought Berlin was far better than Prague but it’s not really a German city the way you’d expect - not a beer town etc. We hit an absinthe bar in Berlin that was an experience.

Munich is a great spot to amble around drinking beer and ating pork.

The place is like a bomb hit it

Ne’er an old oak tree?

It’s actually got a really cool historic city centre that they put back together after the war. You wouldn’t need more than a couple of days there. Wan good day would do it really. Nearly everything you’d need to see is in the old Palace (which has 4 or 5 museums in it) or within 5 mins walk of it

I love Prague, I know it’s got the stag/bar crawl shite going on. But I just think it’s class. Loads to see and do and the fucking beer. Nom, nom, nom. A pint of the monks own beer in the beer garden in the monastery on the side of the hill overlooking the city :heart_eyes:

As far as nightlife goes I would say Prague is one of the sleaziest kips I was ever in and that’s saying something…

Yeah it’s great

I am sold.

Dresden is a fine city. Built on the Elbe river. Completely rebuilt after WW2 of course. About 90 mins drive from Prague IIRC. Wroclaw is similar.

Way too many tourists nowadays. It was grand in the 90’s before the riff raff arrived.

All the tourist traps might be a touch quieter this autumn. Might be the time to do Paris, Rome, Barcelona, Dubrovnik, Venice etc

Definitely. Krakow was great last summer. No plagues walking around the square wearing Oirish soccer jerseys and flip flops. No Brit stag groups.

Decadent Western pigdogs

Several in the DAA preparing for a massive ramp up in passengers next month. Not sure if they know something I dont or what. Might be worth a taking a punt on some cheap flights while they are going

It’s done. Herself asked in passing today if I reckoned it was worthwhile looking at city break options. Now there are other, more dribbly, nappy-clad logistical issues than Covid that we personally have to contend with, but believe me that’s a sign.

On Teams calls with my colleagues on the continent there is a smattering of actual offices replacing that stupid penthouse background that everyone picked.

The first wave, a wave of tentative normality, is just around the corner.

Ain’t that the truth

Herself (my herself not your herself) is already looking at Bari or Crete or, and I quote directly here, “somewhere else like that”

Why can’t babies just enjoy a few lagers on the terrace like the rest of us?