Nothing more boring than a bad beat story. The amount of good mates I had who used to be big racing, dogs fanatics who have chucked it all away to play hold 'em is sickening. They couldnât tell you a thing about racing any more, just poker bores now.
Every player will remember a bad beat that they received, they wonât remember those that they gave. There was 1 in the WSOP this year where 4 aces were beaten by a royal flush.
1 of the reasons holdem came so popular is that itâs a game of huge variance where luck can have a factor, unlike stud games. For a real bad beat game play Omaha Hi Lo
[quote=âClaremanâ]Every player will remember a bad beat that they received, they wonât remember those that they gave. There was 1 in the WSOP this year where 4 aces were beaten by a royal flush.
1 of the reasons holdem came so popular is that itâs a game of huge variance where luck can have a factor, unlike stud games. For a real bad beat game play Omaha Hi Lo[/quote]
Iâve taken to playing RAZZ lately. Good game, worst hand wins so suits me!!
RAZZ is a great game, when I was playing a lot I used to mix it up by playing the HORSE games on Full Tilt, great for keeping you focused.
[quote=âClaremanâ]Every player will remember a bad beat that they received, they wonât remember those that they gave. There was 1 in the WSOP this year where 4 aces were beaten by a royal flush.
1 of the reasons holdem came so popular is that itâs a game of huge variance where luck can have a factor, unlike stud games. For a real bad beat game play Omaha Hi Lo[/quote]
Must be the worst beat of all time, the fella who had the royal seems an awful clown:
Omaha should only be played inside the walls of a lunatic asylum.
Crazy crazy game. Was in my biggest ever pot of poker in my life playing Omaha about 2 years ago. Thankfully I didnt lose it. 3 way pot, split 2 way in the end.
AAJT double suited (me) AAxx (other guy), 4567 (other guy)
Omaha is a great game, my game, yerman with the 4567 was happy to see the other 2 of yeâre hands. The thing to remember about Omaha, if you flop the nutts and canât improve your hand from there, fold
Itâs great game, but youâd want deep pockets to be playing it properly. Great way to spin up a few quid very quickly. We have a core of 7 r 8 of us who play 5 card draw most Sundays in the pub. Great way to pass a few hours and by keeping the ante low, the pots never really spiral out of control, and nobody fells out of their dept sitting in.
I take it your also Clareman on the poker forum on boards? Have a bit of a lurk there from time to time.
Iâm clareman everywhere except for AFR, my email address is even clareman@gmail.com
To a degree yes. You should always try make sure youâre drawing to the nuts.
Iâve seen many a man lose his bollix (including me on occasion) with the 2nd nut flush
Or the holdem player that thinks that cause heâs got quads in his hand that heâs elected, or even better, thinking he has the nutt flush on a paired board
Them players generally donât last too long playing Omaha Clareman!!
Nope, but I had a great holiday thanks to some of them
400 French players over for this. 100 Dutch.
Played the Jackpot shitty little tournament last night as thought itâd be good value. It was however the French must be one of the most annoying races in the world.
Ignorant enough cunts too.
[quote=âGaillimharaisâ]400 French players over for this. 100 Dutch.
Played the Jackpot shitty little tournament last night as thought itâd be good value. It was however the French must be one of the most annoying races in the world.
Ignorant enough cunts too.[/quote]
The Thursday night 20 one?? What a shower of fcukin head wreckers do be at that!! âgeniusâ students, mouthing off to anyone whoâll listen. I politely told one little fcuk there one night where he could shove his âfold equityâ!! I won it once and never went back again.
Ahhh, the players that have read everything they can lay their hands on, have all the lingo, but just knew you were on a draw, hate those tossers
That was my first time there in nearly a year and last night I remember why! (Usually play live in the Fitz) The boys who have read all the books (in fairness Iâve read a lot of them too) but wouldnât have any balls whatsoever.
Ya, I would have read a fair few of them myself, but I would never mouth off or run down another players play at the table. Beside the idea is to take their money off them, why the fuck would you point out their mistakes to them??
Having a natural gut instinct and card playing ability far out weighs anything you can read in a book. Obviously reading about the game can only help you improve but at the end of the day I think with cards you either got it or you donât. As was mentioned earlier, the thing with holdem is any donkey can get lucky once or twice, and lead them to believe they are unreal at cards.
[quote=âThe Runtâ]Ya, I would have read a fair few of them myself,
Any books yeâd reccomend?
Only one iâve read is Doyle Brunsons Super system, which i thought was excellent, even just for some of the stories in it about games he played donkeys years ago in hay barns etc.
Thats true. Some of the best players I ever played with in Galway wouldnât know the front page of a poker book to the back but boy can they smell weakness.