Barmen charged as hotel guest dies from alcohol intoxication

By Barry Duggan
Thursday October 29 2009

TWO barmen working in one of the country’s most famous hotels have been charged with the unlawful killing of an Englishman who died from acute alcohol intoxication on the night of his birthday.

The criminal case, the first one of “liquor liability” in Ireland, has been brought against two staff at the landmark Hayes Hotel in Thurles, Co Tipperary, following a lengthy investigation by gardai.

Earlier this week, bar manager Gary Wright (32) and barman Aidan Dalton (27) appeared in Thurles District Court.

They were both charged with the manslaughter of Graham Parish contrary to common law at the hotel on July 1, 2008.

It is understood the young man choked to death on his own vomit following a night’s socialising at the hotel.

Both men, who gave addresses at Kilfithmone, Borrisleigh, Co Tipperary, were charged with the unlawful killing of the English national on formal directions of the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The men appeared in court to face the manslaughter charges following a mammoth and complex 16-month investigation led by Supt Tony Cogan of Thurles garda station.

Graham Parish, of 41 Calder Terrace, Lomeshaye village near Nelson, Lancashire, England, was a resident in Hayes Hotel on the night of June 30/July 1 2008.

The deceased had celebrated his 26th birthday on June 30 and his death came about as a result of acute alcohol intoxication.

Bail

Judge Tom O’Donnell granted both defendants bail and ordered them to appear before the same court again next month for service of the book of evidence.

Hayes Hotel is located in Liberty Square in Thurles and is a popular haunt of GAA supporters.

The GAA was founded in the hotel on November 1, 1884, when it was known as the Commercial Hotel. The case is set to revive debate over the responsibility owed to the public by bartenders, bar owners and “social hosts”.

A spokesman for Hayes Hotel said he could not comment on the issue last night.

"We are not in a position to comment as the matter is sub-judice, except to say that we have co-operated fully with gardai on this tragic matter throughout their investigation.

“However, our thoughts at this time are first and foremost with the family and friends of the deceased, Mr Graham Parish.”

• Barry Duggan

The outcome of this case should be very interesting.
There must have be woeful messing going on for the Gardai to pursue this.

[quote=“Phil Leotardo”]Barmen charged as hotel guest dies from alcohol intoxication
By Barry Duggan
Thursday October 29 2009

TWO barmen working in one of the country’s most famous hotels have been charged with the unlawful killing of an Englishman who died from acute alcohol intoxication on the night of his birthday.

The criminal case, the first one of “liquor liability” in Ireland, has been brought against two staff at the landmark Hayes Hotel in Thurles, Co Tipperary, following a lengthy investigation by gardai.

Earlier this week, bar manager Gary Wright (32) and barman Aidan Dalton (27) appeared in Thurles District Court.

They were both charged with the manslaughter of Graham Parish contrary to common law at the hotel on July 1, 2008.

It is understood the young man choked to death on his own vomit following a night’s socialising at the hotel.

Both men, who gave addresses at Kilfithmone, Borrisleigh, Co Tipperary, were charged with the unlawful killing of the English national on formal directions of the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The men appeared in court to face the manslaughter charges following a mammoth and complex 16-month investigation led by Supt Tony Cogan of Thurles garda station.

Graham Parish, of 41 Calder Terrace, Lomeshaye village near Nelson, Lancashire, England, was a resident in Hayes Hotel on the night of June 30/July 1 2008.

The deceased had celebrated his 26th birthday on June 30 and his death came about as a result of acute alcohol intoxication.

Bail

Judge Tom O’Donnell granted both defendants bail and ordered them to appear before the same court again next month for service of the book of evidence.

Hayes Hotel is located in Liberty Square in Thurles and is a popular haunt of GAA supporters.

The GAA was founded in the hotel on November 1, 1884, when it was known as the Commercial Hotel. The case is set to revive debate over the responsibility owed to the public by bartenders, bar owners and “social hosts”.

A spokesman for Hayes Hotel said he could not comment on the issue last night.

"We are not in a position to comment as the matter is sub-judice, except to say that we have co-operated fully with gardai on this tragic matter throughout their investigation.

“However, our thoughts at this time are first and foremost with the family and friends of the deceased, Mr Graham Parish.”

• Barry Duggan[/quote]

That’s fucking crazy.

I dunno how they can prove that those guys were the only guys to give him alcohol on the night. Yer man could have been a total chronic drinking naggins and hipflasks on the sly.

Surely it’ll be very hard to get a conviction.

[quote=“The Runt”]The outcome of this case should be very interesting.
There must have be woeful messing going on for the Gardai to pursue this.[/quote]

Not high jinks?

Its a load of cock.

Moral of the Story : Tans can’t drink like Paddy.

No, they are being tried under section 24 of the Woeful Messing Act (1987). This act covers, messing, horse play and general tomfoolery.

I’d be shocked if the barmen got done here. Their solicitor will surely argue how the pub was really busy on the night, the lad could have being drinking elsewhere beforehand, etc, etc.

Also there is no training/licence required to be a barman here. In Australia you can have to do a course and be certified before you can work in a bar, so then you can be convicted under the a liquor liability act because you have been trained to know better.

If they get done for this then the likes of the boys in Nancy Blakes firing vodka down peoples throats in the Outback might be getting a lil worried.

I must say I have seen barmen serve cunts who are clearly fucked with the drink for no other purposes than greed.

What a waste of tax payers money.

Is there not law that says eh its your own fault. Thought thats how Nally got off?

Nally, what a legend. Nice to see his name mentioned in here again, well done Julio. :thumbsup:

As others have said I presume there’s more to this than simply giving your man too much drink casually over an evening. For landmark charges to be brought I guess they must suspect that there was some sort of deliberate malice or gross negligence going on.

This falls under woeful messing.

For these lads to get done they would want to have been pouring shots down his throat while he was asleep on the bar.

[quote=“The Runt”]This falls under woeful messing.

For these lads to get done they would want to have been pouring shots down his throat while he was asleep on the bar.[/quote]

Or injecting it into his veins

sure he would more than likely have got beaten to death out on the street later that night, brain damage at the very best.

This case starts tomorrow. Should be worth following. Wonder if there was anything else to it other than being asked for drink and handing it over. Were they involved in more active selling or convincing your man to drink more or something?

A big moment also for Phil Leotardo. I doubt anyone has responded to any of his threads before but he set this up first in fairness to him and may have his first ever multipager with this one if he keeps the interest up.

As my good friend TASE might say.

A new low for the GGA. :angry:

I started the Bin Laden thread live from the USA as I sat there watching NBC :frowning:

I admit I’m sometimes lazy/sometimes too busy to post as much as I should