Itâs been a tough lockdown for many.
I suspect the end of lockdown could be even harder for some.
Those that are living will do their best to survive
As trivial as it sounds, the gaa are supposed to release some kind of a fixture list this week. That might help refocus a few minds
Random one tonight⌠Doorbell went while we were having tea. We werenât expecting visitors.
I opened to find a large sized lady around the 60 mark who just blurted out - can you give me a lift Iâll pay you 50 euro. As you can imagine i was stumped and tried to determine where she was coming from and what the story was but i grasped straight away she was mentally unwell. I grabbed the keys and said sure⌠She was locked out apparently and had a friend in Carrigaline who would put her up. Carrigaline is about 15 minutes away⌠We were only in the car a few minutes and she started to have a change of mind (after i had to clip in her seat belt for her) so now it was to Douglas⌠Then it was âflag down that cab pleaseâ ⌠Cab occupied. Ok, âwill you drop me back to our estate ive another friend thereâ⌠Get to house and as we pull up she says thereâs no one there, the car isnt there. I said i could drop her anywhere but she then started muttering about a light being on in a house in front and sheâd get out and wanted to pay me. I told her she was grand and wished her a happy Christmas⌠She got out and walked away from the house back to the main road.
Iâd say sheâs someone off her meds and was having an episode of some sort⌠Obviously got paranoid after getting in the car. A very random situation but I hope sheâs alright and got indoors somewhere. I wasnât sure what else to do with her.
The obvious one would be to drive her to the Garda station but Iâd imagine sheâd freak out if you tried. But calling the Gardai might be a wise move
You should contact the local guards
Or she could be just from Cark.
On a serious note, yeah, ring the gardai.
The mrs had half an idea who it was and contacted some one who contacted someone⌠I know no more. She didnât do anything completely nuts so what could i do.
Itâs two fold really. For her own safety and for your protection should you be the last to see her
Thereâs a woman on our road that I posted about before, maybe somebody remembers,
Anyway sheâs suffering very badly with her mental health, we had been trying very hard to get her help or do what we could ourselves, we offered to do her shopping for her, dropped bags of coal to her house anonymously while there was cold weather, weâd go out of our way to call or just say hello to her on the street.
Anyway she took a turn against us, me and the missus, but everybody really, when we passed she would turn her head away, weâd say âhowâre ya xxxxxxâ and no reply,
Anyway it was clearly annoying her, she started calling to out house, would stand at the door and say with a maniacal smile âI just called to say helloâ and turn and walk away, then sheâd say Iâll call back later to say hello again.
And she did that a few times and we were suitably frightened enough for our kids that we stopped doing anything for her or saying hello
So now sheâs completely alone except for her mentally disabled brother who lives with her, and another brother whom she hates that calls from time to time to do little jobs in the house
Itâs fierce sad when you think about it, we always had gotten on very well, she was often in our house drinking tea and now itâs come to this, frightening
Saying âhowâre ya, cuntâ isnât very neighbourly, pal.
This is it. What if she was eventually picked up by the guards and started saying she had been abducted and escaped.
I see youâve been reading @KinvarasPassion posts regarding his auld batchelor farmer neighbour.
Itâs mad we live in a time where our first thoughts in @Thomas_Bradyâs scenario are what the lady would accuse him of rather than calling out what a sound gesture it was. Where did it all go wrong
Fair play to you maneen. Youâre a good sort to do all that for her, the poor divil. Not much more you could do.
It could be a tough one for @backinatracksuit to benefit from, a long and complex road I suspect. Itâs very likely the brother with the special needs is entitled to stay in the house till he dies and then there is the other brother that calls from time to time. Weâd also need to establish the age of these people.
That said, if you had the appetite for it, there might be a valuable asset there at the end of it. Iâd shtand well back to be honest.
Tricky alright. Itâs going to take more than a few bags of coal, thatâs for sure. Plus she sounds like sheâs onto them.
Sometimes the hinter becomes the hunted.
Itâd be the kids who would benefit really #longgame