What was the exact name/contact detail of this? The Political walking tour? Just want to make sure its the right one
Going up next week with Mrs J. We did a black cab tour last year but our guide was utter shite.
Any other recommendations @Halfpipe@Fagan_ODowd@Pirlo@TheUlteriorMotive anybody else
Also @glenshane can you throw up some sort of pithy comment full of spite, umbrage and grievance be it justified or unjustified?
That joe mcquillan is some bastard. Take a dander round the botanic gardens and the ulster museum, then orto pizza…a class wee spot (the museum is in botanicgardens, orto is yards from the museum). You’ve been to the titanic centre? Clifford is a fraud
Guys, please ignore @Juhniallio ’s query & tilt it towards recommendations for a few days in Belfast with a 7.87 & 5.91 year old? We’ve been recommended the Titanic stuff, the W5 or W4 stuff but need a couple of other bits.
There’s a black bull run and Gruffalo walk in Colin Glen park a few miles outside the city centre which kids that age might enjoy.
Great playground in Stormont as well, and you can take a stroll up the drive to parliament buildings if so inclined.
Picky park in Bangor is a short enough drive, and the observatory at the top of Victoria Square shopping centre is worth a trip. Bounce park in the titanic quarter and a decent indoor water park in Lisburn if the weather is shite.
That’s exactly it though. The tour guide down the Falls was a small scrawny lad, the Shankill one was a built up lad. Ya knew from the Falls road lad had been studying up what he was doing.
Other than the political stuff I’m not sure Belfast has developed much stuff aimed at a tourist. But if you were energetic then a walk up Cave Hill on a nice day is a great way to pass a few hours. If you are less energetic then a walk out around the University and Malone Road would do the trick. I think you speak a bit of Irish, if so call into one of the cafe places in the west where they will be delighted to see you. Most people in Belfast are sound.
My usual recommendation for anyone coming up from the south is to call into Hillsborough village, grand spot for a bit of grub and a walk.
Folk museum is a grand spot to let youngsters run free and burn off energy in the open air for a few hours. My youngsters were around that age when they went to birthday parties in Go Hydro in Carryduff and enjoyed it
Thanks pal. Is this the museum in the outskirts or the one in the city itself in the botanic(al) gardens? If there’s somewhere to run around & some interactive bits for kids then my lads would be interested alright.
It’s the one out past Holywood. I’m not sure if it could be described as interactive (though there are workers dressed up walking about) but they can run off doing their own thing, climb trees, tractors, pews in Presbyterian churches etc. Then some old style sweet shops, ice-cream places, and decent cafes to sit out in if the weather is good. Iv never heard a bad word about the place as long as expectations are managed.
Actually hit up there with my crew for a day trip over the Easter holidays. Went on the train with a changeover in Drogheda. Only waiting 5 mins each time.
Walked to Georges Market from the station and got an early lunch and some bobbins. Jumped on the on/off open bus tour from there. Guide was excellent and the small poxes were engaged by the murals. It was my first time down Shankill rd and I would in hindsight liked to have walked it.
Got off the bus at the Titanic museum. The eldest (8) had some project on it so it was the main reason for the trip. Museum was good, museums are things I like but it was a little crowded. Gave a solid 2 hours there.
Hit back to city centre grabbing a quick pint and some grub before the girls got 20 mins in Sephora. Back then on the train. An enjoyable day out.
The Ireland women’s rubby team are staying in the same hotel as us ahead of their crucial Six Nations clash with Wales on Saturday evening in the Affidea Stadium. How exciting.
Did this yesterday. Jake is a great fella. Quite the buzzer, which you really need to pull off the …‘ah there was 2 of us at it Ref!’…in this regard. You can well imagine him pulling a few capers still.
The republican was grand but a bit like a lad reading out his essay. Way less personable.
Republicans are, in the main dour, cheerless people. A quick peek into Dáil Éireann mar shampla throws up Claire Kerrane, Mairead Farrell, Cullinane, Louise O’Reilly, MacLochlainn, Doherty - the list is endless.
They weren’t brimming with wit or one-liners in the past either……I’d say Ferris, O’Caolain and Adams et al have the personalities of Rottweilers.