Best Carveries in Dublin

Yep, I get what you’re saying and I’m obviously not looking for Michelin Star class in a carvery or anything but I’ve been to some places where you get massive portions piled up on the plate but the main problem is the food being completely inedible.

[quote=“Gman”]used to go to rodys saturday lunchtimes for the carvery

Rodys is absolute muck these days.

[quote=“myboyblue”]Seconded, not a selection like it in Dublin.

Ah jaysus HBV, your av…my eyesights poor these days, but is that who I think it is…[/quote]

either somethings holding them up or her tits have reacted to viagra

Actually thats a good one

Ok own up; who’s ingested Irelands biggest export?

[quote=“Fran”]Another vote for O’ Neills here.

Just had a carvery in Bradys in Terenure there and it was decent enough. It had been poor enough but has improved over the last year or so.

I’ve heard great things about the Morgue.[/quote]

Same here; might give it a go at the weekend. Has Brady’s really improved?

What ever ye do lads; Don’t Touch the Sub.

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]either somethings holding them up or her tits have reacted to viagra

Actually thats a good one

Ok own up; who’s ingested Irelands biggest export?[/quote]

maire, apart from your good self, name me one irish lady who doesn’t need some sort of apparatus to keep them pushed up.

and don’t say joanne cantwell

Is there anything you’re not a great judge of Puke?

My favourite would be O’Neills too. Can throw a few Yorkshire Puddings in if ya want too to soak up the gravy.

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]Same here; might give it a go at the weekend. Has Brady’s really improved?

What ever ye do lads; Don’t Touch the Sub.[/quote]

it was about a year ago but the sirloin steak on a sunday evening after a rough weekend was memorable in the morgue, its my only experience in there but i remember it fondly

[quote=“HBV*”]maire, apart from your good self, name me one irish lady who doesn’t need some sort of apparatus to keep them pushed up.

and don’t say joanne cantwell[/quote]

with all due respect; those tits are up and out.

Unless you’ve gotten fierce handy with the photoshop. :smiley:
Ya Cheeky Tinker

[quote=“Mairegangaire”] Has Brady’s really improved?

Yea it wasn’t too bad now today. Roast potatoes were very nice. Not your usual hard in the middle dried out yokes that they used to throw up to you. I’d pass on the cauliflower though. It wasn’t the best I’ve ever had but a massive improvement on what it used to be.

Comans in Rathgar used to be decent enough before they did it up and started handing around menus

ye the Morgue is nice for a feed…same family own the eden pub beside Marley park which also does a lovely carvery…think it actually got voted pub of the year this year…

Used to go to Slattery’s on Capel Street but mainly because if you get 5 stamps of the loyalty card your next meal is free.

There’s a pub near me that does a carvery for 6 but I’m yet to try it out. I agree that they often make you feel “not right” for the rest of the day.

Fagan’s always had nice food any time I was there, in fact if I ever stay in Jury’s Croke Park I always goto Fagan’s.

Around the metropolis that is Ennis you can’t go wrong with Charlie Stewarts or The Peppermill for the carveries, Rogues or The Old Ground for a la carte

The Eden.

Got to agree on the Sub, it would be my local but I haven’t darkened the door in years.

A la carte in Comans of Rathgar is well worth a bash, the Saturday evening 5-7 buzz is a great setting for a bit of a la carte grub with sport on the telly.

[quote=“Fran”]Yea it wasn’t too bad now today. Roast potatoes were very nice. Not your usual hard in the middle dried out yokes that they used to throw up to you. I’d pass on the cauliflower though. It wasn’t the best I’ve ever had but a massive improvement on what it used to be.

Comans in Rathgar used to be decent enough before they did it up and started handing around menus[/quote]

i would venture that Comans is now one of the worst places to eat in the area, pure rank the last time i was in, about 4 months ago, we vowed not to return, all a bit uppety now and tacky grub at knocked up prices
was a decent spot for years

[quote=“Thrawneen”]Used to go to Slattery’s on Capel Street but mainly because if you get 5 stamps of the loyalty card your next meal is free.

There’s a pub near me that does a carvery for 6 but I’m yet to try it out. I agree that they often make you feel “not right” for the rest of the day.[/quote]

6 sheets? Fair enough some [poor] people think that 13 quid is excessive, but how decent can the food actually be for 6 quid? Avoid.

Could be time for a poll on this one.

[quote=“Clareman”]Fagan’s always had nice food any time I was there, in fact if I ever stay in Jury’s Croke Park I always goto Fagan’s.

Around the metropolis that is Ennis you can’t go wrong with Charlie Stewarts or The Peppermill for the carveries, Rogues or The Old Ground for a la carte[/quote]

the brother is working above in ennis at the minute and he goes to charlie stewarts most days and says it the fullsolid finest…

I would often go to the queens on a sunday if i was at a match in ennis and it can be hit and miss but they have a decent set up

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]6 sheets? Fair enough some [poor] people think that 13 quid is excessive, but how decent can the food actually be for 6 quid? Avoid.

Could be time for a poll on this one.[/quote]

My mate says it’s alright. I’ll try it and report back. It’s in Dalkey so there’s not all that many people to feed and a decent bit of competition in the area.

[quote=“HBV*”] i would venture that Comans is now one of the worst places to eat in the area, pure rank the last time i was in, about 4 months ago, we vowed not to return, all a bit uppety now and tacky grub at knocked up prices
was a decent spot for years[/quote]

Each to their own, I found the homemade burger excellent when I was in one of the recent bank holiday Sundays.

If you are in the area though, Howard’s Way has to be the shout. For price-quality value, it is absolutely superb. Saturday morning breakfast has never felt better either.

[quote=“Sledgehammer”]Each to their own, I found the homemade burger excellent when I was in one of the recent bank holiday Sundays.

If you are in the area though, Howard’s Way has to be the shout. For price-quality value, it is absolutely superb. Saturday morning breakfast has never felt better either.[/quote]

the day we were in a good few people around us were not that happy with it, i remember it as something you would get in mother hubbards to be honest.

howards way gets alot of good things said about it, must get in there sometime

[quote=“The Puke”]the brother is working above in ennis at the minute and he goes to charlie stewarts most days and says it the fullsolid finest…

I would often go to the queens on a sunday if i was at a match in ennis and it can be hit and miss but they have a decent set up[/quote]
Its absolutely shite. Just after getting my second dose of the shits in two weeks after their “roast of the day” for lunch, as for the queens carvery! smells delicious, tastes rank. “Good judge” my hole