Big Jock Knew

hi all
there is no point in avoiding the dark unseemly history of Glasgow Celtic. I am not going to tolerate the oseterrich mentality that pervades this site in relation to this issue. We need to confront
-how much he knew?
-did he “do them too”?
-was there a formal link to the Catholic Church?

I know some “gers” fans have fairly definite opinions that Jock Stein was invlolved in the abuse of young boys at the Glasgow football club. The extent of this involvement is what is up for debate. Was he purely a voyeur or somehing more sinister?

Some say the cover up is worse than the crime. It seems there was an institutional attempt to sweep the scandal under the carpet. Is this connected to the Catholic / secterain ethos of the club?

Was Willie Maley involved?

What is the current “youth policy”?

Nobody wants Glasgow Celtic to reform more than I do but we cannot in all confidence move on untill these questions are addressed.

Big Jock Knew how to win European Cups.

Here croppy, who was the dolly bird with you in Searson’s on Monday lunchtime?

so your saying that jock stein “allegedly” touched young trainees at celtic…have any of these boys ever come forward or is there any anicdotal eveidence to back this up…always thought that the celtic crowd were a shower of weird perverts…

Is this the croppy yez were telling us about before lads?

[quote=“Bandage”]Big Jock Knew how to win European Cups.

Here croppy, who was the dolly bird with you in Searson’s on Monday lunchtime?[/quote]

I think said D olly bird was probably a chick called Emma*. The only chick I’ve ever heard the croppy treat like a proper person/talk to without saying can I put my cock in you/do you do gee?

Look into the Celtic boys club child abuse scandal if you never heard of it. The club covered it up. Brings new meaning to the term ‘the Celtic huddle’.

*Think her name’s Emma but can’t remember. Spoke to her on loudspeaker and she’s a buzzer alright, if a little up herself. Croppy’s defo on a regular there.

[quote=“croppy”]hi all
there is no point in avoiding the dark unseemly history of Glasgow Celtic. I am not going to tolerate the oseterrich mentality that pervades this site in relation to this issue. We need to confront
-how much he knew?
-did he “do them too”?
-was there a formal link to the Catholic Church?

I know some “gers” fans have fairly definite opinions that Jock Stein was invlolved in the abuse of young boys at the Glasgow football club. The extent of this involvement is what is up for debate. Was he purely a voyeur or somehing more sinister?

Some say the cover up is worse than the crime. It seems there was an institutional attempt to sweep the scandal under the carpet. Is this connected to the Catholic / secterain ethos of the club?

Was Willie Maley involved?

What is the current “youth policy”?

Nobody wants Glasgow Celtic to reform more than I do but we cannot in all confidence move on untill these questions are addressed.[/quote]

Trying to tarnish the name of a man that helped carry and tend to your injured fans & tried to save your dying fans ? :wink:

And it’s spelt “sectarian” El Cropio

[quote=“Cannavaros Cat”]Trying to tarnish the name of a man that helped carry and tend to your injured fans & tried to save your dying fans ? :wink:

And it’s spelt “sectarian” El Cropio[/quote]

croppy is a man city man

[quote=“Juhniallio”]I think said D olly bird was probably a chick called Emma*. The only chick I’ve ever heard the croppy treat like a proper person/talk to without saying can I put my cock in you/do you do gee?

Look into the Celtic boys club child abuse scandal if you never heard of it. The club covered it up. Brings new meaning to the term ‘the Celtic huddle’.

*Think her name’s Emma but can’t remember. Spoke to her on loudspeaker and she’s a buzzer alright, if a little up herself. Croppy’s defo on a regular there.[/quote]

I have heard about this Emma bird before. I also know her from a loudspeaker.

She is a fatty apparently…

‘Big Jock Knew’ background for anyone who cares:

• Celtic Boys Club was set up in the 1960s.
  • The owner of Celtic at the time gave them permission to use the name ‘Celtic’ though the club was independent from Celtic.
  • But naturally the best youngsters were offered contracts by Celtic as the club availed of Celtic’s training ground and would have been scouted by Celtic scouts.
  • In the late 1990s, one of the Boys Club coaches was convicted of molesting some young players during the 1960s and 1970s.
  • Clearly the Celtic first team manager wouldn’t have had any contact with a boys team with informal links to Celtic.
  • The Huns spent decades singing sectarian songs about killing Catholics and such like.
  • Belatedly, UEFA fined them for this despite the SFA turning a blind eye all along.
  • Threatened with more financial penalties, and even expulsion from European competition, the Huns made a conscious decision to direct their vitriol and bile elsewhere now that sectarian abuse was off limits.
  • Their supporter websites were all involved over quite some time before they settled on having a bash at trying to tarnish the name of Celtic’s most successful manager, who’s unfortunately now deceased, while getting a laugh out of child abuse in the process.
  • So they started their ‘Big Jock Knew’ chants and how ‘he ------ them too’ and all that lark.
  • Sin .

[quote=“Bandage”]‘Big Jock Knew’ background for anyone who cares:

• Celtic Boys Club was set up in the 1960s.
  • The owner of Celtic at the time gave them permission to use the name ‘Celtic’ though the club was independent from Celtic.
  • But naturally the best youngsters were offered contracts by Celtic as the club availed of Celtic’s training ground and would have been scouted by Celtic scouts.
  • In the late 1990s, one of the Boys Club coaches was convicted of molesting some young players during the 1960s and 1970s.
  • Clearly the Celtic first team manager wouldn’t have had any contact with a boys team with informal links to Celtic.
  • The Huns spent decades singing sectarian songs about killing Catholics and such like.
  • Belatedly, UEFA fined them for this despite the SFA turning a blind eye all along.
  • Threatened with more financial penalties, and even expulsion from European competition, the Huns made a conscious decision to direct their vitriol and bile elsewhere now that sectarian abuse was off limits.
  • Their supporter websites were all involved over quite some time before they settled on having a bash at trying to tarnish the name of Celtic’s most successful manager, who’s unfortunately now deceased, while getting a laugh out of child abuse in the process.
  • So they started their ‘Big Jock Knew’ chants and how ‘he ------ them too’ and all that lark.
  • Sin .[/quote]

If I had attended Peter’s college in Wexford town I too might have this laissez faire attitude to child abuse.

Juhniallio, I don’t think anyone’s condoning what went on in Celtic B.C. but it was carried out by one dick who was convicted of it. The Huns’ motives in linking Jock Stein to it are pretty sinister and it’s solely to rile Celtic supporters in another way because it became too risky for them to continue going down the sectarian angle. It’s also pretty sickening for Stein’s family to listen to I imagine and it’s getting cheap kicks out of child abuse also. And they got the reaction they wanted given Celtic supporters hold Jock Stein in such high esteem. How would you like it if Liverpool supporters started chanting songs about legendary Manchester Utd managers like Wilf McGuinness or Dave Sexton being paedos?

would you join in the chanting of “Walter Smith knew” if the shoe was on the other foot?

That’s the whole point dan. The shoe would never be on the other foot to begin with and it’s pretty annoying for Celtic supporters to constantly be pigeon holed as being the same as them. You really don’t give anyone who supports Celtic much credit if you think we’d settle on making up shit about someone connected with the Huns being a paedo without any justification whatsoever, especially someone who’s not around to defend himself. To the best of my knowledge, UEFA have never charged Celtic supporters with sectarian chanting. In fact, UEFA gave Celtic supporters a ‘Fair Play’ award in recent years. Meanwhile, their supporters had an organised and concerted campaign to come up with other ways to get at Celtic supporters after their sectarian songbook was acted upon by UEFA and settled on making up a song about a dead man being a paedophile. No offence dan but stupid question in my opinion.

touchy, I just asked a question

To a layman Bandage, that is your reputation, six of one half a dozen of another.

Fair play if Celtic are doing all that but its not seeping into the public consciusness I dont think. I would be surprised if a rangers fan wouldnt give a similar answer to what youv given above though

[quote=“dancarter”]touchy, I just asked a question

To a layman Bandage, that is your reputation, six of one half a dozen of another.

Fair play if Celtic are doing all that but its not seeping into the public consciusness I dont think. I would be surprised if a rangers fan wouldnt give a similar answer to what youv given above though[/quote]

Not at all touchy, I just find your six of one and half a dozen of another attitude pretty laughable really. As a high profile example, I reckon if the complete differences in behaviour of the respective Celtic and Hun supporters at the recent UEFA Cup Finals both teams won through to didn’t seep into your consciousness and a thought didn’t register that there’s a completely different mind-set and code of conduct amongst the two sets of supporters then you’ve got some inherent prejudice against Celtic yourself, which is your own prerogative I suppose.

as a casual supoporter of football and someone who has no interest in scottish football that was my impression yes.

My mate is married to a hun (see I have nothing against Celtic http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/tongue.gif) and at their wedding the rangers fans were loading on the abuse about all the bad shite celtic fans did.

Maybe you need to be the poster boy for the new campaign bandaid, you have me convinced anyways.

For the records I have no prejudice against Celtic FC. I would prefer to see them winning than Rangers but that as is mush interest as i have. There does appear to be a far more knowledagable celtic supporter oon here than what I have met in person to date I must admit.

[quote=“dancarter”]as a casual supoporter of football and someone who has no interest in scottish football that was my impression yes.

My mate is married to a hun (see I have nothing against Celtic http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/tongue.gif) and at their wedding the rangers fans were loading on the abuse about all the bad shite celtic fans did.

Maybe you need to be the poster boy for the new campaign bandaid, you have me convinced anyways.

For the records I have no prejudice against Celtic FC. I would prefer to see them winning than Rangers but that as is mush interest as i have. There does appear to be a far more knowledagable celtic supporter oon here than what I have met in person to date I must admit.[/quote]

wasnt it all this kind of talk that got you the coveted IOTM title before dan? Starting off on prejudices in Celtic FC and moving on from there?

yes it was

I thought I had clearly stated I had no prejudice against Celtic FC?

It was more a rant against barstool republicans in any case http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/tongue.gif

not wanting to go back over old ground, but you said you had no interest in Scottish football, but yet were prepared to say Celtic had the same reputation as Rangers. And you seem to take the few barstool fans you know who support Celtic as the way you judged them?

I know, it was a classic thread! But while in that one, I could see your points, but you were tarnishing a whole group who mainly wouldnt be around your area with the one brush. Just because some yob in a hoody wears a Celtic jersey, it doesnt make him a Celtic supporter. It seems to be the clothing of choice for barstool republicans, but doesnt mean anything to the football club.