Boards.ie Hacked

RIP

Fuck them some shower of howls moderating there

They don’t seem too bothered either.

Boards is a nawful place. The moderators are a bit simple.

Sounds like the crowd doing the migration couldn’t give two fucks about it

Very politically biased too

@rocko what would they be paying for that? Some disgrace of a service. Sorry we’ve fucked your website but it’s the weekend so we’ll have a look Monday

It’s Vanilla they are moving to. Seems an odd choice. If Vanilla host it and provide the software then boards aren’t controlling much apart from the domain name.

There are some useful enough sub forums on there but they can be hard to find and I don’t think they know what to do with themselves other than keep the lights on.

Too funny just ran some quick research on Vanilla,
Canucks! Lmao

They threw the car keys to incompetent canucks!

Too funny

I think they’d be paying a couple of grand a month minimum. Maybe 3k a month. The business plan for Vanilla is $700 a month I think but Boards is huge and I think they’d need the enterprise version. I would say the migration might be thrown in if they paid for a year or two up front. But they’re on an old unsupported vbulletin version that probably causes many more migration issues than the standard migration script would expect. And clearly the lads doing it don’t seem all that fussed about getting it finished. They probably have the money already.

But surely they’d have tested all this first and have parallel sites and test runs and test users etc? Boards has changed ownership a few times recently and I don’t know what the plans are for it but it would be very hard to move it to Vanilla and still make money because you’re giving them everything. (There is or was an open source version of Vanilla they could be going to but I think it’s dead technology).

Xenforo (which grew out of Vbulletin) would be the obvious safe choice. Discourse if they wanted to challenge themselves to be different and innovate with it. But they’re now moving all their data to Canada, they won’t host it, they won’t own the software and their license will be tied to maintaining hosting with the same company. So they don’t really own anything anymore.

He had to go

Is it still popular? It’s hey day was 15 years ago I thought, I’m sure Twitter and Reddit have squeezed it in popularity terms.

Does Boards make money?

It must be but I can’t seem to figure out what sort of demograph drives it. Is it just the sheer scale of absolutely every sort of bullshit you can imagine can be found on there?

It was very odd during the pandemic, people talking about how they’d been covid tested 4 times and so on. I’d say it’s mostly ordinary enough middle aged people.

Are they sticklers for the old punctuation?

There’s an amount of niche sub-forums on it. The more popular threads seem to get fairly heavy traffic; if there’s a bit of weather coming then the Weather forum’d be hopping. The site is dogshit though, trying to navigate it on mobile is not a pleasant User Experience, so I’m not surprised they’re trying to migrate.

I thought they loved working on the other side of the pond, weekend or no weekend? Maybe thats just the Yanks. Signing off on a Friday afternoon with a half done migration saying “We’ll chat to you Monday” sounds like a real Swedish move.

No. But it does have employees so it needs a certain revenue. I think they cut everyone to half time though. I imagine it’s a thankless place to work.

They charge companies for official accounts I think.

Sounds like here so