Bookmakers and general Money Laundering on the Dark Web

[quote=ā€œSHANNONSIDER**ā€]Me too. I donā€™t think Iā€™d put the form study in, which you need to obviously. I know a guy who does and really thatā€™s the only topic of conversation he has, horseracing, thatā€™s it. Absolutely nothing else. Iā€™d say youā€™d need that level of dedication to beat the percentages.

Even Big Harry freely admits he does his brains on the horses, but he pulls it back on sports betting which heā€™s genius at. He knows he should give up the horses but he canā€™t help himself. I think heā€™s slipping though getting too involved with ownership, he did not behave like a pro at the Coursing Derby this year, he behaved like a tourist, if he carries on like that heā€™ll go skint.[/QUOTE]

Heā€™s in partnership with another fella isnā€™t he? The other fella studies the horses and Harry does the sports. Well he used to be at one stage anyways. Itā€™s the discipline would be the killer Iā€™d say. Being able to not chase loses etc and waiting until you had found an edge again. As JP says ā€œThereā€™s never a last raceā€

Yeah, but JP admits heā€™s only a mug now on the horses, he doesnā€™t follow the form which is understandable as heā€™s other things on. His punts against Freddie in the last few years were just adding to the theatre of the festival really and to give the papers some copy.

PS Strong rumours the master of Coolcullen had ā‚¬20k each way Cuis Ghaire on sunday at 33/1. I know a lad who was in Jimā€™s study once and he was surprised to see every gambling book ever written on his book shelvesā€¦

[quote=ā€œSHANNONSIDER**ā€]Me too. I donā€™t think Iā€™d put the form study in, which you need to obviously. I know a guy who does and really thatā€™s the only topic of conversation he has, horseracing, thatā€™s it. Absolutely nothing else. Iā€™d say youā€™d need that level of dedication to beat the percentages.

Even Big Harry freely admits he does his brains on the horses, but he pulls it back on sports betting which heā€™s genius at. He knows he should give up the horses but he canā€™t help himself. I think heā€™s slipping though getting too involved with ownership, he did not behave like a pro at the Coursing Derby this year, he behaved like a tourist, if he carries on like that heā€™ll go skint.[/QUOTE]

He wasnā€™t so much of a genius when he had half a million on the All Blacks to win the last World Cup!

What was your own biggest win/loss SS?

Twas more than half a million I thought

[quote=ā€œgolaā€]He wasnā€™t so much of a genius when he had half a million on the All Blacks to win the last World Cup!

What was your own biggest win/loss SS?[/QUOTE]

He still made a profit on his yearā€™s punting, he told a journalist of my acquaintance he actually had four bar on the All Blacks. Fcuk up alright but what can you do.

Biggest loss I think was 800 on something I shouldnā€™t have even been punting on, in-running soccer when I laid my whole bank against a team who subsequently came back into it.

Biggest wins is only a few grand, some firm in the UK went 5/6 Limerick +7 in the drawn Munster Final against Kerry a few years ago which was my biggest ever punt, I had whatever theyā€™d take. Zaynar at 25/1 in the Triumph this year netted four figures as did 100/1 Royal Shakespeare for the Order of Merit. That is really the one that got away as I tried to have 50 each way on it but I was knocked back and only got 20 each way. Itā€™s a bit complicated but we even had to write letters to the Racing Post letters page to ensure we landed that one.

after reading barney curleyā€™s book one thing is certainā€¦to make money you more or less have to own the horses and know what races they have been laid up forā€¦the punter who walks in off the street to gamble hasnā€™t a chance of making any serious moneyā€¦
If you are disciplined soccer is the way to go I think as thereā€™s only 3 outcomes in a matchā€¦biggest win i ever had was 8,000 on 100 accumā€¦had a about 5 5,000 wins on similar 100-150 accum.sā€¦nearest i got to clearing 10 k win was a failed 11,000 potential win on a 120 accumā€¦it all came down to spurs against pompeyā€¦I had spurs, laid off a small amount on portsmouth (+1) at evs but nothing majorā€¦then Darren Bent missed that fcukin header from about 4 yardsā€¦finished 1-1ā€¦fookin sickā€¦most i lost was one day i built up 200 up to 1500 online and threw 1300 on celtic 4/5 to beat Dundee utd. in extra time of scottish cup semi final a few months backā€¦samaras hit the bar with header, someone else hit the postā€¦iā€™ve stopped betting big after that because (a) i wasnā€™t even bothered by losing that much money and i only put it on out of pure boredom (b) i noticed i started off doing small bets on a friday with teams i fancied and had picked outā€¦by sunday evening I was lumping on french and portugeese matches i knew notthing aboutā€¦there was no sense to itā€¦(c) no matter what i have won i have given a lot more back as i donā€™t have the discipline to be a good gamblerā€¦but if i had a spare couple of k lying around Iā€™d throw it on super leeds to get promoted at 7/4 :popcorn: :smiley:

SS**, was on the lash saturday night with one of the Coolcullen staff and they were all getting stuck in, unfortunately i found myelf stranded from a bookmakers with a dead phone on sunday afternoon when I surfaced.

The key to punting for me is to write down your bets and do up a balance sheet every couple of weeks. That way you can always stay on top of it. I got a bit sloppy last week on Punchestown and despite coming out up, I should have made a killing after getting some very good information. Got windy on two money on shots and backed 2 horses with large enough stakes against what would normally be my better judgement.

Just ordered Veitchā€™s bookā€¦ look forward to it.

Those of ye that follow both, which form do you think stands truer, NH or Flat?

I donā€™t have any real interest in flat and would only back on it if I had some decent information, which is rare enough as itā€™s nearly all NH trainers down my way.

Probably similar to yourself Runt, as most of the information that I get is NH, and it is my favourite racing discipline, but in terms of form most of the good judges that I know would rarely touch the NH scene.

Now, A7ā€™s of a wednesday night in Shelbourne is where the real form reading comes into play !!!

Is there any particular law against trainers betting on their own horses?

Or owners betting on their own dogs?

no, thereā€™s definitely no law against that.

[quote=ā€œgolaā€]He wasnā€™t so much of a genius when he had half a million on the All Blacks to win the last World Cup!

What was your own biggest win/loss SS?[/quote]

He said he would never again bet on Rugby because he could never fancy any team as much as he fancied the All Blacks. If the AB were a horse he wouldnt have backed them though, nice horse but v poor over the C&D

what about betting against them? :eek:

I donā€™t want to know about what kinda dodgy dealings youā€™d be up too.

Might prove to be a more profitable strategyā€¦

Backing against any animal Iā€™m ever involved in would definitely prove to be a profitable strategy alright.

Barbour isnā€™t it? Paul Nicholls landlord? Barbour spends a good bit of time in West Cork buying Point to Pointers. Isnā€™t that where Denman came from? or are you talking about a different partnership?

[quote=ā€œThe Runtā€]Those of ye that follow both, which form do you think stands truer, NH or Flat?

I donā€™t have any real interest in flat and would only back on it if I had some decent information, which is rare enough as itā€™s nearly all NH trainers down my way.[/quote]

Would be the same myself. Flat is driven by money. Very rare youā€™d get the likes of a Brave Inca or a Hardy Eustace on the Flat.

[quote=ā€œHangBlaaā€]

Now, A7ā€™s of a wednesday night in Shelbourne is where the real form reading comes into play !!![/quote]

:clap: :smiley:

I must be the only one here that likes (possibly even prefers) the flat. Iā€™d be a keen user of speed ratings. The last four times in succession that iā€™ve went into the bookies to put down a few hours iā€™ve emerged with a tidy profit just from backing flat horses with good previous speed ratings (that includes today).

[quote=ā€œMacā€]Barbour isnā€™t it? Paul Nicholls landlord? Barbour spends a good bit of time in West Cork buying Point to Pointers. Isnā€™t that where Denman came from? or are you talking about a different partnership?

Ya, I know he know he buys a lot of horses with Barber but Iā€™m not sure if heā€™s the same fella that does the punting with. I could probably find it on google in a minute if I really wanted to!

Ya Denman came from down that way, you should watch the video of him winning his point on the p2p website. Very impressive.