Yeah he was feared because he was good. Powers were barely a blip on the British stage at that time, with only a few shops in London and the online/telebetting, I can only imagine what he was hitting the big three for with their thousands of shops across the UK.
Obviously it wasnt your own money you were losing but
-
Did you think he was a cunt at the time for making your job harder?
-
Used ye not try to get on somewhere else yourselves?
-
Is there many lads making a living as pro gamblers in this country?
Nah youâd admire the fcukers, but you were supposed to try to stop them for the sake of the firm, we had limits to what we could lay so we had to take the knife to the prices. When you see stuff like that going on, of course you hammer into it aswell with other firms. Some lads who had all their online accounts closed sometimes just fcuked off jumped into a car and drove to the nearest bookies to get on.
I know a few who are pretty much professional or semi professional. Some of them combine it with tissue writing, which is a great combination as it gets you out of bed early and is a bread and butter earner, once youâre getting 30k a year for one tissue, you can sell it on again to other firms for the same or maybe a little less all for the sake of sending one extra email a day. I know a few professional arbers aswell who just really momentum trade and lock in a profit every day. They are very successful but itâs not as romantic as pro punting of course, if a little safer.
[quote=âSHANNONSIDER**â]Nah youâd admire the fcukers, but you were supposed to try to stop them for the sake of the firm, we had limits to what we could lay so we had to take the knife to the prices. When you see stuff like that going on, of course you hammer into it aswell with other firms. Some lads who had all their online accounts closed sometimes just fcuked off jumped into a car and drove to the nearest bookies to get on.
I know a few who are pretty much professional or semi professional. Some of them combine it with tissue writing, which is a great combination as it gets you out of bed early and is a bread and butter earner, once youâre getting 30k a year for one tissue, you can sell it on again to other firms for the same or maybe a little less all for the sake of sending one extra email a day. I know a few professional arbers aswell who just really momentum trade and lock in a profit every day. They are very successful but itâs not as romantic as pro punting of course, if a little safer.[/QUOTE]
SS- Excuse my stupidity- what;s tissue writing? Writing the form for bookies/papers?
I worked with a lad- had done Actuarial Sci in UCD. Earned more money from online poker than from his job. Used to be up all night at month end playing all his âfree handsâ with the various poker sites. Played world series.
Never really was into the horses or sports betting though. Was poker all the way. He thought arbing was for losers as anybody doing it properly was well known and wouldn;t make much on it.
Tissue writing is compiling the odds you expect a horse to go off at. You price up each race to whatever overround youâre working to and fax or email them off to the bookies who use them as a guide. The compilers should have their own idea but a tissue can be a good guide if youâre thinking of sticking one in at 33s and the tissue is saying 10s you might look again.
I wouldnât say arbing is for losers at all, I know a lad who makes six figures from it every year. Itâs more pedestrian than just backing your opinion, but apart from Veitch most pros wouldnât make more than 7% on turnover so you need to be turning over huge volume to make big money also, and if you go through a bad patch you could be down massively. With arbing you shouldnât be down significantly at all except for the odd time when the market goes against you. The arber I know works for bookies (not Powers) sees when connections have backed a horse, backs it himself then lays off when it opens up shorter at the course.
[quote=âSHANNONSIDER**â]Tissue writing is compiling the odds you expect a horse to go off at. You price up each race to whatever overround youâre working to and fax or email them off to the bookies who use them as a guide. The compilers should have their own idea but a tissue can be a good guide if youâre thinking of sticking one in at 33s and the tissue is saying 10s you might look again.
I wouldnât say arbing is for losers at all, I know a lad who makes six figures from it every year. Itâs more pedestrian than just backing your opinion, but apart from Veitch most pros wouldnât make more than 7% on turnover so you need to be turning over huge volume to make big money also, and if you go through a bad patch you could be down massively. With arbing you shouldnât be down significantly at all except for the odd time when the market goes against you. The arber I know works for bookies (not Powers) sees when connections have backed a horse, backs it himself then lays off when it opens up shorter at the course.[/QUOTE]
Isnât arbing though purely a mathematical exercise? So it wouldnât matter a fuck who had backed a horse as long as you could make a small margin?
I thought you could buy some programme that would trawl the sites for you and automatically alert you to an opportunity. As a result its a long and tedious IT based process- youâre spending a long time earning not a lot. Could be wrong on this though completely:confused:
[quote=âSHANNONSIDER**â]
The arber I know works for bookies (not Powers) sees when connections have backed a horse, backs it himself then lays off when it opens up shorter at the course.[/QUOTE]
This is all good and well, but what if the horse loses? Youâll be up shit creek without a paddle.
Heâs laid it off at that stage sure! the result doesnât matter.
Oh yeah, what am i on about!
Ah youâd know more about that business than me Runt, what with all the bookies in West Limerick youâve closed down. :rolleyes:
[quote=âThe Dunphâ]Oh yeah, what am i on about!
Ah youâd know more about that business than me Runt, what with all the bookies in West Limerick youâve closed down. :rolleyes:[/QUOTE]
My main ambition for 2010 is to clean out SS** in the short odds at Clonmel.
[quote=âW.B. Yeatsâ]Isnât arbing though purely a mathematical exercise? So it wouldnât matter a fuck who had backed a horse as long as you could make a small margin?
I thought you could buy some programme that would trawl the sites for you and automatically alert you to an opportunity. As a result its a long and tedious IT based process- youâre spending a long time earning not a lot. Could be wrong on this though completely:confused:[/QUOTE]
Itâs not always quite so tedious, the bots are one aspect of it but they all compete with each other and can malfunction to catastrophic effect at times. Backing a horse that you know will shorten is the usual trading method by an arber.
Waiting till 2011 for said stunt. It will be all the sweeter as it will be my own dog I lump into at every oppurtunity !
Some interesting stuff on this thread. Must order Veitchs book from amazon.
Was listeneing to Matt Cooper this evening driving out to training, Veitch was on it talking about his book and the life of being a professional gamblerâŚSeemed a fairly intelligent fella, well able to talk and articulate his pointsâŚ
The fcuker is able to pull some serious looking women aswell in a way the average betting shop punter with a rolled up Daily Mirror sticking out of the arse pocket isnât. All round legend really.
Would there be many fellas making a living by just constantly laying bets SS**âŚUsing the likes of batfairâŚPresuming if they saw a red hot odds on favourite and lay the rest of the fieldâŚ
Was just googling him there. These are his biggest hauls:
Winning streak: Veitchâs biggest coups
Cerulean Rose (Goodwood, July 2003).
Having decided that this modest sprinter was improving far faster than even two successive wins had suggested, and seen her ideally drawn in her next race, Veitch reckoned this the biggest-priced horse he had ever considered a âcertaintyâ. He staked nearly 45,000 at odds between 6-1 and 9-2. Cerulean Rose won smoothly.
Winnings: 262,027.50
Exponential (Nottingham, August 2004)
Owned by Veitch and his partners, Exponential made his debut wearing blinkers never a good sign in an unraced horse and when his trainer was badly out of form. He finished last. When he next ran, the yard was back in form and Exponential had begun to flourish on the gallops. Veitch backed him from 100-1 to 8-1.
Winnings: 235,133.71
Silver Touch (York, September 2006).
Convinced that Silver Touch had been running out of stamina, Veitch moved in when her trainer dropped her back in distance. He staked over 75,000 to win, with another 10,000 in place bets. âThe result,â he writes, âwas never in doubt from halfway.â
Winnings: 272,447.99
Jesus youd cream yourself if you won 2700 quid, let alone 270 large
You build up a sort of resistence to punting as you go along. When you start a tenner is a big bet, then a hundred is average, then you lose a grand and just shrug your shoulders, and on and on. At the end of the day if youâre confident in your own ability and making a profit year on year itâs just turnover really. Getting on is the problem.
Iâd love to have the balls (and skill obviously) to do it.
Me too. I donât think Iâd put the form study in, which you need to obviously. I know a guy who does and really thatâs the only topic of conversation he has, horseracing, thatâs it. Absolutely nothing else. Iâd say youâd need that level of dedication to beat the percentages.
Even Big Harry freely admits he does his brains on the horses, but he pulls it back on sports betting which heâs genius at. He knows he should give up the horses but he canât help himself. I think heâs slipping though getting too involved with ownership, he did not behave like a pro at the Coursing Derby this year, he behaved like a tourist, if he carries on like that heâll go skint.