Bookmakers and general Money Laundering on the Dark Web

90% of them are utterly shite, Mac. I was never so disgusted when my sister gave me Frankie Dettori’s autobiography for Xmas one year…

Barney’s is good, very entertaining and honest.

I heard Peter Walwyn’s one, Handy All The Way is good too, for flat fans only.

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**”]90% of them are utterly shite, Mac. I was never so disgusted when my sister gave me Frankie Dettori’s autobiography for Xmas one year…

Barney’s is good, very entertaining and honest.

I heard Peter Walwyn’s one, Handy All The Way is good too, for flat fans only.[/quote]

I’d be more interested in the ones on scams SS. Most racing autobiographies are all the same. Poor background etc. Followed the dream etc. Combination of hard work and skill etc. I am brilliant etc.

Barney’s is superb for scams, I don’t think you’d find better unless Harry Findlay brings one out and he is only trotting after Barney.

Barney once paid a telephone engineer 1000 to cut off the line to Thirsk racecourse once.

i can’t stand harry findlay…fucking knob

I actually like the fat boy. He can be a funny fcuker, in a brash wiseguy sort of way.

even though i believe he is actually scottish(or so i believe) can’t stand his cockney wideboy attitude…hope kauto sets the record staright next march…

Like Harry myself… Wasnt a fan until I saw him ‘in action’ in Clonmel.

Yeah his “more sweets for the fatboy oi oi” routine is priceless. Him and Mickey have great banter going on.

Mentioned this yesterday I think. Dont know how they managed to run up these losses but wouldnt be suprised if there’s some dodgy accounting going on somewhere.

Desmond’s private gambling club reports 1.7m loss

CIARN HANCOCK, Business Affairs Correspondent

DERMOT DESMOND’S Dublin-based private members club, the Sporting Emporium, made a loss of about 1.7 million in 2007.

Accounts just filed for the company, which comprises a casino and Chronicle Bookmakers at premises close to Grafton Street, show that it had accumulated losses of just under 2.6 million at the end of October 2007.

This compared with losses of 858,908 at the end of its previous financial year. That left the company with a shareholders’ deficit of just under 2.6 million. Its tangible fixed assets had a net book value of 1.7 million at the end of October 2007, compared with 3.3 million at the end of June 2006, the accounts show.

In its report to the directors, auditors Ernst Young said the excess of liabilities over assets meant that “there did exist” a financial situation that “may require the convening of an extraordinary general meeting of the company”, under Irish law.

The Sporting Emporium was opened in 2005 by Mr Desmond amid a blaze of publicity. The wealthy financier was reported at the time to have spent 5.5 million on fitting out the facility.

The accounts just filed show that the private members club is paying an annual rent of 250,000 for the lease on its premises on Anne’s Lane.

There are no details of how many members have paid the 25 joining fee since it opened.

The Sporting Emporium’s immediate parent is listed as IIU Nominees Ltd, an investment group controlled by Mr Desmond.

The club, which opens until 6am each day, features eight blackjack/card tables, six roulette wheels, Punto Banco and Pai Gow tables and 14 traditional poker card tables.

Entrance to the club is controlled by a biometric system based on a member’s fingerprints.

In July, Irish golfer Pdraig Harrington brought the Claret Jug to the club for a party to celebrate his second successive win in the Open championship.

I honestly don’t know how casino’s make money, bookies, yes, casino’s in this country no. To make money in a casino you have to have vast amounts of people coming in to gamble, yuo are not going to make money are card tables or black jack, it’s at the roulette wheel and slots where the money is made, going by the number for tables mentioned there, there’s at least 30 people working there at any time (1 person giving out the free drinks, 1 person manning the door, 1 person at each of the 14 roulette wheels and 1 person at each of the poker tables), this doesn’t include supervisors. So if each person is being paid €10 an hour (rough min. wage) for 9 hours (9pm till 6am) that a wage bill of 2700 a week or 140400 per annum, throw on top of that your rent of 250,000, that’s almost 400k you have to make to breakeven, this doesn’t include all the freebees that they give out.

Lunacy I tells ya, lunancy http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink.gif

[quote=“Clareman”]I honestly don’t know how casino’s make money, bookies, yes, casino’s in this country no. To make money in a casino you have to have vast amounts of people coming in to gamble, yuo are not going to make money are card tables or black jack, it’s at the roulette wheel and slots where the money is made, going by the number for tables mentioned there, there’s at least 30 people working there at any time (1 person giving out the free drinks, 1 person manning the door, 1 person at each of the 14 roulette wheels and 1 person at each of the poker tables), this doesn’t include supervisors. So if each person is being paid 10 an hour (rough min. wage) for 9 hours (9pm till 6am) that a wage bill of 2700 a week or 140400 per annum, throw on top of that your rent of 250,000, that’s almost 400k you have to make to breakeven, this doesn’t include all the freebees that they give out.

Lunacy I tells ya, lunancy http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink.gif[/quote]

You’ve obviously frequented a fair few in your time but I think the opposite in that they are goldmines. Educated players will win money playing blackjack but more often than not the house will win. Especially when half the people arrive in at 3am tanked off their head and throw money around like they’ve got too much of it. Roulette is a mugs game plain and simple. They usually make money off poker from the entry fees or buy ins dont they?

Any place I’ve been in as well the free drink stops at closing time and the place is usually only quarter full at most. Irish casinos busiest times are usually from 2am to 6am from what I’ve seen.

As far as I know, there’s no regulation in Ireland in regards to what the house has to pay out, but blackjack is about 51/49 in favour of the player once they play right, if they don’t then the house has an advantage (clearly).
Poker tables have the least amount of money in them for clubs, they normally run a “reg” fee with the buy in amount, this is the amount that goes to the house, consider that you have to have a dealer for every 7 players and at least 1 supervisor for the tournament, this isn’t much (a tournament could go on for days, but in most cases until 3 in the morning), so put your staffing levels at 5 people for 6 hours (9pm till 3am) for a 50+5 tournament (most common), at the 10 an hour that’s costing you 300 to run the tournament, that means that you have to have 60 people playing to break even on it.
For cash tables they make a bit more money, normally they will run a “rake” system where they take a certain amount of money from the table per player per hour, it varies from venue to venue, but at the lower stakes games it’s around 8 per player per hour, for 9 players, this works out at the table making 72 per hour max. take.
Roulette is where the house wins, what you want here is the Chinese people coming in and working their systems, big money can be made, but at 32/1 odds all it take is 1 lucky sod to clear up your takings for the night.

I wouldn’t spend much time in casino’s looking into all the happenings at all http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink.gif

[quote=“Clareman”]As far as I know, theres no regulation in Ireland in regards to what the house has to pay out, but blackjack is about 51/49 in favour of the player once they play right, if they dont then the house has an advantage (clearly).
Poker tables have the least amount of money in them for clubs, they normally run a reg fee with the buy in amount, this is the amount that goes to the house, consider that you have to have a dealer for every 7 players and at least 1 supervisor for the tournament, this isnt much (a tournament could go on for days, but in most cases until 3 in the morning), so put your staffing levels at 5 people for 6 hours (9pm till 3am) for a 50+5 tournament (most common), at the 10 an hour thats costing you 300 to run the tournament, that means that you have to have 60 people playing to break even on it.
For cash tables they make a bit more money, normally they will run a rake system where they take a certain amount of money from the table per player per hour, it varies from venue to venue, but at the lower stakes games its around 8 per player per hour, for 9 players, this works out at the table making 72 per hour max. take.
Roulette is where the house wins, what you want here is the Chinese people coming in and working their systems, big money can be made, but at 32/1 odds all it take is 1 lucky sod to clear up your takings for the night.

I wouldnt spend much time in casinos looking into all the happenings at all http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink.gif[/quote]

There’s no regulation but most places have limits on what you can bet.

Agree on the poker.

Its blackjack and roulette that make the most money for casinos.

[quote=“Clareman”]As far as I know, theres no regulation in Ireland in regards to what the house has to pay out, but blackjack is about 51/49 in favour of the player once they play right, if they dont then the house has an advantage (clearly).
Poker tables have the least amount of money in them for clubs, they normally run a reg fee with the buy in amount, this is the amount that goes to the house, consider that you have to have a dealer for every 7 players and at least 1 supervisor for the tournament, this isnt much (a tournament could go on for days, but in most cases until 3 in the morning), so put your staffing levels at 5 people for 6 hours (9pm till 3am) for a 50+5 tournament (most common), at the 10 an hour thats costing you 300 to run the tournament, that means that you have to have 60 people playing to break even on it.
For cash tables they make a bit more money, normally they will run a rake system where they take a certain amount of money from the table per player per hour, it varies from venue to venue, but at the lower stakes games its around 8 per player per hour, for 9 players, this works out at the table making 72 per hour max. take.

I wouldnt spend much time in casinos looking into all the happenings at all http://www.thefreekick.com/board/public/style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/wink.gif[/quote]

You have it all pretty much spot on there. I used to play a good bit of poker in the Emporium. To used to get very big crowds in for most of their tournaments as it’s far and away the nicest card room in Dublin. The registration fee in general tends to be 10% of the buy-in. So the bigger games they hold the more they make. Their outlay is the same for a 50+5 game as it is for a 200+20 game but they will struggle to attract as many players, and also the higher the buy in, the better the structure you have to provide, which means longer games, and more pay for dealers. The Emporium changed there schedule last year to have more higher buy-in games but this led to a huge drop in the numbers playing both the tournaments and cash games. The poker floor was like a ghost town around the start of the summer.

But on the grand scheme of things, even in Vegas, the poker floors turn over would generally only account for 10% of the turnover for most casinos.

It’s thank to the “Moneymaker Affect” that there’s card rooms in all casinos now, casinos used to hate players playing each other cause they didn’t have the potential for leaving all their money to the house.

BTW, imvho Casino’s are the 1 biggest money laundrettes in operation all over the world

[quote=“Clareman”]
BTW, imvho Casino’s are the 1 biggest money laundrettes in operation all over the world[/quote]

I would also be of this opinion. Very easy set a card room/casino in any provencial town in Ireland. Run a large volume of money through it. Say some local framer lost big on the blackjack table. Shut it down again after 6 months and away you go.

Yup, I’ve heard of a lot of builders getting involved in them as well

I was in a bookies in Limerick City recently when who should walk in but Barney Curley. Most people in the shop knew who he was. Some lads approached him asking him for tips etc, Barney laughed in their faces. I’d say he didn’t make his money from throwing around tips like that to every Tom, Dick and Harry. I wouldn’t say the bookies were too pleased to see him!

Good old Barney… Not surprised he laughed in their faces, he doesn’t do tips, he does plots.

Patrick Veitch’s autobiography is worth a read. He is a guy genuinely feared by bookmakers, not like some of the other jokers. I was working for a firm when he was fiddling around with those horses with Stuart Williams, they were a professional outfit when they were clobbering the shops. Very tough now though with the EPOS system.

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**”]

Patrick Veitch’s autobiography is worth a read. He is a guy genuinely feared by bookmakers, not like some of the other jokers. I was working for a firm when he was fiddling around with those horses with Stuart Williams, they were a professional outfit when they were clobbering the shops. Very tough now though with the EPOS system.[/QUOTE]

I was in Easons in Limerick recently looking for Veitch’s book but they didn’t have it. I must go back to them and order it. I’d read the extracts that were in the Racing Post and it made for excellet reading.

Excuse my ignorance, what does EPOS stand for?