Boxing Thread

I’ve limited enough knowledge of boxing and I don’t have Sky Sports anymore so I’ve no access to most fights but I do enjoy the sport so starting this thread again - it might even entice Corleone back to the board.

Katie Taylor has just been crowned world lightweight champion in India. I was hearing her results as the competition progressed and she won her first few fights against ex-champions on the 15 point rule - basically if you open up a gap of 15 points (before the last round) the contest is deemed over. She won one of her fights by stopping her opponent in the first round.

Now she’s after winning the title against the reigning champion 31-14. It’s the margin of her victories that’s so impressive - nobody has come even close to her. Fair play.

She’s only 20 and ranked number 1 in the world. She is now expected to win the boxer of the tournament award.

This Katie Taylor is some fighter. None of her fights go the distance.

She won yesterday by stopping some other lass in the second round and today she won her European quarter-final with a 30 second knockout.

Taylor floors Spanish foe
Wednesday, 17 October 2007 21:58

Defending European lightweight champion Katie Taylor advanced to the semi-finals this year’s event following a stunning first-round knock-out of Spain’s Mc de la Guia Guerra in Vejle, Denmark this afternoon.

The St Fergal’s Bray woman, boxing out of the blue corner, dropped the tall Spaniard with a left hook after just 30 seconds and her opponent was counted out.

Taylor, the reigning World 60Kg champion, is targeting her third European title in a row.

The 21-year-old will now meet Yana Zavyalova from the Ukraine in tomorrow’s semi-final.

Zavyalova, ranked eleventh in the World and eighth in Europe, recorded a convincing 20-6 victory over Germany’s Natalia Kalinowski.