BREXIT thread

They’d have to request another delay then first and would need a clear majority in parliament to ensure that that deal would be backed.

Well I can’t personally see the eu object to a closer deal than the current WA, but I’m sure you’ll enlighten us.

Probably not. But you’d need something very convincing in terms of a parliament vote in favour, possibly a new PM, to convince the EU to revisit negotiations.

He’s an excellent interviewer - sharp and takes no shit. BBC could do with a few like him because they don’t have any.

May won’t go unless and until her deal gets through. Any ERG-led government post-withdrawal agreement Commons approval would be brought down quicksmart and would likely heavily lose an election.

There was a wonderful little vignette mentioned by Fintan O’Toole in his Irish Times column today.

The hard Brexit supporting Spectator “Coffee House Shots” podcast presented by Fraser Nelson see the DUP as the biggest threat to their hard Brexit dreams, and played out a recent episode with Paul McCartney’s “Give Ireland Back To The Irish”.

The Unionist bit is rapidly fading from the Conservative and Unionist party.

Fintan also helpfully laid out some statistics which show the full depth of your average John Bull on the street’s unwillingness to continue to prop up Paddy.

Just 25% of English people want their tax to be used in the wee six.

The Brits, even the Brexiteers, just see the DUP as a shower of thick Micks.

I don’t understand the hard-Brexiteers strategy here. It seems to me that all they have to do to win a hard Brexit is vote against everything for a few months more and hope that there’s no majority in favour of any one proposal, which there probably won’t be.

That’s ok. Neither do they.

Don’t know too much about her. I did notice though when I was in New Zealand in July 2017 (a visit which coincided with her ascension to the Labour Party leadership and the opening skirmishes in the general election campaign) that she was making plenty of noise about immigrants. She has continued to earn some rave reviews.

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-05-27/new-zealand-goes-cool-on-migrants-just-when-it-needs-them-most

Jacinta Arden is just an average politician raised to pedestal level by the steady sinking of her peers.
As prime minister, she has garnered rapturous praise for a. Having a baby and going back to work, which is just a normal thing that normal people do, and b. Showing normal human decency in the face of a mass slaughter of her compatriots.
It genuinely is a reflection of the category of contemporary politician that this has made her special, and it’s a bit depressing if you think of it.

Our expert on New Zealand politics has spoken

Jacinda Ardern is the far right.

Teresa’s authority is so broken that there may be enough moderate tories who will vote against the whip to make the erg block moot. Its hard to know, as, at the end of the day, many of the tory MPs (and MPs in general) are mediocre enough, with nothing to fall back on commensurate with being an MP and all the perks that go with it, and fear of losing their seat is a primary motivation.
If you ever flick through the parliamentary channel in the late evening and observe a grown person struggling to read a pre-prepared speech to four of five half asleep disinterested members it’s a bit disheartening.

Well I knew who she was and what she stood for before the recent attack mate. I have an interest in the world around me, and try to read. You should try also.

https://youtu.be/QZAn7ZEvwek

The facts are, if New Zealand hadn’t let them Muslims in then there wouldnt have been a mass shooting 2 weeks ago.

The facts are if the Cork lads hadn’t let you in there wouldn’t be reduced broadband speed in the Douglas area during the average working day. But they did. Move on.

I’m sure that sounded funny in your head mate. Fair play for giving it a go anyway.

I actually paused before posting it cos it was so shit its about the level of your original post on the matter.

Ah mate … come on - you’re smarter than that ffs.