British Loins Tour to Australia 2013 - Official Thread

[quote=“Manuel Zelaya, post: 782693, member: 377”]Absolutely gutted for Church and everyone up in Great Denmark Street. They really needed a tonic after last weeks’s unfortunate headlines about old boy Tom Lenihan and his travails in the Trinity College end of year exams, then this. Like us all, they had such hopes that he would be their first test starter for the British Lions since Seamus Oliver Campbell in New Zealand in 1983. Sadly its not now to be.

Its 1971 all over again. Ray McLoughlin was the main in question back then. Nailed down seemingly for the loose head position in the test team and felled and tour ended against Canterbury in the infamous Battle of Christchurch without seeing test action.[/quote]

A disappointment also felt keenly in his other alma mater, Garbally College, Ballinasloe. Ray would have been a wonderful addition to that legendary John Dawes-captained team, given that he has always excelled in activities which take place on British-dominioned offshore islands, as his part in setting up Ansbacher accounts in the Caymans in later years proved. Always a proud, pragmatic and prudent prop, and his try at the Stade Colombes in 1972 memorably put Ireland on the road to its first Grand Slam since 1948, although that was of a course a shortened season.

Let’s hope the outcome of the Tests is more similar to 1971 rather than 1983, when another Garbally old boy, Ciaran Fitzgerald, presided over a 0-4 humiliation.

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 782696, member: 24”]That’s what they are saying - ‘it’s not about the match, it’s about going on the beer’. As if they are some sort of legends. Half of them won’t have been out in months.

Going on the beer at 10.30am is fucking crazy anyway - stag or no stag.[/quote]
Sleep in til 12 “by accident” have a massive breakfast then stroll down to join them for a pint.

There’ll be no ‘accident’. They can fuck off with their Lions.

You could volunteer to clean up cum in a local brothel for the morning while the chaps are watching the rugger action.

Good idea

Good to hear you’re fully in control Farmer. I’m sure it would be embarrassing on a weekend away.

[quote=“Sidney, post: 782714, member: 183”]A disappointment also felt keenly in his other alma mater, Garbally College, Ballinasloe. Ray would have been a wonderful addition to that legendary John Dawes-captained team, given that he has always excelled in activities which take place on British-dominioned offshore islands, as his part in setting up Ansbacher accounts in the Caymans in later years proved. Always a proud, pragmatic and prudent prop, and his try at the Stade Colombes in 1972 memorably put Ireland on the road to its first Grand Slam since 1948, although that was of a course a shortened season.

Let’s hope the outcome of the Tests is more similar to 1971 rather than 1983, when another Garbally old boy, Ciaran Fitzgerald, presided over a 0-4 humiliation.[/quote]

Of course while the Battle of Christchurch was the end of the dream for Garbally College and Ray McLoughlin it was also opportunity knocks for St Mary’s College and Sean Lynch, when the likely test starter on the tight head side of the scrum, Sandy Carmichael was also ruled out of the rest of the tour courtesy of an act of Canterbury foul play.

Dodgy Keeper can rest easy, if Adam Jones Tour Diary is anything to go by. It would seem the 125 institution of the British Lions is managing to survive in the absence of Donncha O’Callaghan

[FONT=arial]Who is the funniest person on tour? Who has the best banter and who is the dullest?! [/FONT]
[FONT=arial]A: I find Sean O’Brien quite funny. He is a bit different, just comical in the way he speaks and some of his mannerisms. A lot of the Welsh boys would be used to ‘Yanto’ (lock Ian Evans) so don’t find him funny, but everyone else seems to find him hysterical. Having spent the last eight years with him though, it is the same old rubbish every time. Dullest? One of the tee-total boys probably.[/FONT]
[FONT=arial]http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/rugby-union/22812586[/FONT]

farmerinthecity

Let those gimps off. Either stay in bed and pamper yourself with grub or get out and check out a bit of Cork. If it’s nice weather the open top tour bus takes only 45mins and it would be a great way to ease the hangover with a bottle of pop.

An open-top bus tour of cork??? Fuck off.

Can’t see that taking more than ten minutes. Perhaps Farmer can do it six times in a row while the guys are in watching the match?

Jaysus that has to be stupidest suggestion on here in a long time.

An open top bus ride on your own while the other lads are off pinting, jaysus even rugger haters would know which one there would be the better option.

I was on a stag 4 years in Carrick where the group did the same thing. Lads bananas at 4pm.

Let them off to fcuk farmer. get up when it suits you and you’ll be hitting form when your rugby mates are being scrapped off the floor.

[quote=“Kinvara’s Passion, post: 782822, member: 686”]I was on a stag 4 years in Carrick where the group did the same thing. Lads bananas at 4pm.

Let them off to fcuk farmer. get up when it suits you and you’ll be hitting form when your rugby mates are being scrapped off the floor.[/quote]

The only glitch here is that Farmer will be the only sober person come 4. That’s probably worse than being locked at 4

An open top bus tour FFS!!!

[quote=“farmerinthecity, post: 782663, member: 24”]I’m heading on a stag next weekend and there is talk amongst the group of getting up for 10.30am to watch the Lions on Saturday morning.

I am led to believe that they are not even playing Australia but some club side from Queensland or something.

So basically a bunch of Irish lads are getting up early having been on the absolute tear the night before to watch a mixed team from Britain and Ireland play a match against some Australian club side.

That to me doesn’t make much sense.[/quote]
Disgraceful carry-on farmer,I assume they’re not townies of ours

That was an outstanding run from T-Bowe but Alex Cuthbert couldn’t finish it off.

Fazza overcooked for touch there.

Sky adopting the Australian terminology of “special comments” for that interjection by Will Greenwood and I don’t like that.

Big kick for Fazza here.

First blood to the Loins.