Budget 2010

Would it be somethin to do with not enough money for courses for every single person on the dole to be taking one?

So a fully qualified 40 year old with a wife and kids and a mortgage should have their dole cut so they can attend a course to get qualifications even though they are already qualified? What a fucking idiotic statement!

The majority of under 23 year olds in this country are living at home and most of their dole payment is actually disposable income, they have no initiative to pay for college courses so it’s a good idea for the government to force them into education. It doesn’t work across the board though.

Any reduction in dole payments should be met with a reduction in VAT to keep people above the poverty line.

Great thread lads, delighted I’m moving to New Zealand in January :smiley:

Are people on the minimum wage eligible for a mortgage? Rents are going through the floor. I’d love to bring the minimum wage to 10 but we’ll have hundreds of thousands less people in employment.

[quote=“tipptops*”]It must be quite galling for a man of Republican leanings, such as yourself, to find himself in a situation whereby it is obvious to all concerned that we, as a nation, would be far better off now if we were within the Commonwealth or even better still part of the United Kingdom. What exactly did Independance give us?

Civil War
The Children of the Nation abused
Emigration
Various Swindles - Beef tribunal, Off shore a/cs
Thieving Taoisigh
Terrible infrastructure
Terrible Health Service
Handout culture
Banking crises leading to the Bankruptcy of the Nation
etc etc[/quote]

I don’t see the benefit in rejoining the commonwealth, a new United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland would be my preference. A dual monarchy scenario with Queen Elizabeth our supreme liege with Brian Cowan, Thane of Offaly her vassel in Ireland. We would of course demand a subvention from the treasury. I think NI get about 7 Billion, we would need about 40 Billion and be allowed to keep the taxes we raise ourselves of course. In return Britain would get back the treaty port of Lough Swilly which would become sovereign British territory in much the same way that Cueta is a Spanish possession in Morocco.

I read there the Government is expected to pledge 675m to an IMF fund for Developing Countries? wtf?

Sounds like a good compromise alright. On a serious note though - it appears to me that the Brits were right about the Irish being unable to govern themselves all along. We’ve had 90 odd years of Independance and here we are on the brink of bankruptcy as a nation. Also it appears as if the Unionists in the North were right about “Home Rule is Rome Rule”, given what is emerging about the actions of the Catholic Church in Ireland and the subsequant cover up. Vincent Browne said last night that 300,000 children were sexually/phsyically abused while in the State/Church care. Being good Catholics the Gardai and political establishment looked the other way at best.

There is no law and order in this Country either - ask any Guard you know and they will tell you the Country is a wreck. Look at the tables for drinking levels, Ireland are only 2nd to the Czech Republic in per capita drinking. Which brings us neatly onto the Health Service. Oh what Cowan would give for an NHS. Look at the roads even, when travelling on the main road in the Country, which I would class to be the Limerick/Dublin route, the entire fleet must spend 20 minutes trying to get through Mountrath. Irish neutrality is some cop out also. The Irish language is dead but to wash it.

are you maybe overdosing slightly on the student socialist handbook there wtb, leave it down for a while it will make you go blind.

[quote=“tipptops*”]Sounds like a good compromise alright. On a serious note though - it appears to me that the Brits were right about the Irish being unable to govern themselves all along. We’ve had 90 odd years of Independance and here we are on the brink of bankruptcy as a nation. Also it appears as if the Unionists in the North were right about “Home Rule is Rome Rule”, given what is emerging about the actions of the Catholic Church in Ireland and the subsequant cover up. Vincent Browne said last night that 300,000 children were sexually/phsyically abused while in the State/Church care. Being good Catholics the Gardai and political establishment looked the other way at best.

There is no law and order in this Country either - ask any Guard you know and they will tell you the Country is a wreck. Look at the tables for drinking levels, Ireland are only 2nd to the Czech Republic in per capita drinking. Which brings us neatly onto the Health Service. Oh what Cowan would give for an NHS. Look at the roads even, when travelling on the main road in the Country, which I would class to be the Limerick/Dublin route, the entire fleet must spend 20 minutes trying to get through Mountrath. Irish neutrality is some cop out also. The Irish language is dead but to wash it.[/quote]

I had a big spiel written agreeing with that but I’ve binned it as ye’ve heard it all before. Suffice to say, this country is getting what it truly deserves. All the condemning of the banks and the government and the developers isn’t worth a hat of crabs. We the people could have cried stop at any moment by electing people capable of governing us properly. Instead we elected strokers and chancers, the class dunce and the local spiv auctioneer.

As regards Britain, it’s in a mess in alot of ways but have you ever listened to the level of debate in the House of Commons and then compared it to the debate in our own house? Has the clarity and cogent arguing back and forth in the House of Commons, whatever the topic, ever filled you with deep shame at the limited individuals we have elected to our own house? It certainly has shamed me. When an MP is caught doing the wrong thing at least they get a call from their boss telling them to sling their hook. A TD can rely on unwavering support from not only his own party, but the chancers across the floor who are at the same Del Boy tricks themselves.

Wasn’t Wolfe Tone an awful fool to die for this nation of knaves? Collins too, Boland shot by his own, Brugha, Eoghan Rua should have stayed on the continent, why did they even care about this wretched land where all the patriots are already dead?

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**”]I had a big spiel written agreeing with that but I’ve binned it as ye’ve heard it all before. Suffice to say, this country is getting what it truly deserves. All the condemning of the banks and the government and the developers isn’t worth a hat of crabs. We the people could have cried stop at any moment by electing people capable of governing us properly. Instead we elected strokers and chancers, the class dunce and the local spiv auctioneer.

As regards Britain, it’s in a mess in alot of ways but have you ever listened to the level of debate in the House of Commons and then compared it to the debate in our own house? Has the clarity and cogent arguing back and forth in the House of Commons, whatever the topic, ever filled you with deep shame at the limited individuals we have elected to our own house? It certainly has shamed me. When an MP is caught doing the wrong thing at least they get a call from their boss telling them to sling their hook. A TD can rely on unwavering support from not only his own party, but the chancers across the floor who are at the same Del Boy tricks themselves.

Wasn’t Wolfe Tone an awful fool to die for this nation of knaves? Collins too, Boland shot by his own, Brugha, Eoghan Rua should have stayed on the continent, why did they even care about this wretched land where all the patriots are already dead?[/quote]

Decent post SS, just out of curiousity, who and where were these people?

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**”]I had a big spiel written agreeing with that but I’ve binned it as ye’ve heard it all before. Suffice to say, this country is getting what it truly deserves. All the condemning of the banks and the government and the developers isn’t worth a hat of crabs. We the people could have cried stop at any moment by electing people capable of governing us properly. Instead we elected strokers and chancers, the class dunce and the local spiv auctioneer.

Wasn’t Wolfe Tone an awful fool to die for this nation of knaves? Collins too, Boland shot by his own, Brugha, Eoghan Rua should have stayed on the continent, why did they even care about this wretched land where all the patriots are already dead?[/quote]

We had as many as five of them in the Dail at one time MBB but then Jim Glennon quit politics.

One major problem I have is that very few southern politicians have any ideologies whatsoever. Backbench revolt last week was newspaper led and not out of any line taken by FF politicians imo. For all the criticism of northern politicians at least most are in it for a cause and not out of some power hungry agenda/family line. The fact that no FF TD revolted over War In Iraq, Ryan Report, NAMA, huge and systemic corruption in the party etc shows them up for what they are. FG too offer precious few changes. While leadership of Labour in UK may have sold out at least a sizeable proportion of them revolted over issues they didn’t agree with like The War In Iraq.

:clap::clap: Exactly. I’d much prefer people in there who I disagreed with who at least cared passionately about their point of view and weren’t just on the gravy train up in Dublin. The first few Dails at least had plenty men (and women) of action, either statesmen or gunmen. Alot of them couldn’t be accused of having no convictions anyway.

SS and TT on the ball here.

Will there be any increased levy on scarves or can we all sleep tight :rolleyes:

Has anyone heard Newstalk’s editorial on the Budget yet?

They seem to be running it on the hour - heard the very start of it at lunch but switched it off cos I was entering my luncheon venue and also didn’t really feel like Denis O’Brien lecturing to me about the country. The start was horribly like a desparate candidate on the Apprentice though - a great plea about what a nation of hard workers we are if we could only work together… anyone hear what came next?

Newstalk have some of the better radio shows IMO. Off the Ball is easily the best sports show on Irish radio and it’s better than anything 5Live can produce either. I do like Eamonn Keane at lunchtime too. But those clowns in the morning and Hook in the evening are just idiots. And they appear to be moving more and more in that direction as a station.

Your a second year Commerce student in NUIG. We get it.

Some absolute shite being peddled here. Cut social welfare and blame the public sector for the country being bankrupt. Any of you bufoons heard of NAMA and why it was needed to be brought in. Whenever you read of some dole bird being outed in some IBEC sponsored shitrag it is really a drop in the ocean compared to the damage that reckless trading by Fitzpatrick, Fingleton etc has caused the country and will force a generation to emigrate. Pensions that we are virtually paying for. It was the taxpayer that had to jump in to save private institutions dont forget or ever forget that.

This recession is an opportunity to reform the public sector, health service and social welfare. A time to make the right decisions but this needs innovative strategic long term thinking. Try and give the nation some hope. Invest in a national broadband infrastructure for example. But I see just blanket cuts. This is very dispiriting I must say.

Sometimes when you post on economics threads I’m half tempted to forgive your errors elsewhere KIB. We could nearly be friends if you’d just shut up about sport.