Buying a new laptop

Going to buy a new one, suggestions please. Was thinking of going down the Mac route as I don’t want to be updating security software or any of that shite. I know they’re that bit more expensive but I want it to last a few years. Would want it for basics really; internet, Microsoft packages, photo’s, dvd watching etc etc. Nothing too powerful but not weak either… say a Mondeo zetec of the laptop world…

Thanks lads

[quote=“Locke”]Going to buy a new one, suggestions please. Was thinking of going down the Mac route as I don’t want to be updating security software or any of that shite. I know they’re that bit more expensive but I want it to last a few years. Would want it for basics really; internet, Microsoft packages, photo’s, dvd watching etc etc. Nothing too powerful but not weak either… say a Mondeo zetec of the laptop world…

Thanks lads[/QUOTE]

Does Mac know?
Gay!

[quote=“Garda Sean Horgan”]Does Mac know?
Gay!

GSH.[/quote]

Kudos. :clap: :clap:

Well as an old man once said “There are alot of places to go looking for love, but I’m pretty sure you won’t find it up another mans arse”.
Mac will be seething.

According to a tag on this thread, you could be on a winner -http://thefreekick.com/vbforum/showthread.php?p=215305#post215305

[quote=“Locke”]Going to buy a new one, suggestions please. Was thinking of going down the Mac route as I don’t want to be updating security software or any of that shite. I know they’re that bit more expensive but I want it to last a few years. Would want it for basics really; internet, Microsoft packages, photo’s, dvd watching etc etc. Nothing too powerful but not weak either… say a Mondeo zetec of the laptop world…

Thanks lads[/QUOTE]

If your getting a mac I’d advise you to tick the box that says you are a student or intend to use it for work use. Saves you about 100 euro.

Gay!

GSH.[/QUOTE]

Was thinking of going down the Apple macnotebook route…

Jeez!

Come on boys! Acer, Dell, HP, Sony… whats good?

Gay!

GSH.[/QUOTE]

A lot of gay on here this afternoon. Most of it from GSH. :eek:

Office is little different on the Mac to PC.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/8/87/Office_2008.png

I like HPs.
Sonys are overpriced.
Dells are ugly.
Acers are good value.
Samsungs meant to be quite good.

Big or small Locke?
If small I’d be thinking Netbook.

I have to buy one for the ma. [Don’t ask]

I ordered the Dell Vistro 1220 last week. Still in the post but any review I read about it has being positive. I’ll know myself in a few weeks.

http://www.pcworld.idg.com.au/review/notebooks/dell/vostro_1220/310029

I wouldn’t go with a Dell, I ordered one last november and I was still waiting for it to be delivered in February, ended up cancelling the order and getting a toshiba. Its not bad only problem is Windows vista.

Dont know about an apple mac, thought they were mainly for graphic designers and the like.

Have a Mac laptop a few years now-tis the job alright. Never use any microsoft shite.
Would barely know how to use a PC.

[quote=“tazdedub”]I wouldn’t go with a Dell, I ordered one last november and I was still waiting for it to be delivered in February, ended up cancelling the order and getting a toshiba. Its not bad only problem is Windows vista.

Dont know about an apple mac, thought they were mainly for graphic designers and the like.[/QUOTE]

Taz,

Was it hassle getting a refund? I have heard one of two horror stories like that also.

The courier company that they use to deliver is right beside where I work and I intend to go down there and collect myself in person once they have it.

At the moment it has being “dispatched” by Dell but the delivery company have yet to receive it :confused:

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]Office is little different on the Mac to PC.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/8/87/Office_2008.png

I like HPs.
Sonys are overpriced.
Dells are ugly.
Acers are good value.
Samsungs meant to be quite good.

Big or small Locke?
If small I’d be thinking Netbook.

I have to buy one for the ma. [Don’t ask][/QUOTE]

Not one of those shitty small things, I’d like to get something with a large enough screen, in built camera too, want to skype that shit up.

Might go down the Acer route, not too bad I suppose. Would pay the cash for Mac though if I thought it wouldn’t cause me too many problems down the line.

I’m looking on Laptops Direct, they any good? Anyone bought from them? Is this the best way to go? I just reckon that if I go into a Harvey Norman or PC World etc that you just get fleeced…

[quote=“Locke”]Not one of those shitty small things, I’d like to get something with a large enough screen, in built camera too, want to skype that shit up.

Might go down the Acer route, not too bad I suppose. Would pay the cash for Mac though if I thought it wouldn’t cause me too many problems down the line.

I’m looking on Laptops Direct, they any good? Anyone bought from them? Is this the best way to go? I just reckon that if I go into a Harvey Norman or PC World etc that you just get fleeced…[/QUOTE]

I’ve heard they are good.

If your going down the Windows route then Windows 7 is out on October 15th. I’ve had two Dells myself and have never had any “major” problems with them, my current one was crashing a lot but there hasn’t been a squeak out of it since I put windows 7 on, so I’m putting the problems down to Vista more so than the machine build. The Studio range of dells are quiet nice looking and pretty good value.

I’ve never used a Mac for an extended period of time, but do have to look after a couple of MacBook Pro’s work and they seem to be grand if you are looking for something different to Windows.

[quote=“Locke”]Not one of those shitty small things, I’d like to get something with a large enough screen, in built camera too, want to skype that shit up.

I’m looking on Laptops Direct, they any good? Anyone bought from them? Is this the best way to go? I just reckon that if I go into a Harvey Norman or PC World etc that you just get fleeced…[/QUOTE]

Have a Sony Vaio myself Locke which I got in PC World and would recommend one of them. They are probably more expensive than the other brands though. There are always deals on if you check the paper most days so once you have the spec the brand doesnt matter as much. PC World etc all try to sell on insurance which is where they rip you off so if you avoid that then dont think they are too bad price wise.

Looking for a new laptop at the mo. In absence of anyone picking one up in the states on the cheap I’m veering towards the dell 7275.

Anyone have thoughts on this or how to ship a laptop from the states tax free?

I’ll have a look online later on.

What are your main uses for it?

What’s your budget?

I can get Office cheap for you too :+1:

Good man.

Probably around 650/700. Would need a convertible as do a lot of travel so needs to be light as well. Not looking for major performance so M series should be ok.

I’d stretch to 850 if I could get one of the surface books back tax free from the states.