Any decent Barbque restaurants in Dublin?
Pitt bros is ok
I pulled you up on your pretty typical, nonsense post characterizing all Dublin people as pyjamas wearing layabouts and all west of Ireland people as self reliant, long suffering heroes, battling against the odds. Neither stereotype is particularly accurate or fair.
Speaking of missing the point, the government who facilitate a crook like Goodman at the expense of Irish Farmers are the real enemy in this affair. Yet that won’t stop a simpleton like you voting for them or their partners in crime FF.
Christ you’re a dimwit, but like most, don’t realise it. This is pointless but here goes, I was talking about reaction to slights, and where it comes from culturally, in general. Your response was farmers get grants. Nothing to do with the theory as it’s based on what farming was traditionally done over centuries, but do you think the majority of people in the the country are farmers? Whatever grants to supplement their work has no relevance to cultural background. But I think it’s fair to say that has gone yards over your head.
One of the original posts asked why do country people over react, wheel braces etc, I explained a theory why, then explained why this is alien to Dubliners ie the need to prove independence. it’s not just to the Dublin pyjama brigade that have no knowledge of this, though it acutely affects them, it’s all Dubliners who wouldnt understand if they had to pay for water, pay for bins, didn’t have guards or ambulances or hospitals to attend 24/7, didn’t have public transport steps away from the door or shops open all hours to give some examples. Dubliners are spared from self reliance by the nature of city living and don’t understand this but I’m not sure this will ever get through to you. Again this is a academic theory I was repeating really, and I haven’t heard any counter argument to it. Farmers are a tiny percentage of rural Ireland so that point about grants, wrong anyway, holds no weight.
As for you characterising me as a regular FFFG voter, which I’m not, well done on displaying the same blanket characterisation you fancied yourself to be ‘better’ than in the preceding paragraph. Again you won’t see this.
Some of them had hurling sticks
Take a bow son…
A smiley face after a typo. That’s your counter argument…
Also that English turn of phrase. Have a guess why you used it? (hint: cultural history)
I’m not a academic pal…
It’s a great little theory. I think your extrapolation for Dublin is a bit of a reach though.
Perhaps but I was trying to give an answer to your original question, your surprise at your cousin producing the wheelbrace. If i saw the same id be taken aback a bit, but id understand where he was coming from.
List out who you have voted for there
Sure wasn’t the old fella of the McCoys of Hatfield - McCoy fame a mick himself.
It was a very good answer. I liked it. It was when you tried to shoehorn Dublin into it that it started to fall apart. The theory as you explained it talked about the effect the type of farming in a historical context. You extrapolated ‘independence’ from that and applied it to Dublin for your own nefarious purposes. It’d be like me taking a theory on personal animosity and deciding all country folk set crowbangers on each other and murder each other with teleporters.
I had to shoehorn it in to answer your question,
other posters also gave answers along the lines of ‘you gotta do what you gotta do’ two posters from the country who live in dublin actually.
But it was alien to you. The crow bangers and teleporters is another fine example of it. You are misreading independence, it’s that you have to be seen to be that way, and self reliance drives that. A few jackeen noses might be put out of joint but a poster repeating ‘farmers get grants’ and another highlighting typos with emojis isn’t exactly a counter argument.
You manage to turn so many threads into ‘Country folk good, Dublin people bad ’ arguments. It’s tedious and often nasty stereotyping. Poor form for a fella who claims to be "a academic’.
But this is a direct example of the difference, @Juhniallio asked what’s with culchies and wheel braces, but im the one who made it a dublin v country debate?
There’s nastier things in the world than harmless debates on tfk bud, get a grip on yourself, it’s almost like you have a lack of resilience from somewhere
Im going to see Malcolm Gladwell tomorrow night, if there’s a q and a ill ask him to discuss the crow banger as a symbol of self determinism, and pyjamas as dayware as possible indication of a cosied upbringing.