Calling kinvaras passion / lads from Clare

This is a very long shot but I’ve just entered the Galway bay swim at the end of July. I’ll try and raise a few quid for Irish community care in Manchester if I can finish which is uncertain. To be sure of a place I need to find a boat to accompany, mainly, I’d imagine, so they can pull my cold dead corpse out halfway across. I was wondering if any of ye would know anyone who might be able to help. It’s a big ask. It goes from Clare and over to salt hill. I reckon if I finish it will take 3-4 hours. Maybe more if the weather is bad. It’s a great charity and I’d never ask people for sponsor money if I knew I’d be able to finish. I’ll pay all my expenses myself and I’ll put 400 in the pot so I am not funding a junket. I’d happily pay the petrol/ diesel. If ye know of anyone I wonder would ye ask. I have feelers out everywhere. My bro and a pal are attempting it also.
Genuine request as I’ve had no definite yet.

How far is the swim?

Contact the rowing club down in NUIG.

I’d be astonished if they’d couldn’t help you out.

Fair play to you flatty

14k by the time you are done I’ve been told.

[QUOTE=“Thumper, post: 1109769, member: 2305”]Contact the rowing club down in NUIG.

I’d be astonished if they’d couldn’t help you out.[/QUOTE]
Never thought of that. I had kayakers who offered but not allowed understandably I suppose.

@balbec will we be having a bet on the Clare Limerick match this year?

If so I propose the money goes to Flatty’s charity

See how you go with those lads.

I’ve a few more people in mind that have done it before, but I haven’t met them in yonks.

Hard to go ringing them up to ask would they help some lad from the internet swim across Galway bay!

Fair play to you.

A lad i know over the road did a similar swim for charity last year. I’ll be chatting to him over the weekend and I’ll find out the crack. PM you when I know more.

Would my yacht be too conspicuous?

[QUOTE=“The Big Cheese, post: 1109776, member: 1137”]@balbec will we be having a bet on the Clare Limerick match this year?

If so I propose the money goes to Flatty’s charity[/QUOTE]

Sound.

Wow. In the sea. What’s the longest you’ve done before. I’ve done about 4 or 5km in a lake but nothing like that. I’ll definitely sponsor you a few quid if you go ahead with that challenge.

dungeon

Hey fair play Flatty, that’s some going. Have you been training?

Hey fair play Flatty, that’s some going. Have you been training?[/QUOTE]

In the pool. Different beast the Atlantic hence the major uncertainty about finishing, but ill give it my best shot. A lot depends on the weather.
Ill not take any money off anyone at all if I don’t finish. Ill still pay my own in, but I wouldn’t ask anyone to sponsor a gimme.
I hope we might get one of the waiting list boats, but there are no guarantees. It’s a long and boring and hard and potentially dangerous day for the boat. It’s a grand cause all the same.

Morgue?

We normally finish of those connies who attempt that swim and land on Clare shores. But I know a very contrary fisherman in Liscannor who could help depending on his mood…I’ll ask

Thanks a million kc. You are a gent. Judging by the colour of some of the natives, ye didn’t manage to polish them all off quite. Certainly not in Connemara.