Cark, is it under water yet?

Bump @ChocolateMice you cunt

Where is the Marquee this year? Is the usual spot not a building site now? I e actually never been, pal.I’d stick to normal match day parking and park up near Cork Con /pairc ui Rinn and go for a pint and food in the Silver Key and stroll down…there isnta lot happening in the city…they don’t have any medieval castles, cathedrals, houses or walls like we do in Limerick… they only have small pockets of Georgian architecture unlike Limerick…however, there are loads of wonderful eateries and food establishment a, and the English market is fine, but it’s not the social experience that the Milk Market is.

You’re fucking useless.

I’ve only been here since fucking Feb. And only on weekends at that. Fuck you.

1. Don’t go near it.
  2. There are two car parks between city hall and the Elysian one either side of Rd park in one of those and 20 mins walk.
  3. The sextant pub is nea those ca parks and does great food. Burgers pizza etc. Is on your way to marquee
  4. Fuck all on western Rd. 10 mins walk towards town has you in busy pub area though. If with your missus for quiet one there is a nice terrace bar with food options at the River Lee hotel
  5. English market is a pile of bollocks. And I’m from Cork. Spin out to Kinsale. Else stroll out to Blackrock castle, just farther than marquee and lovely resteraunt out there.

All based on assumption marquee is at Pairc up Caoimh same as always!

Just checked location. Slightly different to prev years bu advice stands. It’s only few hundred yards from old location.

CM advice not bad RE silver Quay but way out of town for after. And if coming from lmk id say easier get to my advice if you have a sat nav at least

Cheers mate.

Hope you enjoy Simply Red pal.

It’s actually Gavin James, I’m not sure is that more or less embarrassing.

I can confirm that the Sextant does nice grub as does Blacrock castle…and you can go for a nice stroll along the line over to me in Rochestown after the Castle.Ill get a cake in just in case.

Where you staying Julio?

A B&B out the Western Road somewhere, missus booked it so not 100%. She’s stayed there before and says it’ll do the job

@Julio_Geordio is barred from the Sliver Quay/Key after he lit a flare inside there before the Munster final.

Everywhere we go, everywhere we go. It’s the Limerick boys making all the noise, everywhere we go

There’s a pub in Ballintemple which is a quick skip from the Marquee called The Temple Inn, known locally as Longboats, it’s a lovely drinking pub and now does food as well (supposedly very good but that’s second hand),
The sextant does very good simple grub, it was quite hipster the last time I was in there, I’ll leave it up to you whether that’s good or bad.
You could easily park up at your BnB and walk to the Marquee to save on parking worries and enjoy a few pints.
Re Saturday, Cork is a lovely city, the market is great but it’s a market, spend a bit of time in town, buy a pair of trainers to remind you of the visit, walk in around UCC for a while, up to Fitzgeralds park where there is a very decent museum, walk across the shaky bridge (all within a few hundred yards of your BnB)
and finally, make sure you walk out the line to @ChocolateMice’s gaff, beautiful stroll but it’s a fair distance from Blackrock castle and another one from the end of the line to the top of the hill where he lives.

@gilgamboa as requested mate

Well, we headed down Friday night and parked in a residential area near the sextant, there was no need to park that far away as it turned out, but we were pointing for home and the walk wasn’t that far. Indeed it brought back great nostalgia of walking to the Páirc as a young fella wondering if we were ever going to get there. Could easily have drove up a bit closer and parked on the side of the road though as many seemed to do.

We headed for the sextant but the place was wedged, too busy for grub, though it did look like the kind of place I’d enjoy.

We ended up walking over the bridge to a place called Club Brasserie and it was top notch stuff.
I got a chicken dish of some description, while the missus got a pork burger both were very tasty indeed. It wasn’t cheap, but it wasn’t expensive either I think twas €17 or there abouts for the mains. Quiet enough in there, but it was early.

The concert itself was grand. Your man Gavin James is a lovely singer but all his songs are a bit slow, he seemed to recognise that himself in fairness and threw in a few up tempo covers of other songs. We stood near the back of the standing section (as it was fucking roasting in there) and the sound quality was poor enough, the only speakers seemed to be on the stage meaning if you were in the seated section at the back you’d have heard fuck all I’d say. I’m not sure I’m cut out for anything where there is a crowd anymore as all the people there spent their time taking selfies and recording the fucking thing instead of enjoying themselves.
It’d be a nice venue for something a bit more up beat I’d say. Missus got a glass wine there and said it was pure shit but I suppose that is to be expected at these things.

We went straight back to the b&b after and didn’t bother with pints, I wasn’t drinking and herself wasn’t fussed.

As an aside Cork is a cunt of a place to drive around.

I’ve never heard of this Gavin James fella, he’s a singer of some description is he? What sort of stuff, bit of country western or that sort of thing? Did you wear wrangler jeans and a check shirt?

That reads like a shit trip and event, pal. A long walk to a boring gig broken up by a €17 pork burger and then straight back to a B&B. Lolz.

Like all things in life it’s all about the company you keep, and myself and herself thoroughly enjoyed it

Love songs/sad songs mainly . He was a bit of underground star for a while, Tom Dunne used to play a lot of his stuff, but he’s gone mainstream now so the hipsters are gone and the masses are in.