Cars

SHITE, steer clear bud.

Def need it for horsebox anyways

No surprise that you’d know. Either a horsebox or a boat I guess?

Guzzler

carryharry

Leaf or Fluence?

[quote=“carryharry, post: 833566, member: 1517”]@Kinvara’s Passion
That is some cunt ref towing with the car alright, first i had heard of it tbh. I am gone out of the car trade 2 months is all & i had heard nothing of this law previously.

http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Licensed-Drivers/Driving-licence/Cars-and-Trailers/

The problem with buying a Pajero or a Landcruiser with seats is the Road Tax, go commercial and you’re limited to 2 Seats. Might be best to look at a crewcab jeep provided you have a herd number ( for commercial tax ), but they are dogs on juice. Best buy imo if you want something to tow & drive to work would be a Sante Fe or Toyota Rav, both should get you roughly 35mpg on standard road journeys & maybe 28mpg while towing. A Pajero or Landcruiser Jeep or a Navara or Hilux crewcab would be lucky to achieve 28mpg unladen & as little as 22mpg towing.[/quote]
What do you make of the santa fe then Harry, are the 4x4 ones in four wheel drive constantly or can it be switched off

Go fuck yourselves.

[quote=“carryharry, post: 833566, member: 1517”]@Kinvara’s Passion
That is some cunt ref towing with the car alright, first i had heard of it tbh. I am gone out of the car trade 2 months is all & i had heard nothing of this law previously.

http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Licensed-Drivers/Driving-licence/Cars-and-Trailers/

The problem with buying a Pajero or a Landcruiser with seats is the Road Tax, go commercial and you’re limited to 2 Seats. Might be best to look at a crewcab jeep provided you have a herd number ( for commercial tax ), but they are dogs on juice. Best buy imo if you want something to tow & drive to work would be a Sante Fe or Toyota Rav, both should get you roughly 35mpg on standard road journeys & maybe 28mpg while towing. A Pajero or Landcruiser Jeep or a Navara or Hilux crewcab would be lucky to achieve 28mpg unladen & as little as 22mpg towing.[/quote]

The local vet has a Sante Fe and cursed it from high heaven the last time I met him. Has had a good few issues with it.

Saying that he is the roughest individual I have ever encountered… and a Tipperary man too I might add!

Them MPG figures for the crew cabs are pretty shocking alright.

severley contemplating changing the car pals…

Currently driving a 02 Mondeo, in which a new piece is failing every week…

The thing i require a car for is my small commute in the morning and the weekend trip to Wexford which will become less frequent during the Winter.

Would i be better buying a low mileage 00-03 beemer or going for a mondeo/vw…

Thank you for your tiem and @carryharry iw ould appreciate if you considered this issue.

[quote=“The Wild Colonial Bhoy, post: 833622, member: 80”]carryharry

Leaf or Fluence?[/quote]
Both Electric i presume, if so then both are pretty much the same bar the brand mark on the bonnet. I’d go with the Leaf, worth more second hand.

The Santa Fe is a good machine @massey ferguson but like all cars/jeeps it depends on the previous cunt who had it if s/h. The 4wd is on a switch so you need only apply it on constant while towing, pretty good system too in fairness.

The problem with the 4wd Santa Fe’s is that they are scarce & make top dollar in forecourts. You can go down the road of donedeal but make sure & bring a mechanic to view them if your not mechanically minded. Most sales on donedeal of 4wd’s are for a reason, mostly bad & dealers have copped problems.
I think a standard 2wd would be okay for anyone doing normal road towing & not asking a jeep to go where a tractor should be going. The 2wd versions are plentiful and good deals are available in most dealers with warranty. If standard cars were doing the job then a 2wd SUV is fine imo.

I had problems with the lights on my car recently. Fucking bulbs were gone. Guess who changed the fuckers himself without any help from anyone on here or from his father-in-law. Suck it up fuckers.

You’re growing right in front of our eyes Rocko.

I’ll go for @Juhniallio. Did he change them for you without getting help?

It’s amazing isn’t it?

At one stage I dropped the large rubber dust cap onto the floor of the car (the bit under the bonnet, not sure if I can call that the engine floor or not?). Anyway it was too small a space to reach down into and retrieve and it’s quite a length too to be reaching into. I retrieved a bamboo cane type stick and worked around until I got it through the hole in the dust cap. I then cleverly navigated the dust cap to a hole in the bottom of the car - a hole that’s there by design - which was way too small to allow me to push the cap down through it (the cap is the size of a coffee cup lid). But it allowed me to have the cap completely speared by pushing the bamboo all the way to the cobbled drive underneath and still hold the other end with my other hand.

With a high degree of cunning and bravery I manipulated the stick to get the maximum bend in it and fashioned a situation where the cap was still straddling the stick and was now off the floor of the engine. Carefully, but deliberately, I raised the stick until the cap was back up at the top of the engine and I gleefully grabbed it with both hands, casting the stick skywards in celebration at my excellence. I think I might become a mechanic.

[quote=“Rocko, post: 833693, member: 1”]It’s amazing isn’t it?

At one stage I dropped the large rubber dust cap onto the floor of the car (the bit under the bonnet, not sure if I can call that the engine floor or not?). Anyway it was too small a space to reach down into and retrieve and it’s quite a length too to be reaching into. I retrieved a bamboo cane type stick and worked around until I got it through the hole in the dust cap. I then cleverly navigated the dust cap to a hole in the bottom of the car - a hole that’s there by design - which was way too small to allow me to push the cap down through it (the cap is the size of a coffee cup lid). But it allowed me to have the cap completely speared by pushing the bamboo all the way to the cobbled drive underneath and still hold the other end with my other hand.

With a high degree of cunning and bravery I manipulated the stick to get the maximum bend in it and fashioned a situation where the cap was still straddling the stick and was now off the floor of the engine. Carefully, but deliberately, I raised the stick until the cap was back up at the top of the engine and I gleefully grabbed it with both hands, casting the stick skywards in celebration at my excellence. I think I might become a mechanic.[/quote]
Next time being a container to put the bits you remove into.

Cool story but.

I’m guessing the chap in Halfords who changes them for a fiver that all the women go to.

Tubby already made that joke Fagan-keep up.

Ah jaysus @Rocko how long are you thinking up that vivid yet unbelievable story? :oops: #embarrassedforyou

You seem to be suffering recently from a delusion that you have some sort of status or authority around here.