Cats

New arrival about the yard the past week.

Cat looks maybe 3 years old and is either pregnant or not long after kittens.
Was shady enough of us for first week but finally approached for petting Sunday evening.
No sign Sunday evening until Monday morning again.

Fed her a bowl of milk yesterday morning, evening & again this morning. Condition looks ok & temperature is ok around kids.
Presume it’s been dumped once previous home realised another litter could be due.

Anyway another fucker made an appearance this evening quite shadily. Poor fucker was starving.

Can’t tell sex but looks old enough to be up 12+ weeks old from googling images of different ages. Presume it’s weaned.
Female cat is pretty aggressive & growls at older kitten.
After her feed she fucked off without it back into the trees a while ago.

Seems unusual she only has one in tow.

Would it be normal for the mother to drop all concern for an older kitten so soon?

cc @TreatyStones

Don’t give cats milk, woeful stomach cramps for them and a dose of the squirts in most cases.

Right.

Left water out last couple of morning but not a lot taken.

They drink very little.

Cats are selfish, evil bastards. A mother would have no problem ditching a kitten if she’s starving herself.

The bitch was licking my hand earlier then had a slight nibble.

The kitten is a grand looking fella, pure black & a big long bushy tail on it

They actually drink fuck all, a bare flick of the tounge job. The jelly in the pouches or tins does the trick for fluid. Not sure what the craic with the kitten but if the mother stays around there will be loads more in no time as the Toms are right rapists and will sniff her out for miles, cats only take 2 months to go through pregnancy and kittens can become pregnant at only 3-4 months themselves! You could have a colony of ferals by mid term break. On the plus side you wont have to worry about rodents again.

That’s my fear.

I’m trying to see can I get the kitten friendly/confident enough in me to pet and lift up.

Might try and get both to a vet to get them neutered if they’re staying in Harry’s Kingdom.

If the Cat is preggers I presume an injection could finish that job?

There’s never been a cat that can’t be tamed might take a while but they’re crafty fuckers once you keep feeding it won’t be long before they’re inside the house

Feeding is the best way of getting it to trust you, an old rub on the head while it’s eating and it will be used to you in no time. Get a plastic litter box and fill it with any cheap litter, they are deadly at knowing what exactly it’s for as they want to bury and hide their scent from instinct and the litter is the ideal way for them to do it. Never need to wash them either as they spend all day everyday cleaning themselves.

The older cat was happily following me in the back door earlier.

Cat definitely was an indoors cat previously. Arrived home this evening and fucker was thrown off in the shaded yard out back panting.

Herself fed it cold leftover scrambled eggs, both cats went mad for it.

I’m just miffed at seeing just two of them. I’ve a feeling she has a young litter somewhere else.

There’s an unused dog box the young put an old blanket in before I was home and the cat ignored it even leaving the food in there.

Our auld fella is nearing the end. Started a week ago, things turned around early in the week but gone rapidly downhill during the weekend. The poor fella is fading so I’ll have to bring him back down to the vet for what I presume will be the last time.

Ah no…always a sad :cry: time when you know you’re going to the vet for the pink injection.

Little Kyle

He looks like hes about to walk up to a mouse and ask “do you know who the fuck I am?” before eating him.

How many dogs, cats and children have been named after members of this Limerick panel?

True.

Lohan the mutt is a distant memory now.

Our cat was called Bonner after a young Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher started bursting on the senior scene in 2010. Maybe fitting that he passed away in what looks like the same year the Bonner’s inter county career is finishing :smiling_face_with_tear:

RIP Bonner

Any ideas for the name of the next cat?