Celebrity Deaths - 2016

I’d rather have been playing (what the fuck is kiss tig??) with a fat 6 year old than be stuck in watching golf on a Saturday when I was 10, you weird cunt…what kind of parents had you at all? Did you sit up with your parents watching sports award shows when you were 10? You Wexford lads are twisted.

I didn’t watch golf, bar the Sunday night of the two US Majors that Network 2 had coverage of.

When I was 10 Ireland had just beaten England in Euro '88 so you’re dead fucking right I watched the Sports Award show to revel in the glory of those halcyon days.

I wasn’t enough of a moron to completely miss out on life going on around me.

Jonah Hill
Brian Cowen
Dolly Parton
Gerard Depardieu
Sophia Loren

You were stuck in watching telly so? Grand, good for you, some of us were out experiencing real life tho.

So was Christy a hero of yours growing up seeing as you were such a golf nut at 10?

9pm on a November/December evening wasn’t generally a time to be out building tree houses.

He wouldn’t have been a hero of mine but i was well aware of who he was. Along with the aforementioned TV shows there was always reports on RTE Radio 1 about golf that we used to listen to on the way home from whatever league/championship match that Wexford/St James’ were playing.

So like I was saying, if you say you hadn’t heard of him until this morning you’re outing yourself as a johnny come lately when it comes to following sport on this island.

Good man Locke, sew it into them. Up the ra.

Jesus, you were allowed up until 10 O’Clock on a Sunday?? You must have been obsessed with golf as a kid?

I’m a Johnny come lately? Well that’s me fucked so… the shame of it, how will I show my e-face on here again… Golf was never, ever watched in my house. I wouldn’t have been allowed stay up to watch anything at 10 O’Clock a night before school as my mother loved me. I generally spent my days outdoors at 10 bar the odd sports game on tv or star wars. My mother would bate the head of me for watching too much tv because she loved me.

You wouldn’t need to follow golf to know who Christy O’Connor was.

Was he anything to Des O’Connor?

Being able to read, listen or see would have allowed anyone in their 30’s know who he was.

A little bit too much seemingly.

You’re doing a very bad Sid impression here son.

Give him a minute and he’ll pass it off as banter.

@croppy_boy is giving a masterclass here tho… ticking every box possible to portray himself as the archetypal sports fan with the accompanying upbringing that only such fans could have had - anything less and you are not cool.

Jackie Charlton era mania
Travelling back from GAA matched listening to Radio 1
The family watching sports award shows togeter as they were sports nuts
Sports stadium

His insecurity levels are off the charts :joy:

Probably reared on English TV culture.

Actually I was commenting more on your own apparent lack of knowledge than saying yoy had to be any particular way to be ‘cool’.

I never said anyone had to be like me, just that it’s very difficult for anyone who claims anyone who claims to have a minor level in sport in this country to have completely missed out a prominent media figure like Christy O’Connor Junior up to this point in your life.

I bet he claims to have never heard of Willie John McBride either.

It’s surprising that he knows who Jack Charlton is to be honest.

Or Eamonn Grimes.

Ah he’s surely heard the song