Celtic Non-Matchday Discussion

That would nearly make sense they’d just ship him off to another Saudi club otherwise since they are all the wan. If he gets paid his three year contract and fucks off somewhere else that would be an unreal bit of bidness out of him.

But it could just be a totally made up story either.

Would Celtic have actually gotten rid of him for being gay? You’d hope not in this day and age.

Would he go to Saudi as a gay person? It is a lot of money tbf

The lad is a genius.

Ah here.

In a team sport, it probably isn’t good for team cohesion for team mates to be in a relationship.

I wonder should there be a retrial on the success or otherwise of Tierneys move to Arsenal? Supposed to be looking at a loan move to Real Sociedad, a club not known for any big spending. Hard to see how Spain would suit him either, not an ideal spot for a lad who runs hard but is limited technically. Would throwing the Jota money at Arsenal not solve a problem position for Celtic and lift the mood around the club, he is still only 26.

I think he’s a technically good player.

I also don’t think he’d be affordable for Celtic on wages or fee. And if he was attainable at say £15m or so I’d rather we brought in a couple of £7m players than spending all that on a left back.

https://x.com/bhoysviews/status/1695695872879726777?s=46&t=hLFVM4tcaAF7TEDm5mgJyQ

Issues in the dressing room.

That Haksabanovic has some cheek, hes done fuck all since he joined. I assume hes trying to push for a release before the window closes here. Hes a useless fucker anyway, more interested in his hair, no loss

https://twitter.com/smn___67/status/1695771963644358993?t=Lhvg-SqFpZ3xyrOi4fxMkQ&s=19

Saw from 75 minutes onwards yesterday. Other than a Forrest header from a Ralston cross, they didn’t really look like scoring. St Johnstone had a couple of chances on the break too. Some injuries clearly but it’s disappointing that we were relying on the likes of Bernabei (really headless & useless), Ralston (limited but game), Forrest (past it for a couple of years now), Haksa (a nothing player) & I’d maybe even add Abada to that.

I don’t think there’s a grand conspiracy, I just think they’ve struggled to get their main targets. It’s easier to nail down the signing of a prospect from a smaller league but more established players are likely surveying their options & seeing what else is available to them as the deadline approaches. For example, CCV, Jota & Giakoumakis all joined in the last couple of days of August two years ago (the first two on loan with buy options).

That Honduran winger deal looks all but done so let’s hope there’s another few in the pipeline too. I’m hopeful that things will become clearer in a week when we’ve hopefully added a few & the uncertainty around Hatate & others will be gone. I think there was a similarly messy start to Rodgers’ last season in 2018-19 with a disappointing transfer window, Boyata & Ntcham angling for moves away, dropped points that had supporters irked but he got the team playing very well again from mid September onwards (before fucking off the following February).

A lot of panic merchants crying about the huns being handed the title…relax & let the great Brendan Rodgers build a new dynasty.

There’s some amount of journeymen at the club. The sevco board look far more ambitious than ours, and if they go to sevco mark 2, whit of it ?
I think reappointing Rogers was a mistake. Not as bad as reappointing Lennon, but a mistake nontheless. There seems to be a flat attitude around the club this season, reflected in the football. Mediocre performances one after another.
If we can’t raise it for the huns, we may throw our cap at it.
I just can’t see us beating them. We seem to carry no great threat.

Haskabanovic can fuck right off. Vata and Bernabei can join him.

Sure that’s a ridiculous statement.

They’re hardly spending vast money. And going bust was a complete shitshow for them.

Yeah I’d agree with that in the main.

I think we were much better at the weekend than the previous game. And even under peak Ange we had some games where we missed early chances and struggled to create. But our bench options were appalling on Saturday. Way below the level required. And so we couldn’t really up the pace and intensity near the end which we need to do against those teams that sit in against us.

I think we badly need a central midfielder, preferably attacking to go with the winger. And I’d like an upgrade on Haksabanovic then - someone who can play both sides and in the middle. Maybe that’s Palma, but I think we probably still need another winger then.

And yet, here they are. It’s not a ridiculous statement. I know you have a soft spot for the Celtic management side. It’s a well run business, but the huns will spend all they have and more. Is it sensible? No. Is it well spent? No. Was it catastrophic going bankrupt? No. They spent a few years demoted, so what :person_shrugging:. Bet it was good craic supporting them.

I don’t have any soft spot for the management side. I have a soft spot for realism which sometimes comes across that way.

I think this transfer window has been badly managed.

At the moment we are short in defence mostly because of injuries. We added two centre backs to replace Starfelt and to upgrade on Kobayashi/Welsh/Scales but unfortunately we’re already down to playing Scales which is unacceptable. But a loan should be the solution there.

Full backs are problematic too. Johnston is excellent. Ralston is not but I guess is just backup. Taylor looks lost and Bernabei isn’t even as good as Ralston. Could do with a left back but it’s probably down the list.

In the centre of the pitch we’ve lost Mooy. He was a bit of a bonus last year but we haven’t replaced him. And then losing Hatate to injury has left us exposed. Turnbull is probably required in the squad but should be fifth choice. Iwata hasn’t progressed at all and Holm is a developer. Could really do with another midfielder to share the load with O’Riley, Hatate and McGregor. That’s a big priority and adding Holm and Kwon wasn’t ever going to be enough there.

Losing Jota as well is huge. Again two young wingers added but I’d see them more replacing the ageing Forrest and the Haksabanovic option plus some form chances to play ahead of Abada or Maeda on form. In no way have we replaced Jota and that’s brutal from the management team given the money received. It’s hard to see Palma being that star replacement but maybe he is.

Striker has been unfortunate too with the Oh injury. It’s not really realistic to keep three strikers and only play one. Maeda is also there as backup but he’s been needed on the wing due to poor form there from everyone.

In short, we’re shy a midfielder and a winger. And we’ve been a bit unlucky with injuries. But we’ve also regressed to a slower and more predictable system. Hopefully the latter is just teething problems and hopefully the former will be resolved through investment but I doubt it.

Anyway, it’s a hell of a lot better than the alternative

Excuses excuses