Celtic v Hearts, 3pm, Sky Sports

I’ve already said Maeda’s two fuck ups early on were a hammer blow, he should be scoring both of them, to miss one was poor but to miss two was unforgivable - that’s on him. The defensive fuck up for the first was a shit show that should have been avoided, should have been cleared and McGregor was way too weak in the box on top of others being asleep, the second was a really poor setup from a corner and no man on the back line whilst Kasper should save from that distance.

We don’t have the fitness to play that system by the looks of the collapse after a half hour. I can’t see the reason behind playing three at the back in the SPL against mostly one striker. Ange fell down in Europe by not adjusting styles depending on opposition, I thought those days were gone. We will be blown apart if he keeps this up.

Yang is not an up and down wing back. He’s not even a useful winger.

I think its very fair to say change can and should be implemented but there is a time and a place, you can only piss with the cock you’ve got

Apparently he used midfielders in the 3 at the back to avoid having defenders on the ball too much. Wonder if he’ll try that at some stage.

I don’t think Yang playing wingback renders him much more ineffective given he’s very hit and miss anyway. We have been playing without an effective right hand side all season. We may as well only have one player out there instead of two contributing nothing.

I think it’s fair to say our two best wingbacks are injured at the moment in Johnston and Saracchi.

I don’t get what you want him to do exactly. You think he should implement change slowly to move towards his system but at the same time you’re arguing the system isn’t fit for purpose.

As Wilf himself would say - there’s too much made of the formation itself. We need to get players into good attacking positions and be in position defensively when we lose it. I think we were average at both yesterday. It could be argued that was an improvement over 50% of the season and a good outcome after only a couple of days of training.

A (probably not) final aside on the formation.

I recall O’Neill suddenly switching from a back 3 to a back 4 before a Huns game. Never trained that way and he only told the players on the morning of the game. It worked and he never switched back. There’s no right or wrong time to change formation. If we’re going for a back 4 then we may as well just do it.

What do I want him to do? I want him to play to the strengths of the squad at his disposal and adapt/ make change over time. If its a complete root and branch job which it looks like, given his apparent style he has to play, well good luck trying this on the job mid season, he needed a pre season and a transfer window to apply that, not sure what is so mad about saying as much.

Jaysus even MON knew that he couldn’t get away with his beloved 352 this time around.

I don’t think it’s mad. I just don’t agree. I can’t believe that next August is the time to play the formation and system that he has built his reputation around.

MON abandoned 352 a long time ago.

What I’m saying is if the only way Nancy can play is a rigid 3421, he should have been appointed next Summer when he identities his players for such a system and has a proper pre season and clear run at this overhaul and MON should have been kept for the season. I don’t think we have the players to adapt mid season to this system and we are in trouble. I hope he proves me wrong

The big test surely is whether Nancy gets 2 or 3 players in to the club the first week of January. The job has been his for a few weeks already, he must have a fair idea who and what he needs. If the board can’t get the players in at the start of the window then all discussions of tactics is largely a waste of time. There doesn’t seem to be any chat of potential targets yet with 3 weeks to go.

But MON didn’t want to stay the season.
And you can’t tell a manager we want to hire you but not for 6 months. No manager worth their salt will accept that.
And no CEO should be telling any manager we’ll only hire you if you don’t want to play your system.
And one of the big points Nancy makes is that it’s not a rigid system at all. It’s just a starting position to try and unbalance and overload the opposition. He wants every player to be able to play at least two positions so that they can be flexible in the formation. Hence the tactics board.

There are actually posters still active on here who thought bringing back Neil Lennon was a good idea.
Can you imagine they have the neck to still voice an opinion on anything Celtic related.
I suppose they are probably the easily led who get a little wet spot in the underpants at the thrill of singing rebel songs at the back of a pub in the gallowgate. Who knows :person_shrugging:

I think Celtic have to give him 18 months minimum, unless it really turns toxic. I actually think he would survive finishing second to hearts, but not to Sevco who may be quite a threat in the new year as they are prepared to spend and eventually that might work.
I just think it’s an unfortunate time to be appointed.
I’m extremely glad it’s St Mirren and not Sevco next weekend all the same.

Coach Nancy seems to be coming under serious pressure already from the Glasgow Celtic faithful just one game into his tenure.

Good too & fro here & I can again see both sides of it @Rocko & @starryplough. With the Celtic board’s ineptitude I wonder were they even that aware Nancy’s football is from a base 3421 formation, albeit fluid within that. They’ve wasted their last couple of transfer windows through inaction & parsimony. They signed hopeless left wingers in August despite having no right sided attacking options & didn’t sort out the striker position either.

Yet now they’ll need to sign lads who can play this hybrid wing back role for each side, I think. It’s a near total rebuild required or, like yesterday, you’re playing Tounekti, Yang & McCowan as wing backs. I reckon Tierney would break down having to get up & down. Saracchi would be suitable but that’s two hamstrings for him so far. The options on the other side like Johnston, Donovan & Ralston seem more full backy than wing backy to me. I know it’s ā€œonly Scotlandā€ but I think this role is quite demanding & it’s tricky to get the right hybrid type. Of ex Celts…someone like Frimpong with his pace & engine would be ideal for it but not these weak & inconsistent wingers on the books currently. It’s imperative he’s backed in January so.

I think there were some good moments in the first half in the build up & the players should get used to the positioning & combinations demanded by Nancy as time goes on. Connections & relations to use the wanky football jargon terms. I think Celtic arrived into lots of really good positions in the final third but then the lack of quality told in the execution & decision making. So there’s also reinforcements needed in those central areas too - players who can actually pick the right pass at the right time & also finish.

We probably need to sign around 7 players asap, even taking into account the point about Nancy using/wanting players who can play multiple roles. I have a feeling we’ll beat a floundering Roma on Thursday night all the same.

DD intimated that they backed BR, who identified and approved all transfers.

the social media tims are raging that an Irish lad is playing for hearts and scored against them. Neanderthals.

I’ve just watched a game from December 1986 on the YouTubes where Joe Miller scored a cracking diving header for Aberdeen into the Celtic End at Celtic Park after missing a penalty a few minutes earlier and then he did a Ray Houghton style head over heels celebration.

The booing!

Aweihhhh Miller yeh wee tard’ncoat sheihe baaug!