Celtic v Rangers, Premier Sports Cup Final

It was a great penalty too. Schmeicel went the right way and got nowhere near it.

No I’d just forgotten it. The closer something is the more I forget.

They had won two shoot outs in the 2008 UEFA Cup run, 1987 League Cup final v Aberdeen, 2008 Cup semi-final v some team I can’t remember, the 2016 Cup semi-final v Celtic, possibly a few more.

Celtic lost the 1972 European Cup semi-final to Inter Milan, the 1990 Cup final to Aberdeen, the 1994 League Cup final to Raith Rovers, to Valencia in the 2001/02 UEFA Cup and 2016 to Rangers off the top of my head.

There was a more select group of Celtic penalty competition wins such as against Liverpool in Dubai in 1989 four days before Hillsborough, and against Dundee United in 2009 where Boruc did a Kevin Pressman, and Spartak Moscow in 2007, but I can’t recall much after that.

Celtic beat Aberdeen in semi final shootout last season.

Beat Hearts on penalties in the 2020 Covid Scottish Cup Final played in December but again I’d completely forgotten that game ever existed.

I remember that 1990 one well still. Charlie Nicholas scoring for Aberdeen who put 9 past Packie Bonnar comfortably. Four weeks later he went the right way five out of five times

Anton Rogan missed for Celtic. He got an awful time off the boo boys at Windsor Park if I remember rightly.

Google tells me Rangers had lost 3 of their last 4 shootouts.

Celtic had won 3 of their last 4.

That 4 v 1 on CCV was mad & quite a sliding doors moment. Yer man had 2 players over to his left with a favourable angle to bear down on goal but he went right. It came from Taylor falling over the ball & it almost compounded his terrible mistake for the opening goal. And yet less than 5 minutes later it was Taylor himself scoring a deflected equaliser.

Absolutely fantastic to beat them in a cup final shoot-out. Hamilton said in commentary the only other meaningful Celtic-Rangers match that went to penalties was that aforementioned 2016 semi-final. I couldn’t quite hear him but he may had referenced some other game in the 1970s, maybe a Glasgow Cup or something.

It’s sometimes tricky to predict who’ll strike the penalties post tactical subs & injuries over the 120+ minutes but I didn’t have Maeda in my list because he’s quite chaotic. I had the first 4 bhoys plus Forrest in mind but they were 5 very assured penalties.

I thought Kuhn destroyed Jefte after half time & Celtic were rampant for around 15-20 minutes when they scored twice. I felt briefly that the huns were gone but they rebounded to my surprise. It was a wild & epic game but Celtic will be disappointed with how they let the huns disrupt their passing game. I agree that Hatate came onto a game but McGregor was pretty poor today imnvho. I’ve had a nagging feeling his collection of long range goals this season has papered over a decline in general play. Maybe that’s harsh? I thought he struggled to cover ground today & he’s getting caught in possession more frequently.

Engels did excellently for Kuhn’s goal but I thought he was otherwise shaky. He gave it away quite often & I don’t think he should have been rolled for the Diomande goal. The huns think they should have had a penalty for the Scales jersey tug. Scales was good overall but he had two moments on the edge of his own box. I also agree that Idah was decent.

Another incredibly tight game but Celtic consistently coming out on the right side of these can’t be a coincidence. All in all, the only thing that matters in a final is winning it. And what a way to do it. :shamrock:

The pitch didn’t favour Celtic. For once, the referee probably did. Scales, wtf was he thinking?

He’s really lost his nerve , not a shadow of the player in the opening champs lge match . Still a very clever footballer .just needs to rebuild confidence

But not ahead of your top scorer :man_shrugging:

Good morning fenians. When the Celtic squad sprinted back towards the Celtic end 45 seconds into this clip was terrific. On fourth view, did Maeda half bloody duff his kick? It’s like he kicked down on the ball. Davie Provan, ex Celtic & Sky Sports co-commentator of yore, might have said he “choked down” on the ball.

I thought he did a bit, but it was so far in the corner that I don’t think butland would have saved it even had he guessed correctly. The rangers missed penalty was similar, but struck less well again.

Steward letting his allegiances be known & giving it big licks at 1:14 too.

Fair play to Willie Collum for fronting up & admitting the huns should have had a penalty last Sunday. As long as lessons are learned then I’m sure everybody will be happy.

I’m certain the Huns will accept and move on.
A second point is it was a fcuking stupid stupid stupid thing to do by scales. What on earth was he thinking?
A nothing foul.

Two further points

1. Gollum is quick to point the finger of blame, and throw his colleagues to the wolves. He steadfastly abdicates any personal responsibility at the same time.
  2. “Taking games away” from referees he has publicly denounced is an utterly inept, craven and base response. They are not four years old wullie. A sensible discussion may be a better plan.