Champions League 2016/17 - Round of 4

Barcelona had a complete overhaul of their squad from the Rijkaard era under Guardiola.

2006 final
Valdes
Oleguer
Puyol
Marquez
Van Bronkhorst
Van Bommel
Edmilson
Deco
Ronaldino
Eto’o
Giuly

Used subs:
Larsson
Belletti
Iniesta

2009 final

Valdes
Puyol
Toure
Pique
Sylvinho
Busquets
Iniesta
Xavi
Messi
Eto’o
Henry

Used subs:
Pedro
Keita

Only 4 of the 14 players involved in 2006 were involved in 2009, that’s a staggering turnover - in reality it’s two completely different sides.

yes bud, based on facts those Liverpool sides in the 70s/80s are up there with Milan & Barca.

Pragmatic, fact-based logical masterclass from @Nembo_Kid.

Like I said. You love your eras.

I also love my clampings of you.

And obviously the Man Utd team of the 2008-11 era. Denied twice by a side of drug cheats managed by a drug cheat.

Good man pigeon.

Barcelona from 2009 to 2016 were considerably better than the current Real Madrid team. They beat better teams than Madrid have beaten and they generally beat them convincingly. All three European cups Barcelona won since 2009 (you can add 2006 to that if you want) were done in great style, and they also won the league each year they won in Europe, twice doing the treble. They’ve also only dropped two leagues from the last 8. Real Madrid have failed to win the league since 2012 and while they may win it this year, one slip up could still hand it to a clearly declining Barcelona, who still hold the whip hand in head to heads even now, as last week proved.

It’s also not just about winning, but how you win.

Madrid were also exceedingly lucky to win in Europe in both 2014 and 2016, being outplayed by Atletico over 90 minutes in 2014 and only prevailing in extra-time due to Atletico being knackered due to their exertions against Barcelona the previous week. In 2016 Atletico were clearly the better team both in normal time and extra-time. They’ve basically stumbled over the line twice due mainly to luck, while Barcelona have left no doubt about their superiority each time. Barcelona also had their fair share of bad luck in 2010 and 2012 when they lost semi-finals in which they had clearly been the better team over the two legs.

Barcelona’s style was and even now continues to be considerably more pleasing to the eye.

Madrid basically adopt a “buy everyone” policy and have done since 2009. They have the financial power to do that. Since then they have at all points had a massive squad filled with world class players, a far bigger squad than anybody else. If you do that you’re eventually bound to stumble upon a winning formula at some point, especially with the other main contenders going into decline as Barcelona, Bayern (who incidentally were robbed barefaced against them this season) and the English teams have.

I wouldn’t be backing them if they face Juventus who will have no fear of them.

Ronaldo will win his second deserved ballon d’Or this year. Fair play

Real really do have an outstanding team. Marcelo is an outstanding footballer, a brilliant midfield as well. Isco/Asensio/James are all class, Benzema isn’t having a great season but he’s a brilliant team player and obviously Ronaldo is an outstanding goalscorer

Not to mention Ramos

Funny the way the likes of Dunphy used to laugh at himself and Pepe. Two brilliant defenders

James hasn’t been getting near the team really.

He played at the weekend and did well. Will be a good signing for whoever gets him

He has more than two already no?

@Nembo_Kid kid with a tactical masterclass here

Emphasis on “deserved” there

A masterclass of bullshit alright.

‘If something that hasn’t happened does happen then some people might think that these lads are better than the other lads but actually loads wont… I win, I win, I win!’

Sore loser.

Do I need to mediate here guys ?