Champions League 2022/23 Matchday One (its a grand old team to play for)

I don’t remember, pal.

You don’t as long as it’s working or you think it has a decent chance of working.

If you’re Erik Ten Hag you do shelve it.

I’d say there’s a much bigger buzz about this game.

I can’t remember a buzz like this about a Celtic game since the last 16 tie against Juventus in 2013, maybe even the UEFA Cup final in 2003.

Starfelt or Carter-Vickers against Benzema

Vinicius Junior on Juranovic.
Rodrygo on Taylor :rofl:

This is going to be great craic.

admins

please put a 24 hour ban on @estebandaface on this thread

Mate go easy, he’s a Johnny come lately city fan but we embrace all our bandwagon jumpers.

Leave him off

Yeah, Ange is adamant that this way isn’t just stylish/attacking for the sake of it. It’s effective too. It’s just that jocko media types can’t get their heads around the fact that it isn’t one extreme or another. It’s not a case of either being wildly gung ho or parking the bus, yet the entire media conference was framed in those terms. It’s been that way for over a year now too.

For example, there were plenty of times on Saturday when Celtic got back into a solid defensive shape and the huns probed without cutting us open. We picked our moments to press aggressively. It’d be naive to think Celtic could overwhelm Real Madrid with waves of attacks but Ange was emphasising that we’ll have attacking intent.

I would also like there to be a bit of menace/hostility in the Celtic Park air tonight, similar to the huns game in February. We’ve been a bit of a soft touch at home at times in Europe - a nice atmosphere/bucket list type thing for opponents to tick off. Lads like @thedancingbaby creaming themselves online because Toni Kroos or someone said Celtic Park had a special atmosphere.

This isn’t a celtic thread.

before @thedancingbaby time but Liam Brady famously said he wanted the tie finished after the 1st leg when we played neuchatel xamax, i believed him then & he was right

i believe Ange

Chelsea gone one down in Zagreb

There was a good buzz when they beat Man United courtesy of a Nakamura free-kick back around 2006 and scalped then European Champions AC Milan 2-1 in 2007. A heartbreaking AET defeat to Milan came later that season in the round of 16.

Shaky start for Wes Fofana.

PEA got the start too. Tuchel would want to steady the ship fairly soon.

Pea looks like shit.

No Kyogo? I was looking forward to seeing him against a top class outfit.

I’d have preferred him to start. But he’s on the bench and I’d imagine we’ll see a good 25 minutes from him.

Who will be first goalscorer so? Joooootttttaaaa?

I expect he’ll get the first couple alright.