Champions League 2023/24 Round of 32

City in at ht 1 down. Mad

Packie Bonner in nets

Etoile Rouge are European royalty

Ah that’s a really poor goal to concede after a good 45 minutes. No need to be giving away the free kick in the first place but Hart needs to be saving that.

A stupid concession there. O’Riley a bit sloppy to make the foul but Hart should get across to that freekick. It didn’t go through the wall imo, it was to the side where the Feyenoord chap moved out of the way. Nothing really in the game otherwise. Had Hatate been more up to match speed, you’d think he’d have played Kyogo in at least once. Celtic got joy when they pressed them high up & won the ball in attacking areas but didn’t take advantage. But it’s annoying at the highest level when you don’t make teams earn goals with soft ones like that. A big half time for Brendan.

Yeah very frustrating way to concede

Other than looking vulnerable to a ball in behind we’ve defended quite well and our press has been really good. Lagerbielke looks fond of an error though.

Few chances on turnovers we might have done better with too. As you say Hatate has taken too much out of the ball a couple of times and Palma and Maeda have been slow to release it also, though Maeda did very well with his left footed effort.

Nothing matters after last season

Silly Celtic

Hart was blaming anyone but himself for the goal from the free-kick despite it being mainly his fault but he’s redeemed himself there with that save.

Two of them had hands across each other for that penalty. Lagerbielke was naive but a second yellow card and a penalty is very harsh. Ref hasn’t done us many favours at all on cards in particular.

Fair play to Hart for the penalty save there.

It was a soft enough penalty award too - I’m not sure that would be awarded by VAR if it wasn’t already given on the pitch - but totally needless by Lagerbielke in fairness. It was rolling through to Hart anyway so he didn’t have to impede the chap who was only too willing to crumple into a heap.

Now another red card & we’re down to 9!

Ah ffs sake

Silly tackle

Down to 9 now

And they concede straight away. Rodgers has his hands full with these lads

Gonna get ugly here

Come on Celtic.

OFF

I’d take a draw from here lads.

Doesn’t matter. The real results matter. There’s loads of money in the bank…