Champions League - Last 16

Not at all-6 a side is the highest form of art known to sport.

[quote=“Rocko, post: 744929, member: 1”]I mentioned this at the time of the card, or at least that Nani’s tackle was no worse, and I think Bandage picked up on it too. Arbeloa’s tackle certainly looked as bad or worse on the couple of views we got of it. Surprised the producer didn’t show us a couple more views of it at the time.

Don’t think the Nani one was cut and dried either way. He was a bit reckless but it was definitely harsh. I don’t think he helped himself though - by even taking a small bit of evasive action, and he has time to change the angle of the contact, he would have saved himself a red card. I think he was a bit cowardly in leaving his leg there but I doubt he was expecting to be sent off for it.[/quote]

Agreed, it was a harsh sending off but not an injustice. I doubt SAF will be forgiving Nani anytime soon, could be the end for him at OT. Fergie likes to hold a grudge, he does.

[quote=“Rocko, post: 744929, member: 1”]I mentioned this at the time of the card, or at least that Nani’s tackle was no worse, and I think Bandage picked up on it too. Arbeloa’s tackle certainly looked as bad or worse on the couple of views we got of it. Surprised the producer didn’t show us a couple more views of it at the time.

Don’t think the Nani one was cut and dried either way. He was a bit reckless but it was definitely harsh. I don’t think he helped himself though - by even taking a small bit of evasive action, and he has time to change the angle of the contact, he would have saved himself a red card. I think he was a bit cowardly in leaving his leg there but I doubt he was expecting to be sent off for it.[/quote]

That’s about the crux of it. Though it happened at speed he certainly saw Arbeloa before contact and could have recoiled his foot and just collided with him. Lazily he left his foot there, which was reckless, and gave the ref the opportunity to send him off.

[quote=“Horsebox, post: 744935, member: 1537”]Not at all-I just lose more and more interest in soccer when I see what a game for very soft feminine men it has become. Feigning injury is now the norm and tackling hard for the ball is being outlawed. This incident doesn’t really fall under either category as Nani did connect with the Arbeloa(although he overdid the rolling around but that is now accepted as part of the game by everyone including FIFA) and neither was it a hard tackle as Nani was merely trying to control the ball. But if you genuinely thought that was a straight red, as in the minute you saw the incident you thought to yourself that’s a red card then I would have to wonder have you ever really played a proper 11 a side match before.

Of course if you are just ball hopping and winding up the United lads then I 100% agree with you it was a red card and Nani should be up in court on attempted murder charges.[/quote]

art is a liverpool fan, everthing he says on the matter should be qualified by this fact.

[quote=“Gman, post: 744928, member: 112”]you are contradicting yourself you clown. how can someone be entitled to send a player off, and then say he shouldnt be sent off in a million years.

I think it was harsh, but it wasnt the worst sending off I have ever seen, not by a long shot. The way some going on about it from the club and retards on bookface etc you’d swear the world was ending. I didnt agree with the refs decision, but its one of those ones that can happen if you go flying in with your foot raised at head height when another player is chesting the ball.[/quote]
No need for the name calling buddy. I suppose I am really. What I meant to say is that I think anyone who has ever played soccer to a reasonable level would not have thought to themselves on seeing that incident live “that’s a straight red offence” but within the letter of the law then the ref was entitled to send him off. So yes it is a contradiction but most people including yourself would agree that it wasn’t a red card offence.

I dont agree that it wasnt a red card offence. I said it was harsh. I wouldnt have given one, but it doesnt mean it wasnt a red card offence, which it clearly is, as you have said also by the letter of the law.

I was just talking to a lad in the office there and I’ve completely changed my mind. It wasn’t even a harsh red card and the ref had no option but to send the Michael Jackson wannabe diving cunt off.

http://www.101greatgoals.com/wp-content/gallery/gimages/beohnbuceaaf_re.jpg

[quote=“Horsebox, post: 744935, member: 1537”]Not at all-I just lose more and more interest in soccer when I see what a game for very soft feminine men it has become. Feigning injury is now the norm and tackling hard for the ball is being outlawed. This incident doesn’t really fall under either category as Nani did connect with the Arbeloa(although he overdid the rolling around but that is now accepted as part of the game by everyone including FIFA) and neither was it a hard tackle as Nani was merely trying to control the ball. But if you genuinely thought that was a straight red, as in the minute you saw the incident you thought to yourself that’s a red card then I would have to wonder have you ever really played a proper 11 a side match before.

Of course if you are just ball hopping and winding up the United lads then I 100% agree with you it was a red card and Nani should be up in court on attempted murder charges.[/quote]

did nani commit a foul that could be construed as being a red card offence?

Nani going down afterwards made the refs mind up… we all know he has history…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0XpEoCvW2Wo

Please see above-I have backtracked 100% and Nani should be done for GBH.

Widely respected former referee Graham Poll has said today that Cakir had a ‘superb game’, Rafael should have been sent off as well, and Rio Ferdinand should be banned for his disgusting outburst at the end of the game.

Well thats that sorted then. I can’t see there being any need for further discussion on this.

Well done Real and well done Jose, you beautiful beautiful man.

fair play horsebox. it takes a big man to admit they were wrong

Can one of you techy nerds lash up a GIF of fergie running around like Benny Hill trying to rile the crowd up after the sending off please!

that van persie cunt cost utd their qualifications

some amount of sitters he missed

has he ever played well on the big stage - dont think so

he is muck

[quote=“FingalRaven, post: 744990, member: 80”]that van persie cunt cost utd their qualifications

he is muck[/quote]

Think he only scored once at the 2010 WC as well and that was in a deadrubber v Cameroon

he was beyond abysmal in the euros too

[quote=“FingalRaven, post: 744990, member: 80”]that van persie cunt cost utd their qualifications

he is muck[/quote]
I predict he’ll pick up an injury in his next game and hide for the rest of the season.