Tomorrow could really be make or break day and the first race will probably decide it. Its been a great week for the Irish so far and with no runner in the Gold Cup tomorrow you’d have to think most Irish attention will have to focus on the first race on the card, the Triumph Hurdle.
Andrew McNamara has said that Jumbo Rio is his best chance of a winner at the festival. But must Irish eyes will probably focus on the horse known as “Rita’s little grey” - Ebadiyan. Trained by known mad man and Monaghan native Oliver Brady. Brady hasn’t been afraid to talk up this horse and has publicly said he’s laid into it Ante Post.
The sight of Oliver Brady taking over the winners enclosure is something every Irish racing fan would love to see. The man is a live example of how to defy doctors orders by just getting on with your life and living every day as if its your last. Brady is on 27 tablets a day and his doctors have increased his dosage to 29 a day in the lead up to Cheltenham. While Ebadiyan may not be the classiest horse in the race, you can be sure not a single person in the Cotswolds would begrudge the Irish this victory.
Apparently Voy Pol was never going to win according to the contingent down home. Soemthing about a virus in the yard and the horse not being up for racing at all. According to the learned country folk it was a mugs bet and they all had the winner.
I shoudl never have left home.
Muldoons are the smartest.
[quote=“Garda Sean Horgan”]Apparently Voy Pol was never going to win according to the contingent down home. Soemthing about a virus in the yard and the horse not being up for racing at all. According to the learned country folk it was a mugs bet and they all had the winner.
I shoudl never have left home.
Muldoons are the smartest.
Yours in regrets,
GSH.[/quote]
Alan Kings horses have nabbed a good few places this week. Bad mistake finished Voy Por nothing more imo. Wasnt impressed by the winner.
Kasbah Bliss i dont know what happened. Wasnt good enough anyway and found nothing up the hill whereas last year he flew up against Inglis Drever. Dont think Barry Geraghty will get too many plaudits for that ride either on Punchestowns
Kasbah Bliss i dont know what happened. Wasnt good enough anyway and found nothing up the hill whereas last year he flew up against Inglis Drever. [/quote]
His trainer came out and said he did nothing wrong, was just beaten by better horses…
Yeah I heard that but he completely bolted home at Haydock last time out. Last year he flew up the hill but this year he collapsed. I just think something was amiss. There was a fair pace in the World Hurdle last year if I remember correctly.
I’m off to Berlin tomorrow morning but here are my selections none the less.
1.30 Ebadiyan 7/1 Lethal Weapon ew 16/1
2.05 Cockney Trucker 9/1 Silver Jaro ew 25/1
2.40 Pride of Dulcote 3/1 The Midnight Club ew 16/1
3.20 Denman 6/1 (There, I said it!)
4.00 Murphy’s Cardinal 16/1
4.40 Big Eared Fran (Could it be anything else) 9/2 Presenting Copper 16/1
5.15 Clew Bay Cove 10/1
[quote=“Julio Geordio”]I’ve spent the evening knocking round different sites looking at stats and such. This is what my line up is looking like at the minute very open to change and I doubt I’ll back them all depending on results early on
1.30 Isn’t that lucky, Kia kaha
2.05 Synchronised
2.40 Gwanko e/w
3.20 Powerstation e/w
4.00 Oslot e/w
4.30 not gotten round to it yet
Might have a double on the two big boys aswell
Thoughts lads???[/quote]
Bad day at the office Gasbag and Very Pour Jumperes nearly had me eating beans and toast this evening. Had two placed in the last to break me even so not three bad.
Felt like I was after winning big after the last such was my depression all day. Oh the joys of gambling
Day four at Cheltenham and my big fancy is for Jumbo Rio in the triumph. As i said before i think he has a very good chance and i backed him at 14/1 ante-post last week. That price is no longer available but he’s still available at 12/1 in places i believe.
Other than that i’ll do an EW Lucky15 on:
Jumbo Rio
Exotic Dancer
Sesenta
Alpha Ridge
And finally, for the craic i’ll do Miko De Beauchene EW at 150/1 for the Gold Cup.
1:30 Jumbo Rio e/w, will probably stick a small few quid on Edibayian as well for the craic
2:05 Dave’s Dream is probably about 12lbs better off here than he should be so prvided he comes back fresh from his race last Saturday he should be hard to beat. Cockney Trucker will probably give him most to do.
2:45 Browns Bailey e/w - think this is a great value bet at 18’s
3:20 Still in a pickle with this one. Barber Shop seems like a good option at 12/1 but will find hard to back against a horse of Kautos proven ability.
Will decide nearer the race
4:00 Juvignuer is being well backed for this, and Eugene O’Sullivan will have him right for it, but I’m going to go for an old fav of mine Royal Auclair.
4:40 Cunt of a race, but for my accum I’ve just gone with the fav Big Eared Fran.
5:15 Tiger Cry, carrying a few lbs more than last year but should be there or there abouts at the finish.
[quote=“The Runt”]I see John Duggan on Today FM has given Roll Along @ 66/1 in the Gold Cup as his NAP of the day.
Did anybody hear his reasoning behind this?[/quote]
He said there’s always one big priced horse gets placed in the Gold Cup each year running on. His reasoning was that Roll Along was second in the Foxhunters last year and he’s finally getting his ground today.
Also had €10 e/w on Lethal Weapon in the first at 14s.i like this yoke and reckon it could win,im going for two bets in the GOld Cup,Denman €20 win at 6/1 and €20 Kauto Star to win by 4 or more lengths at 5/1.Having a small go e/w on J Keilys On The Way Out at 22/1 in the A Bartlett Hurdle.
Have a half day so going to the pub,may have a few other bets while im at it,i need a few to come in today,one of those accums would do me fine.
Also had 10 e/w on Lethal Weapon in the first at 14s.i like this yoke and reckon it could win,im going for two bets in the GOld Cup,Denman 20 win at 6/1 and 20 Kauto Star to win by 4 or more lengths at 5/1.Having a small go e/w on J Keilys On The Way Out at 22/1 in the A Bartlett Hurdle.
Have a half day so going to the pub,may have a few other bets while im at it,i need a few to come in today,one of those accums would do me fine.[/quote]
Good stuff Link. Would love to be hitting the pub now but a serious days boozing planned for tomorrow so will hold tough till then.
That Lethal Weapon has a very live chance alright, has come on for every run this year and should be nicely primed for the race.
A couple of other bets I stuck on last night in my small stake/high reward strategy!
2 e/w Double
Sesenta @ 25/1
Browns Bailey @ 14/1
2 e/w Treble
Walkon @ 9/2 (GP)
Big Eared Fran @ 5/1 (GP)
Cockney Trucker @ 17/2