Christmas Stuffing

[quote=“north county corncrake”]yeah its a wedding im going to

didnt hear that about the dancing before though[/quote]
If you don’t fancy staying under the former Lord Leitrim’s roof, a publican friend of mine in town does a B+B job and could sort you out. I have a taxi buddy operating in that area also if required.

cheers
its the sister wedding so will probably stay in the hotel

whats the name ofthe pub- might pop down for a scoop

ill have to read up on lord leitrim as well now

You will be singularly unimpressed by his life and times. My great grandfather struck him with a bullwhip around 1905 when he interfered with the building of a rural church and paid the price - evicted.
On the porter issue, Jim O’Brien runs a nice little shop in Glebe St. Philomena (Phil) and himself are the salts of the earth.

cheers

ill speak to you closer to the time of the wedding

NCC,

Don’t darken O’Briens door. It’s a kip.

Lough Rynn is a pretentious hole run by Roscommon idiots.

The sister wanted to book a room there for a mate last Christmas and we were told to come back tne next day as there was a ‘high class wedding going on’.

Hated by the locals the place is. Was talking to a Dublin based person going to a wedding there over this Christmas. Apparently they upped the charge on the ballroom or whatever as it is used by the locals late on.

Is it fuck.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]
The sister wanted to book a room there for a mate last Christmas and we were told to come back the next day as there was a ‘high class wedding going on’.[/quote]

Were you dressed like a pikey?

Probably would have been let in had I been.

Ha ha. That’s gas.

So how did it work exactly? Just a boiled onion on your plate and your ma called it stuffing?

Did it ever dawn on ye that this stuffing looked very much like an onion?

any pubs you would reccommend farmer?

Carrolls NCC.

[quote=“farmerinthecity”]Ha ha. That’s gas.

So how did it work exactly? Just a boiled onion on your plate and your ma called it stuffing?

Did it ever dawn on ye that this stuffing looked very much like an onion?[/quote]

It would be sliced onions. Just fried or whatever. And it would be in with the turkey and the potatoes. I didn’t eat onions but I took an odd bit of “stuffing” at Christmas and will do so again. Never really considered what stuffing was.

I’ve a newfound respect for ncc

That’s like someone in my family who blatantly refused to eat ‘Shepherd’s Pie’ but was a firm advocate of ‘Mince and Potato Mash’.

You clown.

[quote=“tipptops*”]How many sisters do you have Bandage?

Which one is the gamey one?

And is She going to the TFK Christmas party?[/quote]

bump.

[quote=“SHANNONSIDER**”]Don’t you just hate the way those evil Protestants think they’re better than us by handing out their Christmas presents a day early, and having their dinner in the evening unlike the way you’re supposed to do it (ie in the middle of the day).

The brother is marrying one of them next year, God knows what stuff he’ll be made to do. If he comes back home and starts using words like ‘Father Christmas’ and ‘Boxing Day’ he’ll no longer be my brother.[/quote]

yeah they don’t have their Christmas dinner until around 7 in the evening. Odd. My mother always has it for around 2 or 3.

the plus is that we can spend time at both places without having to choose one over the other. less rows.

[quote=“Boxtyeater”]You will be singularly unimpressed by his life and times. My great grandfather struck him with a bullwhip around 1905 when he interfered with the building of a rural church and paid the price - evicted.
On the porter issue, Jim O’Brien runs a nice little shop in Glebe St. Philomena (Phil) and himself are the salts of the earth.[/quote]

Boxty

Your great grandfather seems like he was a sound man.

WBU

Quote:
Originally Posted by therock67
Married now so no idea what I’m doing this Christmas. Should probably broach the topic with Mrs Rock first so hopefully she’ll be reading this and let me know what our plans are.

Never been anywhere other than at home. Strangely (I presume) I don’t think I’ve ever been drunk on Christmas day. Don’t usually have more than a can.

Dinner will be middling at best. Mother isn’t the best cook to ever grace the earth and she’ll no doubt leave us short on something or the potatoes will be about a half hour short of optimum cooking time and we’ll struggle through them. Stuffing will consist of onions that have acquired the label stuffing in our house for some reason. Never saw real stuffing until I had a Christmas lunch in work one day. We just have onions that are called stuffing on Christmas day.

[quote=“W.B. Yeats”]Well Rock- first married Christmas for me as well.
My folks are heading off to the States for Christmas so its down to Mrs place for me. This was decided a long time ago, Christmas is one of those things that could cause trouble in the future, she loves it as well as going home to her house for it. Why I don’t know, she seems to do loads of work for her mother while the lazy sisters sit down with their hands out for more Roses or Tayto.
I can take or leave Christmas, although now that I think about it I think we are going to Mrs’ brother’s house because there is no room for us in the homeplace.
Anyway I’m only looking forward to the 27th when its off to France skiing and to see my sister and her family for us!

WBY[/quote]

Well boys, clearly ye’re Best Men didn’t fulfill all their duties when they didn’t tell ye the First Mr & Mrs Christmas obligations.

You are required to have both sets of inlaws over; from the 24th to the 27th inclusive. You must use all 17 sets of glasses, the 22 bed linen changes, the 8 4-piece place settings and the 82 different sets of napkin rings before you are allowed ring out for a pizza and dump the turkey carcass.

You must try both M-I-L’s gravy recipe, and like it. You must eat one’s Christmas Cake and the other’s Pud. You must accept her father’s shitty tips and tell your da that the shelves in the bathroom don’t need to go up until Easter.

No way are either of you getting out of it.

Our V’s Christmas Filling

I use a Giant “Grumpy” Mug.

One mug of Dried Cranberries
One mug of Sultana
Half mug of Raisins

1/4 lb of butter (real stuff)
hefty pouring of brown sugar
dessert spoon of mixed spice
tea spoon of cinnamon
1/2 tea spoon of nutmeg

Red wine, you can use the cheap shite from Tescos

Empty dried fruits into a good sized pot and cover with wine; and leave until the fruit has guzzeled up the plonk and is nice an plump again. Or you could could leave it over night like I do.

Tip butter and spices in and put on a mid heat and stir for a few min’s to get the fruit coated in the butter. Lower the heat, put a lid on the pot and leave for about 30 mins. Stir occasionaly.

This stuff lasts for days.

To go all out lads, and earn some serious booty points: follow it up with this:

Get 2 pks of frozen shortcrust pastry and one swissroll tin.
Leave the pastry out all day to get to room tem, and when you get in from work, roll out one pack, use the wine bottle, and cover the base of the tin, grease it first with butter tho’. Tip some of your mince meat over it, and smooth it evenly. It doesn’t work like self levelling concrete so you’ll need to encourage it. Roll out the other pack of pastry and cover your meat

Cook in mid heat for 25 mins. leave to cool and sprinkle with icing sugar if you’re posh or a newly-wed, or if you’re like me, use the nicked the vanilla sugar from Starbucks.

Cut into any effin’ shape you like.

Its no harm to have some flour about when you’re at pastry roll out stage.

Total wash up = one pot, one wooden spoon and one baking tin. (Bottle goes into recycle bin)

Dinner is these parts will be prepped Christmas Eve night ie everything in saucepans ready to go Christmas morning … then Christmas morning mother will get up and turn on turkey, we’ll all head to mass and back home to swap presents… then the females among us will hit the kitchen to get the dinner in order
starters are usually : Prawn Cocktail, Corn on Cob or Melon
Turkey, Ham , Stuffing, Mash, Croquettes, Sprouts, Cauliflower, cant remember the other veg
For Desserts : Pavalova with Fresh Cream, Pudding, Cake

Drinks wise: we usually take Christmas day very hadny a beer or two perhaps… as often recovering from Christmas eve in the local and preparing for stephens night

nlgggth , dunno how you could drink in ross in stephens night… i did once i think a few christmass ago… never again… for me ill prob head towards Wexford town as early as possibly and start the boozin head on in the girls house