This year is expected to be a food and drink festival with 12 expected; a party that includes two very shallow sisters (one with a loser husband, although I don’t expect him to be much of a party piece.) I suspect the bitching will start as presents are exchanged and one sister will blurt that she has one already and its better.
But I’m unlikely to respond, I usually start with a glass or three of bubbly around the midday.
Anyway my fare usually consists of a smoked salmon, feta cheese and roasted pepper starter. Turkey crown, rolled in sheets of maple cured ham; cornbread stuffing with cranberries, roasters, red cabbage, carrots and the best gravy in the world. Homemade pud and “Bannani” for afters.
But by then my very bitchy mother will have reminded me for the 5th time that I don’t enough matching table ware, and I’m cosily pissed, so its usually coffee with armaretto for me.
I usually head up to my sister’s, she has 2 boys and it’s easier to goto her’s that her goto my parents. She normally does a great dinner, the ladies sit back and drink wine/tea/gin/bailey’s after the dinner and the men do all the cleaning up.
Usually don’t have any fights or arguements, we are normally too drunk to realise that there’s any hassle. This year will proberly be my last Christmas with my family, getting married next year and the plan is to have Christmas day in South America next year, I think we’ll start our own traditions the year after that.
Jesus I can’t wait. I fookin love christmas dinner.
The one and only time I made it myself was in Melbourne 2005. 9 of us spent about $600 on food and drink.
Started in the morning with a swim off St. Kilda Pier followed by a bottle of Passion Pop. Came back and had barbequed prawns on homemade brown bread (the mother’s receipe).
Went the whole hog with Turkey, ham, mashed spuds, roast spuds and all the rest of the trimmings for dinner. It’s not a good idea to drink solid all day while you’re trying to prepare a feast i’ll let you know.
Had a couple of homeless lads, that we got to know, over for their first proper Christmas Dinner in years.
The family at home decided to ring and put me on speaker phone after their own dinner back home. Probably the worst decision they ever made
Married now so no idea what I’m doing this Christmas. Should probably broach the topic with Mrs Rock first so hopefully she’ll be reading this and let me know what our plans are.
Never been anywhere other than at home. Strangely (I presume) I don’t think I’ve ever been drunk on Christmas day. Don’t usually have more than a can.
Dinner will be middling at best. Mother isn’t the best cook to ever grace the earth and she’ll no doubt leave us short on something or the potatoes will be about a half hour short of optimum cooking time and we’ll struggle through them. Stuffing will consist of onions that have acquired the label stuffing in our house for some reason. Never saw real stuffing until I had a Christmas lunch in work one day. We just have onions that are called stuffing on Christmas day.
[quote=“therock67”]Married now so no idea what I’m doing this Christmas. Should probably broach the topic with Mrs Rock first so hopefully she’ll be reading this and let me know what our plans are.
Never been anywhere other than at home. Strangely (I presume) I don’t think I’ve ever been drunk on Christmas day. Don’t usually have more than a can.
Dinner will be middling at best. Mother isn’t the best cook to ever grace the earth and she’ll no doubt leave us short on something or the potatoes will be about a half hour short of optimum cooking time and we’ll struggle through them. Stuffing will consist of onions that have acquired the label stuffing in our house for some reason. Never saw real stuffing until I had a Christmas lunch in work one day. We just have onions that are called stuffing on Christmas day.[/quote]
Well Rock- first married Christmas for me as well.
My folks are heading off to the States for Christmas so its down to Mrs place for me. This was decided a long time ago, Christmas is one of those things that could cause trouble in the future, she loves it as well as going home to her house for it. Why I don’t know, she seems to do loads of work for her mother while the lazy sisters sit down with their hands out for more Roses or Tayto.
I can take or leave Christmas, although now that I think about it I think we are going to Mrs’ brother’s house because there is no room for us in the homeplace.
Anyway I’m only looking forward to the 27th when its off to France skiing and to see my sister and her family for us!
I’ve spent every Christmas in New Ross despite having left the family home in 1991. Since getting married we spend Christmas Eve with her family in Kilkenny and sort out presents then. They hand them out on the Eve as they’re protestants. We leave at around 1.00pm Christmas Day for New Ross and have the dinner there. Usually spent Stephen’s Night there too and go on the lash.
We’ll have to sort our own traditions at some stage - especially with the kids - but not this year anyway.
Family Bandage is due to go en masse to my older sister’s in Wexford this Christmas. It’s the first Yuletide for her, her husband and son in their new gaff so they’re anxious to do Christmas there but she’s invited the rest of the siblings and the auld pair over. Ma Bandage will probably rock on over to their place early to help with the cooking and stuff and to ensure the dinner is edible. It should be a jolly good day but my own plans may change if I fall in love with a Breda from Birr after a chance encounter in Copper’s between now and Christmas.
[quote=“nlgbbbblth”]I’ve spent every Christmas in New Ross despite having left the family home in 1991. Since getting married we spend Christmas Eve with her family in Kilkenny and sort out presents then. They hand them out on the Eve as they’re protestants. We leave at around 1.00pm Christmas Day for New Ross and have the dinner there. Usually spent Stephen’s Night there too and go on the lash.
We’ll have to sort our own traditions at some stage - especially with the kids - but not this year anyway.[/quote]
Don’t you just hate the way those evil Protestants think they’re better than us by handing out their Christmas presents a day early, and having their dinner in the evening unlike the way you’re supposed to do it (ie in the middle of the day).
The brother is marrying one of them next year, God knows what stuff he’ll be made to do. If he comes back home and starts using words like ‘Father Christmas’ and ‘Boxing Day’ he’ll no longer be my brother.
had one christmas in brisbane- it was in a youth hostel full of english backpackers - i got wasted on that wine that comes in the box with croppy - had a blackout - woke up to a frosty reception & was told I ruined christmas for all the english guests in the hostel:p
Boxtyeater is now too long settled into old habits to change although the numbers attending are rising annualy.This year the adults number 11 and un-confirmed others who may yet attend.
2 cars required for Mass, enabling the male attendees imbibe a few creamy ones pre lunch. Mrs.B (an excellent cook) will assume captaincy at this stage, assisted by the female contingent, while Junior B is organising a keg Of Heineken for evening proceedings (Friendly publicans here).
Grub kicks off around 3 bells, the usual turkey,ham,pud fare finished off with French brandies/Irish coffees.The eating of at least 3 sprouts is however mandatory.
Boxtyeater will then set off with grandchildren for some bracing air and upon return, with them exhausted, will find the gaff in tip-top order.
Guys(5)now join battle in the poker stakes 50 per head with a max time of 2 hours or winner takes all.With 3 accomplished musicians on hand the evening then degenerates into a raucous sing-song culminating as ever around 12 bells with my demand for “that feckin’Roxy music CD” (over-ruled last year)now that I recall.
Proceedings tend to wrap-up around the 2 mark as “mummer”, or as you say wren-boy, duties beckon the next day.
Enjoy your day folks and remember the best Xmas gift is the health to get to the next one.
[quote=“Boxtyeater”]Boxtyeater is now too long settled into old habits to change although the numbers attending are rising annualy.This year the adults number 11 and un-confirmed others who may yet attend.
2 cars required for Mass, enabling the male attendees imbibe a few creamy ones pre lunch. Mrs.B (an excellent cook) will assume captaincy at this stage, assisted by the female contingent, while Junior B is organising a keg Of Heineken for evening proceedings (Friendly publicans here).
Grub kicks off around 3 bells, the usual turkey,ham,pud fare finished off with French brandies/Irish coffees.The eating of at least 3 sprouts is however mandatory.
Boxtyeater will then set off with grandchildren for some bracing air and upon return, with them exhausted, will find the gaff in tip-top order.
Guys(5)now join battle in the poker stakes 50 per head with a max time of 2 hours or winner takes all.With 3 accomplished musicians on hand the evening then degenerates into a raucous sing-song culminating as ever around 12 bells with my demand for “that feckin’Roxy music CD” (over-ruled last year)now that I recall.
Proceedings tend to wrap-up around the 2 mark as “mummer”, or as you say wren-boy, duties beckon the next day.
Enjoy your day folks and remember the best Xmas gift is the health to get to the next one.[/quote]
rent boy duties? arent you a little old for that sort of stuff?
[quote=“north county corncrake”]rent boy duties? arent you a little old for that sort of stuff?[/quote]
Scallywag!!!Thought that was more prevalent in your manor.
About 3 miles outside Mohill in the old Clements(Lord bastardin Leitrim) estate. Very rural setting, fine lake with a lot of woodland and some very large houses within the entire development. The Hanly group are the owners and prices are at the very upper end of the scale, for Leitrim at any rate.
Mrs.B and I indulged in 2 standard coffees with 2 miserable biccies there last year for a mere 8.60.
Decor however looks great and it certainly exudes quality.
On a lighter note, a local muldoon,(great word) unfazed by tales of pints of porter at 4.50 visited by tractor one day to be abruptly rebuffed at the entrance by a young and fit Obama type guy.
As he gently quaffed one in the local (3.80) he was heard to ruminate " for a buck from Africa he could light a cock of hay with fucks".
Nice spot but remains pricey.
[quote=“Boxtyeater”]About 3 miles outside Mohill in the old Clements(Lord bastardin Leitrim) estate. Very rural setting, fine lake with a lot of woodland and some very large houses within the entire development. The Hanly group are the owners and prices are at the very upper end of the scale, for Leitrim at any rate.
Mrs.B and I indulged in 2 standard coffees with 2 miserable biccies there last year for a mere 8.60.
Decor however looks great and it certainly exudes quality.
On a lighter note, a local muldoon,(great word) unfazed by tales of pints of porter at 4.50 visited by tractor one day to be abruptly rebuffed at the entrance by a young and fit Obama type guy.
As he gently quaffed one in the local (3.80) he was heard to ruminate " for a buck from Africa he could light a cock of hay with fucks".
Nice spot but remains pricey.[/quote]
Boxty/NCC
I was unimpressed with Lough Rynn myself when I was there. Myself and the missus checked it out for potential as a wedding venue. I was very perturbed when they said that you couldn’t have dancing because the wood floors were original and they didn’t want them damaged. They then had the gall to suggest we could have a Jazz quartet instead of a band. For fucks sake, this would be the height of pretension in Dublin but for south Leitrim it certainly bate Banagher. That’s before we ever got near the cost of the affair.
I heard the Hanlys are well exposed to the property and leisure sectors, they have that Kilronan place in Ballyfarnon and were in court recently trying to sort something out re Kinnity in Offaly. Property and expensive hotels not in tourism hotspots are two things I wouldn’t like to be involved with in current economic circumstances.
[quote=“north county corncrake”]yeah its a wedding im going to
didnt hear that about the dancing before though[/quote]
NCC
They were due to open some modern function room after we were getting married so that might be in operation now.
The other reservation that I had about the place was that it was the home to that fucker lord Leitrim. He was a great man by all accounts for exercising primae noctis. They eventually got their man and killed him up near Milford in Donegal. I didn’t want to have anything to do with my wedding associated with the evil bastard.