Well put Sid.
They were promoting it a fair bit on the big screens yesterday-using GAA players SeĂĄn Cavanagh, Marc Ă SĂ© and PJ Ryan as their guinea pigs.
McKenna just on Morning Ireland about this.
When it was put to him that there is never any trouble with pitch invasions in in the past, he said that wasnât true. There are numerous instances apparently.
It was then suggested that he was afraid people would sue - to which there was a pause and then a ânot at all. This isnât about moneyâ.
Fences though - Christ they are a death trap.
heard yer man the stadium manager waffling on about it this morning on Newstalk. The excuse is now that it is to prevent over crowding outside the stadium on Jones Road. So first we had it damages the pitch, then it was players saftey, then supporter saftey and now it is overcrowding outside the stadium.
What a crock of shit this is? Installing barriers at the hill end is a nonsense, as most pitch invasions come from the stands. If the GAA dickheads incharge could take their heads out of their arse they could solve this simply by delaying people onto the pitch for 5 mintues to allow players and officials either leave pitch or gather at the tunnel and for stewards to put up a barrier around the tunnel and steps to the presentation stand, this way then everyone is safe, the fans can celebrate on the pitch. Just shows the small minded thinking that is prevalent through out the country, not only in government but in most organisations. Gombeenism is alive and kicking unfortunately.
This is what you get with a cunt like Cooney in office. The man is a gombeen of the highest order and a scourge on GAA. We could expect no better though given his previous in and outside the GAA.
Iâve stated on here before that Iâve never really bought into the running onto the pitch thing, but I abhor the thought of putting fences up. It just highlights the backwardness of the GAA and is grist to the mill for people like NCC who have truck with the GAA, and we canât argue otherwise.
Agreed. Cooney is a career GAA Administrator, i really dislike the majority of them.
Will they need planning permission for this?
In fairness, Sean Cavanagh is on record as being against pitch invasions. He mentioned being dehydrated at the end of matches and being dragged out of by packs of muldoons.
Itâs an adrenalin crash
Colm Cooper is another who has been struck by invading fans, I believe they were of a Tyrone vintage.
This must be where the rift with Mickey Harte comes from so because Harte is firmly in favour of fans celebrating on the pitch.
Wouldnât be the first time they have had differing views on things.
Cooper has no problems with dehydration like Cavanagh though because he drinks Lucozade Sport, which means he is particularly strong in the last 10 minutes.
Club Energise badly exposed here.
Not sure what dehydration has to do with rioting fans?
IS this fella brown?
Sid why donât you send the above to McKenna and the other top brass gimps at HQ. Just see what type of response you get?
Has any facebook groups been set up yet I wonder?
whats the thrill from running onto the pitch?
Nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom
The GAA really taking up the ass from Eddie Brennan here. Brennan
http://www.irishexaminer.ie/sport/gaa/brennan-reveals-croker-fencing-fears-128054.html#ixzz0wqzA8VtB
Brennan reveals Croker fencing fears
By Fintan OâToole
Tuesday, August 17, 2010
KILKENNY attacker Eddie Brennan believes GAA chiefs are wrong to install barriers at the Hill 16 end of Croke Park and predicts that the extreme measure will create further headaches for the authorities.
Brennan, who works as a Garda in Portlaoise, also criticised the conduct of some security personnel in the aftermath of last Septemberâs All-Ireland hurling final between Kilkenny and Tipperary, and reckons that it will be difficult to keep celebrating fans off the pitch when the counties clash in this yearâs decider in three weeks.
"I think itâs the wrong move by the GAA and a bit extreme. The last thing you want to see is people getting hurt and I appreciate where the GAA are coming from.
"But Iâd be very sceptical about putting barriers up as I think itâs going to cause more problems.
âI know for a fact last year there were security lads there and they went above their station in some of the things they done to supporters. Itâs a thorny issue and I donât know what the solution is. But if you have a problem, you donât try to make it worse, maybe facilitate it in an organised fashion. If Tipp win in three weeksâ time, you try keeping the Tipp supporters off that pitch and likewise the Kilkenny supporters if they win. Common sense has to prevail.â
Brennan is in favour of celebrating with fans after All-Ireland finals. âItâs part of the history. Weâve seen it over the years in black and white photos and lads being carried off the field. The few minutes afterwards when the supporters come in is carnage but itâs just such a rush of adrenaline. I know myself as a young fella I went up there in â92 and â93 and part of the craic was getting out on the pitch.â
Tipperaryâs Lar Corbett concurs with Brennanâs view that post-match celebrations on the pitch are enjoyable but believes it is not an ideal scenario for a defeated team.
âIt is great when you win but when you lose though, itâs very hard to deal with them couple of minutes afterwards. Youâre just waiting to get into the dressing room and forget about the whole lot. We got the cup on the field in 2001 and we actually did a lap of honour after. I still think that the best place to get it is in the stand looking down at your own supporters. But I have never got any hassle after losing matches. Thatâs one thing about GAA supporters, no matter where youâre from, thereâs no malice and I think thatâs across the board in all counties.â
Former Kilkenny legend DJ Carey has also criticised the plan to put up fencing. âI was one last year who would have been calling to have the crowd out on the field. I still am. But if it is that serious a thing, and if the GAA are absolutely that intent, give it one more go, no fences, no nothing and let the crowd adhere to it. If the crowd adhere to it, we donât need any of that fencing. I thought it was something that was just spectacular, win or lose. I was never hassled or anything after an All-Ireland final or any match. It is a celebration for the winning team. I think it is nearly more of a blow to be in the middle of the field with nobody else on it,â he said at the launch of a Guinness competition for fans to travel to Croke Park by helicopter.