[quote=“ciarancareyshurlingarmy, post: 505899”]
Rice bothers me in the HF line, all other KK forwards (including the cover) can switch FF/HF lines and he cant. He does not fit in.
Shefflin will go corner on Tipp’s rawest player.
Fully agree on the solidity that comes from Hickey at 3 and Delaney at 7 this year.
Is John Dalton the target for Tipp?
Where will Tipp play Patrick Maher? He seems to be a hard-working half-forward but where is his place again if they put McGrath at 11?
[/quote]Patrick Maher needs to trim those sideburns!
no one took any frees in that training match. I was laughing at some lads behind me at it and they saying about how Shefflin couldnt even take a free, and some lad says what fooking free did he not take, there hasnt been one. people getting worried over nothing.
Who’s actually refereeing this game, lads? The officiating will be crucial, especially if the referee decides to penalise Kilkenny for the neck high sprawling tackle which they pioneered and have been getting away with for the last number of years. I hope Tipperary get some fair play this year after the debaclé last year topped off by the ridiculous penalty award that cost them the title they so richly deserved.
Micky Wadding is the ref. Micky would have been a tough corner back in his day and that would be reflected in his reffing but he’d be no great admirer of Kilkenny.
waddings natural instinct is to let the game flow & this may suit KK as they play the game very very close to the edge but he is a stickler when it comes to backchat from players- that irritates him greatly by all accounts
Agh ya oul bitter Wexford bollix, could you not shout for your fellow Leinster men?
No problem with Wadding reffing it, the only problem is he’s married to a Tipp woman
Just on a point on Cha Fitzpatrick that I think Kevin made; I don’t think he’ll have any problem with Tipp’s running power in midfield primarily because I imagine he won’t even try to get up and down the park with Shane McGrath. I expect he’ll play his normal game between his own half back line and midfield snaffling up ball and spraying it around. I’m looking forward to seeing how the midfield battle plays out though given McGrath powered into the game when moved back there against Galway and had a great semi-final, Brendan Maher’s been exceptional all year and Fennelly was utterly dominant against Cork and impressive in the other games too.
If Tipp do get on top in midfield, Kilkenny will have the option of bring either Rice back here(if he starts in the half forwards) or Lyng…If Kilkenny get on top Tipp don’t exactly have too many options here, Young looked well off the pace at midfield v Galway while you would wonder about Hennessey’s mobility for midfield at this level…Tipp will badly need to get on top here
Not just saying this because i’m from Cork, and we are not within an arses roar of winning a hurling, but i’d swap 2 or 3 hurling All-Irelands for a football one now. I think most dual Cork people would.
I admire these 2 hurling teams greatly, KK for what they have achieved and literally having demoralised most other hurling teams. I admire Tipp for the way they have approached this year, and for the young hurlers they have coming through. I actually think Tipp will have a better squad than KK ever had, only Tipp don’t have (traditionally) the staying power or determination to anything like KK have, but they could concievably win 4 or 5, only it will take they 6-7 years.
I have been away for most of the build up, which in making a stab at predicting means i go on most recent form, and not all the bull shit that leads up to an All-Ireland. Tipps quitness, their full squad, their tougher last 2 games, their experience from last year, their older and better team, KK’s disrupted build up, Tipp not fearing KK, all makes me think they’ll do it, by 3-4 points.
I’m over to the other thread to balance up some of those ridiculous scorelines the wexford lads have been posting. Their KK loving is quite disappointing to see.