Cill Chainnigh v Tiobraid Árann - 2010 All Ireland Hurling Final

I had very shite Upper Hogan tickets up to Yesterday when the Wife won a pair of Premium Hogan tickets in the centre of the pitch along with €500 and 2 nights in the Croke Park HOtel,im happy eneogh with all this,all we’ve to do now is win.

blank the game- use the money towards a decent holiday

Kev, I have indeed noted your unusual (from a neutral) interest in Tipp’s '06/‘07 minors on previous threads. Win or lose on Sunday, there may be a cull of older panel players in favour of the likes of Carey, John O’ Neill, Bubbles Dwyer, James Barry etc. with Mikey Heffernan, Boogie O’Meara, Hennessey etc also getting more game time, in the NHL anyway. We do indeed lack a certain mental fortitude to put AI titles back to back, and win what we are talented enough to win, eg. '1963, 1968, 1990, 1992,93 and 2002. An All Ireland seems to sate our appetite, unlike the current Kilkenny outfit or indeed Cork 1999-2005. Time will tell with this current crop, I would like to see English be involved again at some stage, Declan Ryan and Tommy Dunne also, though I know you doubt the latter. We had talented (but possibly mis-managed) minors for the past 2 years, and will have a serious team next year. As for Noel McGrath’s brother John and cousin Liam… bring 'em on.

[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 505919”]I’m over to the other thread to balance up some of those ridiculous scorelines the wexford lads have been posting. Their KK loving is quite disappointing to see. :smiley:
And your Tipp love in has continued all year :rolleyes:

Why does this kk team not capture the imaginationof the wider public the way the great Kerry football team of the early 80s did. That team was very much Team Ireland unless you happened to be from Cork Dublin Offaly or Roscommon. Spillane was on Superstars against Kevin Keegan, Jacko, the Bomber and Mikey Sheehy were national heroes. There is none of that with Kulkenny. Henry Shefflin might as well be a shop assistant in Shaws for all the profile he had.

The kk lads will make a virtue out of the fact that the lads are sjo good at shunning the limelight but it surely can’t be good for the game that any member of theist successful team in the history of the game could walk into at Gaa club in Ireland outside of kk to present medals and have to be introduced to the crowd before anyone would have a clue who they were.

It’s cos they’re very, very boring individuals, Fagan.

Pity Bandage. The Gaa is missing a huge trick with them. Surely one of them must have a bit of a personality

Eddie Brennan seems an alright sort.

They could get Tommy Walsh to go around doing impressions.

I get the impression Kilkenny care about Kilkenny and that those lads put in huge work down there going around the coaching camps, etc. They promote it in their own backyard, and are decent enough to head out to other county’s went asked also. Maybe Croke Park could be doing more, but from my gathering Kilkenny GAA aren’t missing much tricks with them.

Runt - Tommys impressions are indeed hilarious.

MBB. The game hardly needs any more promotion in Kilkenny.

I think it could also be because only 5 or so counties, including Kilkenny, have an interest in hurling and 2 or 3 of the others would regard themselves as keen rivals of Kilkenny and would be too proud to admit to needing their players and administrators to help promote the game. That means the Kilkenny players are just going to be revered locally really. Plus, as I say, they’re an incredibly banal group. I look forward to the interviews at the banquet if they win. Hey JJ, tell us that you suppose the panel of 30 was important. Hey Tommy, tell us you suppose the same. Hey Jackie, how about you suppose likewise. I fooking despise those boggers. Up Wexford.

Thats the sort of thinking that sees empires fall though Fagan. You have to keep tilling the land to get the next crop.

Mbb I am not a farmer but I do remember something from national school along the lines of if you keep tilling the same piece of ground it will eventually go fallow. Isn’t that what caused the dustbowl??

Bandage yeah the blandness and the banality of the responses to Ger’s insightful questions will be a wonder alright

So Noel all the family were up today for the match. Tell us who milked the cows ?

Noel. No one Ger. Their poor tits will be bursting in the morning

[quote=“Fagan O, post: 505932”]

Nah, you till and rotate the crops, no farmer leaves land idle, unless of course you’re getting the setaside payments.

Bandage yeah the blandness and the banality of the responses to Ger’s insightful questions will be a wonder alright

So Noel all the family were up today for the match. Tell us who milked the cows ?

Noel. No one Ger. Their poor tits will be bursting in the morning

Nowt wrong with a farming man. Colm O Rourke still swears every team needs a farmer.

Farmers are fooking bastards.

Townie cunt.

Bandage would ye ever have swapped land with neighbouring Farmers e.g. you grew spuds on their land while they grazed cattle on yours while it recovered from previous plantings?

Latest out of the KK camp is that TJ Reids place is now under threat. Fast Eddie to get the start. Rice to start.

Forward line might look something like this…

Rice - Power - Larkin
Fast Eddie - The King - Taggy

Epic!

Would be happy with that forward line and that Eddie would start. Either have TJ on the half forward line or leave him off as a waste of time playing him in the corner. With TJ being captain I wonder will that sway any selection though as he has been on the team all year as opposed to Michael Fennelly’s situation last year.

This charading with the team line out is embarrassing at this stage for a county of of kks stature. You wouldn’t see this in Clare. Just name the bloody team and get on with it no one outside kk cares