Cill Chainnigh v Tiobraid Árann - 2010 All Ireland Hurling Final

sorry just read over my last post, didn’t read well…The All Star full back slot will be between Paul Curran and Kavanagh of Galway, the two standouts this year…Would expect Curran to get it, he has been solid all year apart from giving a soft goal away against Galway…

Fair play to Tipp, you cant beat hunger. That desire that makes a 50/50 ball turn into a 60/40 was at the heart Tipp performance today. In the end it comes down to hard work and Tipp didnt sit around waiting for thisit to happen.

Cody didnt inspire much confidence in his panel by starting Henry. I knew the minute I saw him go for the first ball that the pedal was nowhere near the metal. This must have been obvious in training in the last week? Or maybe the wet ground made it look worse. Larkin should have been given the job of leading the attack, he was well able for it. Cody shoud have also bitten the bullet and put Tyrell in at 6, a natural leader who excels in the heat of september hurling.

Anyway, hard to say if this would have mattered, Tipp had their own leaders and they were everywhere. The worrying thing is that their best players are only young fellas.

From a Galway mans view point, I dont know what to think tonight. I had a lengthy conversation with a “Hurling man” after the game and he reckons only 5/6 of our lads would have the lived with the intensity of today, I begged to differ with him…

Curran was brutal against Galway and didn’t stand out today. I’d say the cork media mafia might see to it that Caddie gets a nomination.

Poor year for full backs

I’d agree with him to be honest, ye hadn’t many more than 5 or 6 lads that lived with Tipp and kept ye in the game against them 5 or 6 weeks ago and today was a couple of levels above that…

Thought he was solid today, minded his house well considering Kilkenny pumped plenty of high balls in…full backline as a whole hurled well as a unit without any of them being spectacular…Cadogan, the tipp game aside, was poor this year, Mullane had the better of him both days in the munster final…Agreed, Kavanagh’s performance against Tipp was probably the full back performance of the year and even then he was caught out for at least one of the goals

A pleasure to be at that game today. The physicality of the tackling was severe and players had such little time on the ball. But some of the vision and class was sublime even in that cauldron. I loved McGrath’s pass for Corbett’s second goal and there were some cracking scores throughout really. The referee seemed fairly inconsistent but I think he was even enough overall. I was very impressed with the Tipperary defence and their corner backs were extremely solid. I though Cahill was brilliant in the left corner on an admittedly off colour Eddie Brennan.

Pádraic Maher is a powerful player and he finished the game like a train when he went in centre back. Brendan Maher has had an awesome season and I thought Gearóid Ryan really came into it in the second half. Larry Corbett is magnificent, surely HOTY. He’s come some way from making David O’Connor look a player in 2001. Noel McGrath’s vision is superb and I was delighted for Benny Dunne when he got that point to exorcise last year’s demons. Lovely cameo by Callanan too.

I predicted the Tipperary victory having seen their progression all year and, again, their movement, intelligence and pace up front was great to watch. I think Kilkenny haven’t reached the heights of previous years this season and I disagreed with pundits who were proclaiming them as being better than ever. I reckoned a while back on here that they could be caught for pace and that was apparent in a few instances today. Still, they had some great performances from the likes of Delaney and Larkin. I felt sorry for Shefflin having to come off after the effort he put in to be there but that’s sport. Overall, I don’t think it’s any harm to see someone else win it and that’s not to take anything away from Kilkenny.

A shame the Tipperary supporters lacked the fight of their players and meekly accepted not being allowed onto the pitch. :o

Despite the quality and passion of the senior game, my main highlight of the day was the GAA cutting off that old arsehole when he was waffling on before presenting the minor trophy. Very funny when he was still talking shite and they cut off his microphone and Black Eyed Peas came blaring out over the tannoys instead. He went back and tried to say a few more words that were inaudible over the music as Christy Cooney tugged at his arm and told him to cop the fuck on and give the young lads their trophy. Christy Cooney went even further up in my estimation today :clap:

+1 about cooney

cody has been found out as the joker he is- instead of pandering to the event junkees in Kk & having open training sessions he should have been working on a plan b to beat tipp

Contradictory post Bandage - you are either with Cooney or you are against him.

Nothing contradictory about it.

Did you head to C’Martyr/Duns last night Locke, and do you reckon Cody (and some of the older players like Hickey, Shefflin, Brennan etc) will be around next year?

JJ Delaney was immense today and was probably my motm.

Just back now from the game. Some performance from tipp. Intensity was unreal. Cody was lacking an awful lot in tactics too today. That minor presentation was class too!

Cody looked a beaten docket today.

I thought Corbett definitely overcarried for the second goal there.

Fixed there Sid.

Lar Corbett surely has MOTM nailed on here.

Three goals for fuck sake.

Great stuff today alright. Not often you get 2 brilliant hurling All-Ireland finals in a row.
Tipp were fantastic, didn’t give any Kilkenny lad time on the ball at all. Some of the Kilkenny performances were shocking though-Eddie Brennan, TJ Reid, Hickey, Cha. TJ Reid had a fantastic goal chance in the 1st half and hit it straight at Cummins at head height (of course Cummins tried to make it looks spectacular). Shefflin or Power in that position would have bore down on goal and stuck it. Tommy Walsh was poor today too.

The Tipp half back line was fantastic, Maher in particular. And Lar Cornett, what a man. :clap:

It will always be an asterisk All-Ireland for me though.

2010-Tipperary*

• Shefflin injured after a few minutes and without a first choice centre back.

Oh and well done to that Tipp fella, the only soul to invade the pitch today. :clap:

The better team won, KK couldn’t live with tipp for large portions of the game yet Tipp almost allowed KK back in a few times.

It was a disgrace the Tipp fans were not allowed on the pitch

Couldn’t go to it unfortunately Turenne, BenAnd Jerry and little Sonya were under my charge until around 8 so left it go. Was in the village when the crowd came back, ah twas a good win for them.

Just after the few pints and the debate as to next years team. Here goes:
Ryan in the goal. Hickey to go, full back, Brian Hogan. Same half back line. Rice and Fennelly mid field. Forwards, hmmm. Henry, Power and Larkin to be first picks. Richie Hogan to get a longer run, but Fast Eddie, who owes us nothing needs a better year. Gorta is gone sorry to say. Taggy, for me no. Tj looking at the Sunday game was good but doesn’t inspire me, he’ll make it but needs to develop more. Try guinen? Mulhall maybe. I don’t know, hard to think with the beer and the baten I’ve just been through.
Well done Tipp, worthy winners.

Ryan had been jumpy all year. His jersey is far from safe for me.
He jumped out out the way of the first and last goals.
I’d give Herity a serious look.
And give Derek Brennan a few trials.
Guinan needs some starts. Looked excellent for Freshford against my boys.