Clare Gaa šŸ Thread mark II

Harsh on London, Fingal and Warwickshire

That was a nice statement win to get. The workrate, harrying and tackling was excellent for the most part and when Kilkenny asked questions in the second half we answered them fairly easily. It was a real good physical tussle and we werenā€™t found wanting. A number of players on both sides looked fairly emptied by the end of it.

Oisin Oā€™Brien did his chances no harm.We have been missing a robust man marker and he did well today. Pat Oā€™Connor continues to grow into the full back role, Farrellā€™s goal aside he was very good and will learn from the mistake while Cian Dillon excelled as a sweeper yet again. He has turned into a very powerful runner.

Cleary and Fitzgerald both got through plenty of work as well. Fitzgerald got on a lot of ball and was composed on it, normally going for the clever lay off. Galvin should have been MOTM in my opinion was excellent throughout, while Cunningham was on fire first half he went out of it in the second half. Honan and McGrath did well too, both look very sharp which is great to see. Great to have Podge back too, he looked sharper than I expected he would, got through a mountain of work as he always does. Conlon had the Kilkenny full backline in trouble all day long, both himself and Dillon have developed in massive players and leaders for us.

Are Davy and David Fitzgerald related?

No relation whatsoever. Just namesakes.

Young David Fitzgerald is just gone 20 from Inagh Kilnamona and looks a very versatile hurler. He was a midfielder or half forward all the way up through underage before excelling at full back for the UL Freshers and Clare 21s last year and he had an eye catching cameo at wing back against Tipp the other week and followed it up with a very composed showing today again at wing back.

Think he played midfield for UL in the Fitz this year as well

Will David McInerney ever play again?

I see we had an Iraqi lad as hurley carrier today. :smile:

Whoā€™s sayinā€™?

Hussein?

Syrian refugee?

He is from Baghdad

ā€œBonner Ɠā€™Loingsigh a young Clare Hurling Fanatic from Baghdad Iraq who acted as hurley and Helmet carrier for the Clare team today in Thurlesā€

Suffering from bullying, he said hurling helped get him through the tough days. Davy got wind of this and brought him in as a hurley carrier.

Say what you like about him, and cunts do, but Davy is a decent aul skin.

Iā€™d say in real life Davy is a decent auld skin, but he has a chip on his shoulder and a constant need to prove himself that makes him unlikable to the outside. The Clare lads look like theyā€™d run through a wall for him though and thatā€™s what you want from a manager.

Congrats to the Clare lads on what was a very impressive performance yesterday. A team going in the right direction for sure. A solid plan and everyone working to it. Missed the second half as I had to be home for a game but the intensity in that 35 mins was streets ahead of the previous game. Ye should bury Waterford.

And possibly the thing that drove him on to being the competitor and player he was. Stone mad some might say.

A definite touch of the Roy Keanes about him, but able to manage lads better obviously.

Is the jig up for Colin Ryan as a starter for Clare? He has been a mainstay for Davy over the last 3 seasons but seeing as our default setting for the year will more than likely see us starting with 7 defenders or Colm Galvin as a nominal forward it is hard to see how he will be accomodated. I canā€™t imagine the fact that he decided to have his honeymoon during the season causing him to miss the Limerick and Tipp matches will count in his favour either.

You would feel that Conlon, Mcgrath and Tony Kelly are all nailed on starters for the summer leaving you two spots between Oā€™Donnell, Honan, Aaron Cunningham and Colin Ryan and right now you would have Ryan behind the other three.

If heā€™s not starting is he likely to get a look in at all? Heā€™s not impact sub material in the way that a few of the other Clare forwards are. Also you forgot Podge who could force his way in.

Apologies, yes I did forget Podge who will be a definite starter if he follows up his performance yesterday with a similar one in two weeks.

Ryan would be a decent option off the bench to help see out a game as he is hard working and composed on the ball. You wouldnā€™t be throwing him on over Honan or Cunningham if all three were in the bench and you were chasing the game and needing a goal

Davy is a sound chap :rollseyes: He is an utter cunt. This is another prime example of something heā€™ll do to make sure his name is in the headlines.

He is a sound a real nice guy

GAA ON T NA G NOW:grinning: