Clare GAA Thread 🐐

that’s up there with the legendry cavalry charge in Rathbane back in the early 90’s during a limerick city soccer game v Galway Utd if memory servers me right.

It was 1914 it was last done in Clare by Ennis Dalcassians
I think Cratloe will do it alright with 12 of the team that’s started last week

Met a bunch of townies last night, I hold Cratloe beat the seven colours of shite out of them

Cratloe are dual county champions.
Quite an achievement, first time it’s been achieved since townies did it 85 years ago.

Cratloe line-out today. Some group of players.

John Galvin named as a sub above, did he start or come on?

Fair play to Cratloe, great achievement.

Has a club ever reached the Munster club hurling and football finals in the same year?

[QUOTE=“dodgy-keeper, post: 1030044, member: 1552”]John Galvin named as a sub above, did he start or come on?

Fair play to Cratloe, great achievement.

Has a club ever reached the Munster club hurling and football finals in the same year?[/QUOTE]
He started. The programme was the same as the semi final.
He is getting to grips with how they play now and had a strong second half.
Cratloe were on a different level in the second half and just shut Eire Og out. Could be good for a decent run at paddys day.

[QUOTE=“Watch The Break, post: 1030012, member: 260”]Cratloe line-out today. Some group of players.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BzwHLH0CYAEaZLV.jpg[/QUOTE]
Nice nail varnish WTB

Might be high jinx at the County Board meeting tonight due to the appointment of the proposed minor management team.

In other news, the Champion is reporting that Sean McMahon is to join the under 21’s management team:clap:

Are you sute

[QUOTE=“The Big Cheese, post: 1038213, member: 1137”]Might be high jinx at the County Board meeting tonight due to the appointment of the proposed minor management team.

In other news, the Champion is reporting that Sean McMahon is to join the under 21’s management team:clap:[/QUOTE]
Are you sure

Legendary All-Ireland winning manager Ger Loughnane has backed Clare to overtake Kilkenny as hurling’s most dominant team claiming that the sport’s “big ogre is beginning to lose his sense of danger.”

Loughnane, who led the Banner to championship glory in 1995 and 1997, believes recent retirements has chipped away at the air of invincibility that surrounded Brian Cody’s charges since the turn of the century.

And he believes that Clare’s all-conquering U21 sides of the past three seasons can transfer that success onto the senior stage provided they don’t grow complacent.

“The big ogre is beginning to lose his sense of danger, Kilkenny.

“There’s a gap in the market again and we are ideally positioned to exploit that gap,” Loughnane said at the presentation of Clare’s Munster and All-Ireland U21 medals in Ennis on Saturday night.

“We have now come from a position of being nowhere at underage level to being the dominant underage team in the country.

“We are dominant because now when people ask who have we to beat to be successful at U21 level, they immediately say Clare.

“If we can get to that situation at senior level, wouldn’t it be brilliant to get back there again, and if every team said the team we have to beat is Clare.

“I am certain, with the quality of player, and the quality of leadership and management we have, that very soon, that’s exactly where we will be.”

However Loughnane warned the next generation of senior stars that success wouldn’t come easy.

Quoting extracts from Robert Frost’s poem The Road Not Taken Loughnane referenced the failures of Limerick and Galway to build on their underage triumphs.

“I see you at a crossroads now. You have three U21 medals in your pocket, and some of you have senior All-Irelands in your pocket.

“So what path do you choose now?

“Do you choose the path taken by Limerick U21s who won three in a row, numerous Galway teams who won several (underage) All-Irelands, and that was the path well trodden.

“As you go along that road you will have plenty people clapping you on the back and saying well done, enjoy life and have a few drinks.

“That will lead you to a place called Easyville, and eventually a place called Oblivion, where no one will remember you.

“The other side of that is the uphill path trodden by the legends of hurling, some of who you have seen retire in the last few weeks.

“Will you take that road, or will you take the easy road? That to me is the vital question over the next year or two, and will decide where we take our place.

“You are the most talented players we have ever had, and you can now bring Clare hurling to a new level, but only you can decide that.”

Loughnane also heaped praise on the management team of Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor who guided the county to a hat-trick of Munster and All-Ireland titles over the past three seasons.

“We are inclined to take it for granted what these lads have done. They have been the most innovative thinkers we have seen in hurling since Cork developed the possession game around 2003. The county and hurling in general owes you a massive debt of gratitude for what you have done.”

© Irish Examiner Ltd. All rights reserved

[QUOTE=“The Big Cheese, post: 1055130, member: 1137”]Legendary All-Ireland winning manager Ger Loughnane has backed Clare to overtake Kilkenny as hurling’s most dominant team claiming that the sport’s “big ogre is beginning to lose his sense of danger.”

Loughnane, who led the Banner to championship glory in 1995 and 1997, believes recent retirements has chipped away at the air of invincibility that surrounded Brian Cody’s charges since the turn of the century.

And he believes that Clare’s all-conquering U21 sides of the past three seasons can transfer that success onto the senior stage provided they don’t grow complacent.

“The big ogre is beginning to lose his sense of danger, Kilkenny.

“There’s a gap in the market again and we are ideally positioned to exploit that gap,” Loughnane said at the presentation of Clare’s Munster and All-Ireland U21 medals in Ennis on Saturday night.

“We have now come from a position of being nowhere at underage level to being the dominant underage team in the country.

“We are dominant because now when people ask who have we to beat to be successful at U21 level, they immediately say Clare.

“If we can get to that situation at senior level, wouldn’t it be brilliant to get back there again, and if every team said the team we have to beat is Clare.

“I am certain, with the quality of player, and the quality of leadership and management we have, that very soon, that’s exactly where we will be.”

However Loughnane warned the next generation of senior stars that success wouldn’t come easy.

Quoting extracts from Robert Frost’s poem The Road Not Taken Loughnane referenced the failures of Limerick and Galway to build on their underage triumphs.

“I see you at a crossroads now. You have three U21 medals in your pocket, and some of you have senior All-Irelands in your pocket.

“So what path do you choose now?

“Do you choose the path taken by Limerick U21s who won three in a row, numerous Galway teams who won several (underage) All-Irelands, and that was the path well trodden.

“As you go along that road you will have plenty people clapping you on the back and saying well done, enjoy life and have a few drinks.

“That will lead you to a place called Easyville, and eventually a place called Oblivion, where no one will remember you.

“The other side of that is the uphill path trodden by the legends of hurling, some of who you have seen retire in the last few weeks.

“Will you take that road, or will you take the easy road? That to me is the vital question over the next year or two, and will decide where we take our place.

“You are the most talented players we have ever had, and you can now bring Clare hurling to a new level, but only you can decide that.”

Loughnane also heaped praise on the management team of Donal Moloney and Gerry O’Connor who guided the county to a hat-trick of Munster and All-Ireland titles over the past three seasons.

“We are inclined to take it for granted what these lads have done. They have been the most innovative thinkers we have seen in hurling since Cork developed the possession game around 2003. The county and hurling in general owes you a massive debt of gratitude for what you have done.”

© Irish Examiner Ltd. All rights reserved[/QUOTE]
Oh god please come on 2015

Who will stop us. Davey will do it

Davy is A mad man

Loughnane is some man for a cracking speech. :clap::clap::clap:

You’re missing the question mark at the end of your first sentence there buddy.

E=“Joe Player, post: 1055175, member: 2692”]Who will stop us. Davey will do it[/QUOTE]

Kilkenny tipperary probably

Tis a wonder he didn’t get a dig in at Tipp. Twas unlike him to pass up on the opportunity.

Prick