Clare GAA Thread 🐐

Will a delegation of senior players travel to Davy’s gaff - with a bottle of Miwadi and rich tea biscuits, of course - and ask him to step down?

Shane O’Donnell probably needs to look at himself. Couple of the Clare forwards looked very one sided or chose the wrong options. Davy gave a very magnanimous speech to Cork afterwards. He may be learning…

O’Donnell did all the hard work and was then very wasteful in possession at times. You have to give credit to Cork for bottling him up well but he certainly over ran it at times or hit some bad wides.

He is staying until 2017 so he is.

A lot of that was down to the way Murphy marked him. Murphy wasn’t commiting to trying to beat him a race to the ball, but was setting himself up so that he could bottle O’Donnell up when he inevitably tried to take him on. A sort of rope a dope.

Hmmm… Thought O’Donnell cut a lone figure foraging away on his own… He took a few wrong options but he was asked to do too much in my opinion.

Yeah, I agree with this and Treatystones, I thought Richie tried to do the same thing when Clare played Limerick and had some joy but O’Donnell seemed to have more runners off him in that game to lay off the ball … He showed some lovely touches but was still wasteful…This is the problem when you play McGrath in the Podge role, who plays the McGrath role??

@twiceasnice97, has Conor McGrath been ordering his lunchtime sandwich from the deli counter in a suitably modest and understated manner since Clare’s defeat last weekend?

He needs to improve his striking

Clare and Davey it has to change. we are not at the top

Team picked very much on form by the looks of it. Should give a decent account of themselves at the very least. If Waterford are any bit switched off or complacent they could be in for a hop, although Jamie Shanahan and Gearoid Ryan are big losses

Davy staying on.

A great game to see where the players on that half forward line really stand. They put a lot of work into those lads.

How old is the lad Corry? I saw him hurl fitz this year and he looked gamey, no fear at all.

He is 21 I think, on the age anyway.

An excellent club footballer and supposed to keep himself in tip top shape but wouldn’t be senior county standard really… Good but not great and a tight man marker but so is Shane O’Brien. Would have lost out on form and was in line to start last year until they converted Colleran into a corner back.

Yeah he looked tough enough … the mud evens things out at that of year I suppose.

He will end up coaching and be good at it, bright young lad.

That may be the PR guru the county board have hired to mind Davy.

Informative