Clare GAA Thread 🐐

[quote=“Fat Pox”]Well done on the win yesterday. It was easy to see that Clare had a lot more done than Tipp. Tipp were actually away in a training camp in Offaly on Friday and Saturday so that might explain the fatigue in the second half

Some great performances by Gerry O Grady, Gerry Quinn, Carmody and Colin Ryan. Colin Ryan has developed a lot since I saw him last.

Full back line was our only line to do well. Seamus Hennessy started well, has lovely hands but limited mobility. Bonnar Maher stuck his goal well but his time has not come yet. Noel Mac took his score well. Im sure we will see more from him this year further out the field.

Terrible performances from Benny, Festy, Woody and P Kelly. With improved accuracy Hugh Moloney might do on the 40. Lots of catching up to do[/quote]

Thought Pat Donnellan had a fine game also…ryan did well took a couple of nice scores but just seems a bit too cowardly for my liking, certainly has the ability/potential but won’t battle/contest for the ball…

Tipp half forward line was poor again, Moloney tried hard but the rest were poor…Twasn’t a day to be an inside forward and the pitch was tight

He still doesnt rate it though. Sure Longford made it to the final last year and what use did it do them? Wexford lost to Carlow but yet won every game in the League and get to an AI semi. Its useful for some of the minor counties to hit the ground running but when you see Dublin sending out a third team while the main panel isn’t even in the country you can tell its worth.

[quote=“The Puke”]Thought Pat Donnellan had a fine game also…ryan did well took a couple of nice scores but just seems a bit too cowardly for my liking, certainly has the ability/potential but won’t battle/contest for the ball…

Tipp half forward line was poor again, Moloney tried hard but the rest were poor…Twasn’t a day to be an inside forward and the pitch was tight[/quote]

Nice little set up there in Ogonelloe. Was never there before. Had a lovely view on the terrace/cliff face/potential landslide.

Do the Fordes still play there or did they transfer away. I remember Colm Forde playing Fitz with UL in 02 and I thought he was the next best thing. He was better than Gerry Quinn on that team.

Fuck me-there was I thinking the recession hasn’t hit us that bad in this country at all.

They were turning turf for the day. Not much else to do in Awfully thats for sure.

Gway outta that, before the Fermanagh goalie handed ye the Div 2 last year ye woulda ripped arm and all off for an aul tin cup.

Don’t worry, you will see all the counties at this next year, after we reclaim Liam this year!!

A bit like the La Manga effect big Joe created after Armaghs win in 02

The day we long for an O’Byrne cup will be a sad one.

Good on ye lads, ye have yerselves higher up the chain than I had imagined. Better county’s than ye have been happy to win it by the way, not that it matters much of course.

Poor attempt MBB, would expect more from you. The Fermanagh keeper didnt score 3 unanswered points in extra time to win the game. Plus it was Div 3.

The O’Byrne cup, like all winter trophys is nothing more than a warm up competition, giving counties like Louth, Longford Carlow, Leitrim and Clare opportunities to win a trophy early in the year cos they haven’t a hope of winning anything else that year.

He didnt need to, he’d already given ye as much of a help up as he could! Ah he was chronic Mac, be fair.

Fair play, ye took adavantage, but it was the worst goalkeeping at inter county level I think I’ve ever seen.

[quote=“Fat Pox”]Nice little set up there in Ogonelloe. Was never there before. Had a lovely view on the terrace/cliff face/potential landslide.

Do the Fordes still play there or did they transfer away. I remember Colm Forde playing Fitz with UL in 02 and I thought he was the next best thing. He was better than Gerry Quinn on that team.[/quote]

The Forde are still going strong…Colm was on the Clare panel up to the start of last year, certainly had the ability but too much of a hot head and …Another brother of theirs Kieron was hurling with london a few years ago…They have been holdong their own in senior for a long time now despite having fuck all to pick from, but they always produce decent hurlers…Got to the senior B final in 2007

Credit ot Ogonnolloe they did a fine job…Great view overlooking lough derg alright…

Thought Benny Dunne and Fitzgerald looked good yesterday for tipp along with Conor O Brien who seemd to love playing against clare

[quote=“myboyblue”]He didnt need to, he’d already given ye as much of a help up as he could! Ah he was chronic Mac, be fair.

Fair play, ye took adavantage, but it was the worst goalkeeping at inter county level I think I’ve ever seen.[/quote]

I can only remember 1 goal that was his fault. In the second half when the high ball was lofted in and he punched the ball off Paddy Colfer and in it went. Thought he played well other than that.

[

[quote=“The Puke”]

Thought Benny Dunne and Fitzgerald looked good yesterday for tipp along with Conor O Brien who seemd to love playing against clare[/quote]

Ya Conor did well, but if he couldn’t beat Nugent out to the low balls he might as well forget it. Delighted to see Dimi back after all his injuries.

Would disagree with you about Benny. He is way too loose. He prefers to sit in front of the full back line and pick up easy ball. Put a runner on him (Naughton, Brennan) and untold damage will be had. Also his clearances are aimless with an emphasis on distance. Wouldn’t have him on the team. He was very lucky with his outburst yesterday as well.

Any sign of any of the Clonlara lads breaking onto the team?

[quote=“Fat Pox”][

Any sign of any of the Clonlara lads breaking onto the team?[/quote]

All four of them got a run the first day out against Tralee, conlon has come on as a sub in the other 3 games and I think that he won’t be far off come June…

The O Donovan twins are unlucky in the fact that we seem to have a lot of options around the halfback line and midfield and I doubt they will see much game time this season, while Nickey O Connell is only 19 and it is probably a year too early for him…All four should paly starting roles for the 21s this year when we win the munster and all ireland titles:D

With regards Benny he is loose alright but he plays an awful amount of ball, can’t see him keeping his place at wing back but he could do a job at midfield beside McGrath

Mike Mac has named a 38 man Clare panel for the National Hurling League

Goalkeepers:
P.Brennan (tulla)
D.Touhy (crusheen)
P.Kelly (Inamona)

Backs:
G. O Grady
C. Dillon
P. Vaughan (all crusheen)
D. O Donovan (Clonlara)
J. McInerney
E. Barrett (both Newmarket)
G. Quinn (Corofin)
P. Donnellan
C. Cooney (both the mills)
E. Glynn (inamona)
M. Hawes (cratloe)
B. Bugler (whitegate)
G. O Connell (Tones)
C. McMahon (kilmaley)
C. Plunkett (Clarecastle)

Midfield:
B. O Connell (Tones )
C. Lynch (kilmaley)
C. O Donovan
N. O Connell (both Clonlara)
C. Hassett (Barefield)

Forwards:
T. Carmody
G. Arthur (both Inamona)
N. Gilliagan
C. Morey (both the bridge)
T. Griffin (Ballyea)
J. Clancy (Clarecastle)
B. Nugent (Eire OG)
C. Ryan (newmarket)
M. Flaherty (killenana)
F. Lynch (Clooney/quin)
A. Markham
D. McMahon (both Kilmaley)
C. Macnamara (Scariff)
M. ogie Murphy (Cratloe)
J. Conlon (clonlara)

Think that is everyone

In other news Nickey O Connell was named hurler of the year for 2008 while John conlon was named young hurler of the year at the Clare People All star awards…

Is Cathal Dillon still looking like the favourite for the number 3 shirt?

Well he is the man in possesion at the moment…Himself and Cooney(still a bit green) are the two natural full backs on the panel…I would say that Mac will give him two or three games to see how he goes, if he goes well then he will keep it for the year, if he is poor I wouldn’t be surprised to see either Gerry Quinn or Brian O Connell drafted back into full back as we seem to have a bit of strength in depth in the half back line and midfield…

Would love to see him grow into it on the basis that he is actually a full-back. Whether he has the athleticism to cut it at intercounty is a big issue though. Winning clean possession and nipping attacks in the bud is vital. Still, his performances for Crusheen were Noel Hickey-esque last year and something like that would do very nicely.

Yeah he was superb for Crusheen last year, stand out full back in the championship…I would hope he could make the step up…Saw him twice in the Waterford crystal, did as well as could be expected on Joe Canning against LIT, kept him scoreless from play but never looked like dominating or winning clean ball…He struggled a bit against Tipp, was marking a lad by the name of maher who was making his first start for tipp and he struggled with him, maher got a soft enough goal where he just outmuscled him and a more experienced full forward could have had a hat trick the same day…But hopefully he learns from these mistakes and kicks on…

He has a younger brother Cian who is around 21 who has the makings of a lovely tidy intercounty corner back in the mould of Gerry O Grady