You wean Bodhran boys ?
No. Banjo boys
Logically I think weâll win handy but my 3 years of calling Clare shit (they are) could be about to come back to haunt me
Clare to me look like a team which lacks serious hunger. Maybe the underage success and A/I win in 2013 sated them or blunted their desire. Maybe the heavy winter and late spring training workload over the past few years has also taken a toll and drained lads and their lust for it. Too much emphasis on systems and tactics and not enough on sharpness and skill probably doesnât help either and I was disappointed we fell back into that approach again yesterday.
I think the honeymoon period for the new management is probably over after yesterday, most of the small Clare crowd that travelled will have been disappointed with the game plan to try and nullify Cork rather than try and take them on and take the game to them. The decision to start Podge and OâBrien and not pushing up on the Cork puck outs were poor calls in hindsight but I expect they will learn from it. At the start of the year I would have seen retaining 1A status, making a Munster final and hurling in August as achievable targets for the management and would have been a solid first year. It was always going to take time to change the set up from one where everything was highly structured and planned out to one where we get back to a more flowing/off the cuff style. Next year will be the real acid test as progress will be needed.
Clare have more than a punchers chance against Tipp if they decide to go for it and get the balance of the team right but Tipp are worthy favourites and it is hard to see the Clare backs on current form holding their forwards to a reasonable score, albeit I donât think Tippâs backline is all that hectic either. Should be a high scoring game.
The decision making of the Clare players was poor yesterday, too many pot shots, too many forced passes that werenât really on, too many careless fouls which allowed Cork to tack over easy scores. We are all too reliant on one or two players from 8 to 15 firing and just canât seem to get 4 or 5 of our better lads to perform in tandem. Our half backline has had no real spell of dominance over the past two games which doesnât help. Morey had started well at wing back before being switched back on Cadogan which was a shame but had to be done. Cleary is solid if unspectacular, I thought he did a reasonable job on Lehane yesterday and showed well for the ball but he is nothing more than solid/adequate at championship level. David Fitzgerald has serious potential but simply hasnât got going in the last two games. If we had a second David MacInerney it would make a serious difference to the team. Even though we never really got going yesterday and were beaten by a better team we were only two points down going into injury time yesterday while hitting the post twice and pointing a penalty and if Duggan and Cunningham managed to manufacture a score or free down in the right hand corner entering injury time and brought it back to one it would have been interesting. Cork to their credit put their bodies on the line, cleared the ball and closed the game out.
Why was the Clare support so poor yesterday? Itâs not as if Munster Final appearances are frequent for the county.
Fuck knows. Laziness, apathy, tightness who knows. It was a disgrace. Iâd say it was 5k Clare and 40k Cork there yesterday.
I was at it yesterday and while I knew Cork would bring a big crowd I couldnât get over how small a crowd from Clare was there. What you couldnt see on TV was that in the old stand (well i call it the old stand) there was only 1 section Clare and the rest was Cork. Maybe itâs only when they play shite hurling counties like Limerick that the cunts that only go for events turn up.
I was fairly surprised at Clareâs poor first touch yesterday. It wasnât just the honest-but-limited Malone either, you had the likes of McGrath fumbling a fair few balls as well. The real problems are in defence though. The half back line is the worst left in the championship by a yard and as a whole their primary instinct seems to be to foul the man. Gambling on OâBrien being fit and then putting him on one of the fastest corner-forwards in the business wasnât exactly smart either.
Low expectations.
Clare didnât really set the world on fire in the early parts of 2013 either, but I donât see them catching fire this year out of nowhere. Really seem to not know their best team.
Will there be another very small Clare crowd at this or will the hatred bring the numbers out?
Clare wonât bring a decent crowd again until they win a couple of championship games back to back. Only chance of a half decent Clare crowd is if it is played in Limerick.
Theyâre serious bandwagoners. The sister works in Shannon and said a load of them had today booked off for the âcelebrationsâ. They were all probably watching it on the high stool
Not sure Iâd agree on the cleary part. He marked a half fit Lehane. Way to much fouling when one on one.
Even Buff Egan has come out criticising the size of the Clare crowd Sunday.
To be fair the population of Cork in 600k approx and Clare is about 120 k .
I agree donât know what happened or supporters
God if we beat ye
Will ye beat Wexford bud
Is there a draw for the semi if Waterford and Tipp win?