Classic wastes of public money in the last few years?

I just want the cola bottles

You implied that Stan Collymore cost 8.5 million cola bottles when in fact he cost quite a lot more.

On another note that is one of the most random sentences I’ve ever written.

How the whole cluster fuck developed is only a mystery if you quite deliberately ignore reality in my book. There are certain issues that the politicians won’t confront because ultimately they have no problem with the same situation arising again. As for as the political parties are concerned, the last ten years were fantastic for business. What needs to be recognised is that there was a sudden and massive concentration of wealth and therefore power in one narrow sector of the economy. A quarter of economic activity in one sector, and the used that massive power to control the political agenda, and buy the media through advertising revenue.

Regulation or lack thereof was an offshoot of this scenario because ultimately that’s how society works. Yet an much of a truism as this seems there doesn’t seem to be any push to confront the manner in which the construction industry seized control of the government. That’s the fundamental concern here and it relates to things like media campaigns, political donations, and corporate lobbying. As much as the technical regulative measures matter, these are the underlying mechanisms that need to be addressed, because these are the things that derailed our democracy.

anglo wanted to take over irish nationwide sure only a few days before that. with what i wonder iou’s or had they sean quinn so hoodwinked.

auditing is a defunct profession. it is in effect private enterprise self regulating. a farcical concept. the only auditor should be the revenue commissioners

global warming - yeah

what happens the bondholders with any other company that goes bust - screw them

laissez faire regulation certainly paid a part but fitzpatrick, fingleton are their golden circle of cunts knew they were doing wrong. they could have taken steps to rectify things well before Sept 2008. but no they hid things and dug and dug and then dug some more. here lads a few loans, a million for you - hey a million for me. fucking cunts. its a bit like that nick leeson book - he blames every1 else bar himself. sure people turn a blind eye while things are going well but at the bottom of it all every1 knows if they are doing the right thing or not. the book should be thrown at them

but yeah bertie took the soft option at every turn too. even in health yer man drumm was saying that he was always up against it in the hse as ahern guaranteed when the hse was formed that noone would lose their jobs. i think their numbers actually increased and when the health boards disbanded there were a number of people left in limbo but still of course got paid for sitting on the bench. Bertie and them thought the national interest was seeing FF elected to power.

ya they will - the statue will read repossessed.

What I did was take what Runt did (apply the 20 cent criteria and cut the result in half). He left out an zero and I put it in.

The stream of consciousness then kicked in and I referred to Stan. I then flippantly threw out that statement (I was fully aware that it wasn’t the case given the smilies etc afterwards) to show the confusion in the whole thing.

Just for the record I am a super auditor and had I been auditing Anglo it would never have had to be bailed out.

if he isnt careful he will take his building company down with him - tho he is supposed to have totally stepped aside from it.

Is it not fairly obvious that Ireland as a country is going to have to default and screw its bondholders at somepoint over the next few years?

We should have made the bank bondholders suffer instead of taking on mountains of vast, growing unserviceable debt where the ability to repay is based on a pie in the sky notion of a recovery which clearly is never going to happen.

Congratulations KIB Man you have just bankruped every Credit Union & Charity along with a good chunk of business in the country wiping out all the savings therein. You’ve also halved the value of evey pension fund in the country including the state pension fund which we now have to put more money into. You’ve also made it impossible for Irish banks to raise money abroad.

Anymore great ideas?

the celtic tiger was a glorified pyramid scheme. how was our country so stupid :angry: - the media were hugely complicit in it. that should never be forgotten.

See my previous post for reasons you are wrong.

Yeah a good point, well made.

Paul ‘Fook you Deputy Stagg’ Gogarty was on about how there needs to push through the ban on corporate donations. One Fine Gael lad piped up and said that was ridiculous and asked how the taxpaper would like to pay money to parties because that is what will have to happen.

No it won’t you utter cunt. Membership fees will fund ye and if ye don’t have enough then fuck ye.

+10000000

And the likes of Frank Fahey still gets loads of air time to spin his bullshit - RTE and certain programmes on Newstalk like Lunchtime (since Keane left) and the whole of O’Reilly’s empire are a disgrace.

It was power serving itself which is the natural order. Stupidity is a relative term.

Apology accepted.

Tax breaks for building hotels.

Hotels?

I would be down the country with work quite a bit and there is about three hotels to every reasonably sized town. All empty.

care to flesh that out ? all deposits were guaranteed by the Irish govt. anyone who invested in the shares - well ya better luck next time. i dont think every pension fund in the country was linked to the shares of 4 banks.

ya i get the banana republic thing but Bertie Ahern and his I’ll do anything to be popular mantra won 3 national elections in a row. in effect the Irish public voted for pro construction policies and laissez faire financial regulation.

on the issue of the media being complicit anyone remember when RTE were looking for more money they got Ahern on to be a pundit on the Premiership. :angry:

We are not talking about shares we’re talking about Bonds & every Credit Union, pension fund etc would be invested in these.

Things have only gotten bad since Bertie left power.

Bring back Bertie

I sense that you may actually believe that.