King Henry of Galway (Part 1) 👑

Maybe so, but as saf said, some players need an arm round the shoulder, and some a boot up the arse. Any decent manager should see this and act accordingly.
The nicest shyest most uncertain type can get white line fever and be ferocious and uncompromising in the heat of a proper game.

Saw a sports psychologist who worked with Tipp speak about that - managers speak to their best players as they know they won’t have to drop them and don’t like speaking to anybody they may have to axe

We all do it. Cognitive dissonance innit

We prefer to think of it as alcoholically strong.

Many great managers don’t. The attitude of the Galway players say a lot about their barren spell. Managers will generally have little interaction with peripheral figures, I lost count about the number of Celtic deadwood who moaned about O’Neill ignoring them. Juninho, Laursen, Hedman etc all moaned about him during his tenure in this regard.

It’s about accountability and the Galway players want none of it in the face of failures.

“There is the story of one committed member of the panel…”

Story, eh? Will he get a book out of it, I wonder?

Lock the thread - and show this man what he’s won!

That’s it in a nutshell pal. Accountability would have seen the “players” demand that management clarify the confusion regarding who was marking Callinan. The fact that they’ve raised it as an issue in the letter is horseshit. It’s common knowledge that knowing how to manage your boss is as important as the reciprocal. Managers fuck up from time to time, and it’s up to the leaders on the team to have their back. It’s called teamwork - instead, Galway got prima donnas with an us-versus-them complex.

#puke

I think its more to do with the sacrifices theses guys have to make now…they want to make sure its worth it so will want the best of everything because if they looked at it from the outside there’s a strong case to make for never bothering your bollox with an IC set up.

Nail on head. Very true for a lot of them. Whether that comes from underage success and high profile, or the innate superiority from being lucky enough to be from the world’s greatest county is hard to know. You need self confidence, but a work ethic to match it. We’ve certainly lacked that in the past. In a way you have to commend this though, they put the pressure on themselves to perform, there can be no more excuses

Is Eugene gone too?

:ronnyroar:

Sure didn’t Eugene tell one of the lads he was marking a Tipp lad, when Pat Malone told a different lad he was marking that Tipp lad.

The Lord jaysus. Say what ye like about Cody as a man but his style of management wouldn’t allow this kind of stuff, wouldn’t even entertain the notion of it. The manager must rule the roost and answer to nobody but the county board/clubs. These lads are finished altogether after this , Cork all over again and look where they are now

Me hole. Easy run a tight ship when talent & Liam McCarthy keeps on visiting to stay every September.

That’s bollox, Liam McCarthy is the product of proper managent. Uppity fuckers in KK haven’t too many medals

Why didn’t Sheedy hang around after 10 seeing as he had the genie back in the bottle ? I’ll tell Ya why , he couldn’t keep a lid on things, couldn’t control what was coming next so took the soft option

Exactly. And i admire the man for making that decision. Sheedy is a cute cunt, more power to him i say.

Cunningham’s petty display recently is proof of the wrong way to go.

A good week put down, the Galway hurlers are off on a jaunt at the GAA’s expense. Huzzah!

All-Ireland runners-up medal? Check
Manager pushed out? Check
Mealy-mouthed letter sent to County Board? Check

Right. Holiday time!

Statement in Full

Cunningham should’ve walked when the 4 lads told him he wasn’t wanted. And he’s been there for years now. And the writing was on the wall back in April.

But the statement, fuck me.

Disclosing that Cunningham was ‘slating’ his selectors is very bad form.

Clearly someone who got a C1 in English and a C3 in Civics took control of this situation.