Clonaslee lads, ClonasleeâŚ
It takes a very special team to hold Kilmacud goalless.
Of course he didnât tell them not to play. The inter-county managers never tell them straight out not to play. They are too cute for that.
âAre you sure about playing with the club this weekend?â
âYa, Iâm going to playâ
âOk, might be better if you didnât, competition for places is tough and Iâd hate for you to get injured, but sure Iâll leave it up to yourselfâ
How so?
In ways you never thought imaginable.
The rugby lads are playing with the same team and teammatesâ a week before. These lads are going back to 15 different clubs to play in various different matches.
On top of that the rugby lads are full time professionals and therefore have a weeks fulltime preparation. These lads will be lucky to get a couple of 2 hour training sessions in at this stage. On top of that there is the injury risk. Shane Clayton from Ballyboden injured himself last night and looks to be out. Boden were bet too and are out. Iâd say Shane has a fair pain in his hole this morning.
How many counties have a straight knockout senior Championship?
I would suggest only Dublin.
Whatâs the least number of championship games a senior footballer would get in Laois?
Will the town be out for vengeance this year or was last year signs of a decline?
Definitely a sign of a decline, but theyâll still be out for revenge and the ones to beat.
Iâd have a fancy for Josephs. Stradbally wont come close, still drunk.
Youâll have that
Fairly obvious Dessie got put back in his box.
âSome lads have difficult assignmentsâ Way to endear yourself.
Asking Plunketts or Boden guys not to play is fucking outrageous.
The club game is only getting worse though. Aggada won their first game in a while last weekend. Now they are out again this weekend against UCC. Their reward for winning again atound 4 months off. 2 games in April and then good luck.
My old club played 2 weeks ago after playing only 2 league games, in what is knockout with backdoor. They were supposed to play last w/e of April but 8 days previous to game were told it was the following week. 2 league games played, lost 1st round of championship so playing now in another 2 weeks. If they lose thats the end of it, theyâll hardly field again. 4 meaningful games for the year.
They are expecting alot of gassle with the championship in Kerry this year. Only thing there is there is never a shortage of competitive games. Cups, leagues and divisional games going on all the time. Not unusual for a Kerry club player to play 30 games.
Generally though its fucked.
Tyrone have as well.
An ambulance was called to an U-16 club hurling game between Rosenallis and Clonaslee St Manmanâs last week, after a player from Rosenallis was allegedly subjected to a vicious assault by an opposition player which left him unconscious.
The incident occurred last Thursday night in Rosenallis, forcing the game to be abandoned as the stricken player (15) waited for medical attention to arrive.
The teenager was subsequently transferred to Portlaoise Hospital, where he was held overnight for observation, before being released the following afternoon.
Gardai in Portlaoise confirmed they are aware of the incident, and they will be making follow up enquiries.
Laois GAA also confirmed to the Leinster Express yesterday (Monday) that they were still awaiting the submission of referee Eoin Scullyâs report, which was expected to be delivered in time for a meeting of the Laois CCC on Monday night.
It is believed the player involved had his helmet removed before he received a blow to the head which rendered him unconscious.
The two clubs were scheduled to meet in a minor football league game last night (Monday), but that game has been postponed as tensions are high in the area.
It is the second violent incident involving Clonaslee St Manmanâs in the last seven months, after one of their adult players, James Young, was given a 24 match ban for striking a Castletown player with his hurl in an SHC âAâ game last September.
Clonaslee seem to make Pallasgreen look like angels .
Want your head examined allowing your kids to play GAA
Pallasgreen wouldnât keep it pucked out to Clonaslee. Have Pallasgreen ever bailed a lad out of jail to play a league match?