Club Championships 2024

No fisted points when you are in possession of the ball. No palmed goals allowed.

And enforce the current rules properly and see how we get on. They admitted on one of the videos that refs choose to ignore all the fouls at the throw in. Refs ignore plenty more besides that before we hit them with a shit load more rules.

What happened with Clifford and the penalty today? Did he need to go for goal or could he have chipped it over for a point?

Coulda clipped the point but there woulda been time to equalise. Went for jugular but he’s not a very good taker. Still, it was a decent save.

Tullamore remained the Offaly title for the first time since 1926 0-15 to 0-14 in a really good final today.
Ferbane were on top for most of the first half and lead 9-5 at half time.
Tullamore dominated the start of the second with a bit of a wind and got level fairly quickly. Ferbane woke up again and it was point for point for most of the rest of the game. Tullamore were probably marginally the better team but Ferbane had one very harsh free awarded against them for over-carrying in injury time. You’d feel sorry for them as they really peaked and played well on the biggest day.

Watching his run up wouldn’t fill you with much confidence. Something about all the different movements. Also, it was a brilliant save

County finals were always in October.

What’s your point?

I tried to tell yous

Your split season point is redundant

Your “point”, whatever it’s supposed to be is redundant. The split season was meant to drive interest in the club championships. Instead it has had the opposite effect.

Instead what has happened is the public have tuned out of GAA. County finals would get good attendances previously coming off the back of the All-Ireland finals when the general public was still “tuned in” mentally to GAA.

The main purpose of the split season was to give more clarity to players on when they will and won’t be in championship action, there’s actually massive coverage given to the club game now compared to previous years with pretty much every county bar Limerick providing coverage through either Clubber, Streamsport or their own avenues. Reason their was a poor crowd at the Down football final is the monopoly Kilcoo have and the awful style of football we see in so many games now, Derry semi final last night being the the perfect example.

Nobody watches Clubber, mate. The Dublin championships are carried free to air on YouTube and they have a tiny audience.

The club championships may as well not be happening for all the “coverage” they are receiving.

A major reason Leinster and Munster brought 82k to Croke Park yesterday is because as far as the general public is concerned GAA has been done with for two and a half months and the general public is thirsty for an event.

Events are everything. The GAA because of the batshit culture war zealots has decided to do away with events. And that means the public will eventually do away with the GAA as the sporting centrepiece of Irish life.

€150 pass for the year, there’s a massive uptake on Clubber in the counties it covers, GAA calendar has nothing with the crowd at the Rugby, when the All Ireland finals in the were in September Gareth Brooks sold out 5 concerts in Croke Park, the split season is irrelevant to event junkies, they have about as much of a link as Oasis and Daniel O’Donnell fans.

“Event junkies”.

You’re like a broken record. Culture war insanity.

If the GAA doesn’t have people who want to attend events, and the split season tells people it clearly doesn’t want them, it’s fecked.

150 quid for a pass to see a load of games nobody is interested in, what a bargain, not.

Christ you talk some shite, good luck I’ve work in the morning.

Woah that’s me told.

All the Port lads going back picking fruit this week. They’ll be cannon fodder in Leinster when they meet someone worth a shite.

ANTRIM SFC FINAL
Cargin 0-10 Roger Casements Portglenone 0-8 (AET)

CORK PSFC SEMI FINALS
Nemo Rangers 2-11 Mallow 1-5
Castlehaven 0-18 St Finbarrs 0-14

CLARE SFC SEMI FINAL
Éire Óg, Ennis 1-13 Ennistymon 0-2

DERRY SFC SEMI FINAL
Watty Grahams Glen 1-9 Slaughtneil 0-9

DONEGAL SFC FINAL
St Eunans 1-13 Dungloe 1-10

DOWN SFC FINAL
Kilcoo 1-10 Burren 0-4

DUBLIN S1HC SEMI FINALS
Kilmacud Crokes 2-23 Lucan Sarsfields 1-13
Na Fianna 0-26 St Vincents 1-21

GALWAY SFC SEMI FINALS
Corofin 1-11 Salthill-Knocknacarra 0-5
Moycullen 1-10 Tuam Stars 0-10

KERRY SFC SEMI FINAL
Dingle 2-16 East Kerry 1-14 (AET)

KILDARE SFC SEMI FINAL
Naas 3-13 Athy 1-9 (AET)

KILKENNY SHC SEMI FINALS
O’Loughlin Gaels 2-17 Bennettsbridge 1-14
Thomastown 1-27 Mullinavat 0-13

LAOIS SFC FINAL
Portarlington 3-13 Portlaoise 0-13

LIMERICK SHC SEMI FINALS
Doon 2-24 Patrickswell 2-12
Na Piarsaigh 1-16 Kilmallock 0-18

LONDON SHC FINAL
St Gabriel’s 5-21 Robert Emmetts 0-13

LONGFORD SFC FINAL
Colmcille 1-9 Abbeylara 0-12

MEATH SHC FINAL
Ratoath 2-15 Trim 1-16

MONAGHAN SFC SEMI FINALS
Clontibret 0-14 Ballybay Pearse Brothers 1-9
Scotstown 0-14 Inniskeen Grattans 0-12

OFFALY SFC FINAL
Tullamore 0-15 Ferbane 0-14

SLIGO SFC SEMI FINALS
Coolera Strandhill 0-10 St Mary’s 1-4
St Molaise Gaels 1-10 Shamrock Gaels 0-10

TIPPERARY SHC FINAL
Loughmore-Castleiney 2-19 Toomevara 1-17

WATERFORD SFC SEMI FINALS
Rathgormack 1-19 The Nire 2-5
Ballinacourty 1-9 Gaultier 0-11

WESTMEATH SFC FINAL
St Lomans 1-13 The Downs 1-13

WEXFORD SFC SEMI FINAL
Castletown Liam Mellows 4-9 Glynn Barntown 2-9

Pity, they’ve a nice enough draw is they could get them to stay around.

What’s the point when you have the likes of Croke’s with all their big money signings?