Well done buddy. You were worth the one point in extra time that didnât come from a dodgy referee
A great day of Gaelic football. I was listening to Radio 1 and switched over to Newstalk for a while in the car when Scottstown goaled to stretch the lead to 8. I switched back just in time to hear the Newbridge comeback and was delighted to catch the end of extra-time and penalties. It couldâve been a proper trilogy in another era pre-penalty shootouts. Scottstown have a lot of older players to recuperate for the final against Kilcoo. Presumably next weekend?
Brigids v Moycullen looked like a good game too. A day to restore faith in Gaelic football while the Munster club hurling final sounded like a damp squib.
Saturday December 13th @1800 hours
Ample recovery time for Scottstown so. The All-Ireland semi-finals are the following weekend I presume?
First week in January I presume?
Kilcoo will be licking their lips. Weâll put up a better showing this year, mind you.
Hilarious that there was a basketball game on TG4 instead of the Ulster club. I realise their hands were tied after the postponement last weekend.
Was it not shown anywhere?
I watched the end of it on the TG4 player yeah.
Ah grand so, it was shown.
Commentators eye.
Iâve wondered that myself. I know I was delighted when they beat Cross and Ballymun in early 2013 but surely within Roscommon theyâre not overly popular.
I think the petrol station referenced was in Moneyglass.
God bless Jim Gavin. A bad day for new rules lambasters
Terrific fare in The Hyde. Brigids wonât lie down in front of Boden.
They have some lovely footballers and look to be in good shape.
Theyâll have a say in it yet.
Glenshane vindicated yet again. Morto for @Chancer
When are the all Ireland club semiâs (big ball) penciled in for @Cheasty ?
Semis January 3rd/4th
Final January 18th
Brigids will take beaten alright. They had 10 lads on the county panel plus a few others who previously played for the county.
They wouldnt be that popular within Roscommon alright especially with the transfer of Conor Carroll this year from Oranmore
Me personally i was happy to see them win for Anthony Cunningham who got some bad health news lately.
A few national schools in the area. All players would then go to secondary in Athlone
He looked a bit shook in the OTB interview
Debate and different opinions is great but sitting at home and posting on an Internet Forum about wishing a Club GAA player to be decapitated is odd and unfortunate behaviour.
Men against boys in Thurles today. Eire Og Ennis werenât good enough anyway, but their set up meant it was always only going to end one way. The template to beat Ballygunner is well known. You have to skelp/run with a bit of throwing and overcarrying mixed in to see can you get a bit of momentum going. Being the outsider generally gives you free licence to do all of the above. See Sarsfields and St. Thomasâs. Eire Og played with a sweeper, conceded puckouts and were blown out of it in the energy stakes. It was 0-16 to 0-03 from open play. Eire Og are obviously a good team but there are different levels of being good.
For a team that looked completely broken and bewildered walking off Semple Stadium this time last year, Ballygunner have reorganised and reset themselves as well as could be expected. Aaron OâNeill has come in and steadied the ship at the back. Between himself, Ruddle, Power and Leavy tracking back, thereâs a fair bit of recovery pace there now to protect Philip Mahony.
They are slipping though. Two or three years ago theyâd have won that game by somewhere between 14 and 20 points. They never really looked like scoring a goal today bar two harmless efforts from Kevin Mahony. OâKeefe is looking a little unsure of himself at times and I wouldnât be hanging my hat on the subs to come in and turn a game if necessary.
But none the above means they canât win this All Ireland. Hutchinson and Fitzgerald are humming nicely. The younger Mahonyâs are running and tackling all day. Ian Kenny is doing fine full back and Paddy Leavy is like the Great Wall of China. Thereâs no end to him. If they fed Hutchinson and Fitzgerald enough ball theyâd win it by themselves, but they donât have an elite level distributor who can ping ball 90 yards into them on a six pence. So instead theyâve to work these interminable triangles of pop passes around the middle to find the opening. Its heavy going but they are good at it.
The All Ireland is a new competition and there are four other serious teams left. I think theyâd rather Ballyhale now especially without Mullen. Better the devil you know and all that. These Martinâs lads are unexposed and unpredictable. Ballyhale would be in Thurles too whereas Martinâs could be in Carlow under crap floodlights. Theyâd be walking into a booby trap down there.