Contenders for the greatest song of all time

What a woman !

She knows the craic.

This is probably their best song.

I saw them just the once, in The Ambassador in Dublin around the time Silent Alarm came out & I vaguely recall it being tremendous. A rollicking good show with the drummer from that era (Matt?) delivering a particular Vuelta d’Espana. I kinda lost track of music/them after the third album but have been dipping back in over the past few years. I still listen to them regularly when I’m out & about & I think their stuff holds up very well. Even b sides like England are deadly imnvho.

They put on a great live show.
They’ve six (6) albums out which are different. As you aid the b sides are great. Little thoughts, two more years are great songs. They’ve a cover of a Chromeo song which is class and the lead singer has done his own stuff.

Silent alarm came out at the height of indie for me.

Last time I saw them was Tramlines. The youngest was strapped to herself. He was only 3 months old. What a first gig.

Original lineup?

No. It’s Kele, the lead singer and Russell. To be fair they originally set it up and got everyone else

Wouldn’t bother me at all, was just wondering did they make it up or whatever. Great band.

Lads Bloc Party were good in 2006 and Silent Alarm was a good debut but let’s not get carried away in nostalgia. I’d say preteens who were into them in 2006 moved on by age 14.

It doesn’t be that way sometimes alright

I know! Sure look at Oasis.

It’s funny, but my memories of Oasis live are waiting to collect my cousin for ages down in the Pairc in the nineties. My fav Bloc Party record is s the first one. Timing is everything I guess. I messed my first response to you as well, appreciate your graciousness.

Sure as long as we are still alive. Music is a core part of being human, binds people together and in all honesty probably brought most couples together. My parents met at a ceili in a coounrry farmhouse, a barrel of Guinness shipped in for the occasion. If there’s one thing the Irish do well it’s music. B

You look back and you want to remember your good times. The two aspects of that are music and people, maybe venues. I’d say it’s why people make up. You need people to remember your good times with, preferably a few that were actually there.

Just listen to it

I can’t get enough of this at the moment.

My Bloody Valentine - sometimes

That is absolutely unreal

Completely AI

Find it hard to nominate anything for single greatest song but this an absolutely perfect song is every aspect. I saw Hugh Cornwell in Whelan’s last Friday and the gig was by turns class and bizarre but he played this and for three minutes or so you were transported in another place, transcendental.