Upset? I thought they were favourites now?
Sure you still have youghals epic win over whitegate to get you through the winter months ?
Intermediate Club is where its at. Wait til they put Tipp hurling in their place this weekend.
The final was played last weekend
I thought Ballina were junior? Never mind so.
Were from Cork that’s enough to get us through anything.
To be honest im actually looking forward to this new era.The winds of change are blowing through Cork football and it feels like we could be going somewhere again and that we are building something again as opposed to the stagnation and staleness we saw this year.Even though we are in transition we will still put out a good team next year that can compete with anyone.Winning munster is achievable and winning a quarter final is achievable so all going well there’s a good chance we’ll get as far as an all ireland semi final at the very least.We still have good options on the bench but the depth of options for the backs and midfield has taken a serious hit.All in all with everyone fit,no injuries and suspensions and if the players and management gel immediately then we won’t be too far off at all.To be honest im quietly optimistic that we will have a good year and it’s not as if the competition out there is that great.The aim is to be ready for 2015/2016 but that doesn’t necessarily mean that 2014 is a write off.In fact i think it could be a year for potential, development and a surprise or two for our competitors.Write us off at your peril.
Outrageous that people are trying to change the rules cos of Nash. The opportunity to do what he does has been there forever.
Also outrageous and embarrassing comments from John Corcoran. Cody seems to be wrong about what he said, but he is as entitled to his view as anyone.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 862791, member: 273”]http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/rebels-see-appalling-plan-to-change-20m-frees-as-bid-to-nullify-nash-threat-250168.html
Outrageous that people are trying to change the rules cos of Nash. The opportunity to do what he does has been there forever.
Also outrageous and embarrassing comments from John Corcoran. Cody seems to be wrong about what he said, but he is as entitled to his view as anyone.[/quote]
there was a motion from a Wexford club last year, before Nashs high profile frees this season, to ban the way frees on the 20m line are taken. I had agreed with the motion myself at the time, and after seeing Nash and Lester Ryan in the KK final take their frees, I definitely agree with it. A simple free conceded 7m or more outside the penalty area shouldnt result in a near certain goal.
Corcorans comments are extremely embarrassing alright, and one might say the typical Cork arrogance. Why was he even commenting on what the cpatain of Carlow said? Many more made comments about Cork throughout the whole league debate.
[quote=“Gman, post: 862825, member: 112”]there was a motion from a Wexford club last year, before Nashs high profile frees this season, to ban the way frees on the 20m line are taken. I had agreed with the motion myself at the time, and after seeing Nash and Lester Ryan in the KK final take their frees, I definitely agree with it. A simple free conceded 7m or more outside the penalty area shouldnt result in a near certain goal.
Corcorans comments are extremely embarrassing alright, and one might say the typical Cork arrogance. Why was he even commenting on what the cpatain of Carlow said? Many more made comments about Cork throughout the whole league debate.[/quote]
Completely disagree on frees etc. there is huge skill and training goes into being that good at them. It’s been there for years and nobody opened their mouths. It’s an extremely stupid reaction to a great skill.
Corcoran was responding as the Carlow lad, falsely, was the only guy I heard actually be direct and accuse Cork of being behind anything. The fact that everyone else voted for the league to stay (kinda) as is in a close vote and no pattern to the voting shows to me counties were thinking for themselves.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 862834, member: 273”]Completely disagree on frees etc. there is huge skill and training goes into being that good at them. It’s been there for years and nobody opened their mouths. It’s an extremely stupid reaction to a great skill.
Corcoran was responding as the Carlow lad, falsely, was the only guy I heard actually be direct and accuse Cork of being behind anything. The fact that everyone else voted for the league to stay (kinda) as is in a close vote and no pattern to the voting shows to me counties were thinking for themselves.[/quote]
I think there is more skill in being able to place the ball from 20m, rather than launch it in the air and run after it and pound it in from 13m or less out. there is also a safety issue with it too. fuck that being a sitting duck getting smacked by a ball from that close in. there has always being moaning about it though. We used always moan when the great DJ used take frees. That cunt would either hold the sliothar on the hurl too long on the lift, or else do a ‘double lift’ with it and then on his penalties he used throw it up a mile too and run after it. But then I suppose we’re just a shower of moaning cunts anyway, but I think there has always been question marks over the wya 20m frees/penalties are taken.
plenty came out and accused Cork of all sorts, whether rightly or wrongly, but Bob Ryan was the main reason for that and his comments the way he went on. In any case, Corcoran had no place to be calling Coady out on it, and more so in the ridiculous manner he did.
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 862791, member: 273”]http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/rebels-see-appalling-plan-to-change-20m-frees-as-bid-to-nullify-nash-threat-250168.html
Also outrageous and embarrassing comments from John Corcoran. Cody seems to be wrong about what he said, but he is as entitled to his view as anyone.[/quote]
He shouldn’t be allowed to use a goalkeepers hurley while doing so, don’t have a problem with the technique.
crazy to change a rule because somebody has perfected a skill - teams will adapt to deal with it as Clare tried to do - it is a great spectacle in a sport and other goalkeepers/players should be practising over the winter to try and hone it
nash fluffed one in the final and missed another so it is hardly a gimme
what happens if a goalkeeper comes along who can puck the ball over the bar from a puck out?
Should the ball in football be made heavier because Cluxton can slot over fifties with ease?
The reason it is being changed is due to the fact that there rule is far too ambiguous and the Gaa are right to try and clear it up. I don’t see how it is any different to enforcing that keepers are inside their small rectangle when taking a puckout or that a player isn’t placing the ball yards inside the sideline when hitting a sideline cut which has also been removed in recent years.
Fair play to Nash and others for working on the technique and using it to their teams benefit but the fact is that someone ‘stealing’ 5 metres or more on a 20 metre free is not within the spirit of the game and the Gaa are right to at least remove the ambiguity from the rule so both the free taker and defenders know where they stand
There’s far more skill in a player like Canning with a great shot blasting home a 21 than Nashes technique. I liked Kelly’s way of rushing out to deal with it. Would have been gas if he managed to block Nash down before his actual strike.
I would think the easiest thing to do from a rules/enforcement point of view is to say that the ball has to be struck from the 20 metre line and defending players have to remain on the goalline. If a player wants to lift it a few paces ahead of themselves before the strike then they would have to place the ball 22 or 23 metres out. But then than opens another arguement that you are possibly penalising the side who have the free in but the ambiguity is removed
Ya fair enough, I agree with that.
@Gman - seriously, fuck off with your safety issue. That’s a serious load of cock. If it’s too much don’t play. The Clare keeper, it seems legally, answered it best he could.
It’s spectacular, it’s unique and it’s the world gone mad if it’s changed. This is like all these stupid fucking rules popping up everywhere in life and sport where everything is changing due to one complaint or one crank piping up. The gum shields in football is farcical. They’ll change the sliothar to a soft ball soon.
Seriously, get a grip.
That’s a rule that should be applied to football where players that kick from their hands steal a huge amount of space of place kickers.
[quote=“chewy louie, post: 862859, member: 1137”]The reason it is being changed is due to the fact that there rule is far too ambiguous and the Gaa are right to try and clear it up. I don’t see how it is any different to enforcing that keepers are inside their small rectangle when taking a puckout or that a player isn’t placing the ball yards inside the sideline when hitting a sideline cut which has also been removed in recent years.
Fair play to Nash and others for working on the technique and using it to their teams benefit but the fact is that someone ‘stealing’ 5 metres or more on a 20 metre free is not within the spirit of the game and the Gaa are right to at least remove the ambiguity from the rule so both the free taker and defenders know where they stand[/quote]
but why seek to remove the advantage from attacking team where a foul was committed bearing in mind that to do what Nash does i is a difficult skill as demonstrated by Nash himself fluffing one
Nash beating 14 Clare men on the line will go down as a great sporting moment (greater if Cork had won the game)
[quote=“caoimhaoin, post: 862864, member: 273”]Ya fair enough, I agree with that.
@Gman - seriously, fuck off with your safety issue. That’s a serious load of cock. If it’s too much don’t play. The Clare keeper, it seems legally, answered it best he could.
It’s spectacular, it’s unique and it’s the world gone mad if it’s changed. This is like all these stupid fucking rules popping up everywhere in life and sport where everything is changing due to one complaint or one crank piping up. The gum shields in football is farcical. They’ll change the sliothar to a soft ball soon.
Seriously, get a grip.[/quote]
not so much cock if it gets smashed to bits by someone blasting a ball at you from 10 yards away.
but where does it stop? if the players are being forced to stay on the line, then why cant you go even further and throw the ball right in to the small square and hit it off the bounce or on the ground?
as chewy says, its too ambiguous the way it is. I just think the rewards for getting a simple free are too much. more than just one crank as well, and as I said, this was a motion proposed before Nash and his high profile free taking became apparent.
I’d agree with glas too that taking frees from the hand in football are a joke, in that a ref will make a player taking it off the ground be millimetre spot on to where it is, yet taking it from the hand can can you loads of yardage.