Cork now has 7 teams out of 18.
Hardly that bad now is it?
Cork now has 7 teams out of 18.
Hardly that bad now is it?
No, it’s very good in fact. In fact I make it 8 Cork, 4 Tipp, 3 Limerick, 2 Waterford and 1 Clare. Of course there’s hardly a fucking school in Clare.
Eight teams Kev.
An utterly horrible year for Cork GAA and they spend their time attacking Donal Og. Some shower.
Shower of muppets.
Cork are doomed. What’s going on with the hurling is farcical. It’s all about personalities and not who can do the best job. All the best managers and coaches are involved in UCC, CIT, Camogie, Ladies Football etc as they don’t want the hassle of the CB.
Rumoured Cleary has or is pulling out in favour of replacing Eamon Ryan. How true I don’t know but it makes a lot of sense. Not the same profile or media hassle however still rewarding, dealing with a very supportive board and not that should of idiots, and his daughter and niece are involved. It’s also felt he would more or less abolish players playing with their clubs outside of championship, which is badly needed. Clearly must see that they didn’t want him cos of the dual issue and now the club issue as well he’d always be fighting even if he got the job. Not worth it.
What the CB don’t see is people are not as Hungry for the status anymore and having a challenging but enjoyable coaching role surpasses what’s expected at Mens IC level, especially when you don’t have the right support.
Sure Cork has the biggest population in Munster. Ergo they have the highest amount of teams ffs!
Harty Cup me bollix. Go on and win the schools AI should be the goal. No wonder Cork/Munster hurling is fucked!
A retard would think that alright. Reality is only have Midleton CBS have any decent pick and even there pick has been diminishing over the past 15 years. The pick of a team like Ard Scoil or Thurles in comparison to the likes of AG and CBC is massive.
The all Ireland is wonderful to win and compete for but it’s value onto a Harty isn’t that enormous
Plenty excellent Harty and Corn I Mhuiri winning teams failed to win AllIrelands. The Harty is a much longer competition than the Leinster hurling and has more depth so you have to be going well in October. That catches up.
And you have weak and strong years. 3 of the strongest teams in history came along 1-2 years in the football in early 90’s and all teams produced multiple county players and all ireland winners
Is it? Are all the schools in Cork tiny or what? I don’t believe you.
Well I’m not a retard so let’s put that one to bed. I’m dealing in facts here and facts are there are more people living in Cork and facts are they have more schools in this particular competition.
What I’m hearing here is more Cork bullshit that everything has to be centered around what the biggest school in East Cork is at with regards to their hurling team. What is wrong with the other schools getting their acts together? If the underage system is in such shit then why aren’t the colleges in the city clubbing together and putting in one team? Why isn’t there a team coming out of the schools of West Cork?
Simply not good enough. Cork is Cork. Cork has the tradition, it has the people, time for the county to cop the fuck on, deliver a Forrestial winner, a minor, an U21, feed the seniors with not only talented hurlers but talented hurlers who know how to win at a national level.
Harty Cup me hoop.
Munster hurling me hoop.
Bandon is west cork fella.
And it takes years to build a sport. Hurling in West cork is like football in Killkenny
Only difference west cork is now trying to develop their weaker sport and clubs like Bantry, Clon & Dohenys are competing at a reasonable level.
Bringing schools up to Harty level is 30 years away though. That’s the reality
There is talent coming through now from 14, 16s and minor from rebel og development squads. Leverage of numbers means Cork will be fine. Suffering now from lack of such squads but now they are in place they will catch up again and players will come through to senior.
Last year Cunningham in Galway was written off. This year he is a hero. Couple of players make a big difference.
Players have always been there TUM. Nothing will change if the handover from development to Minor/21’s/Seniors doesn’t improve. And it’s questionable that it will.
There was interviews for the minor job last week. The set up is farcical. Instead of working with present management for a year or two it looks like Duirmuid sull will be in and change the whole set up again. It’s not so much that Denis Ring would be the loss as manager, although his contacts and logistical experience would show sullivan a lot. It’s the loss of John Dwyer as coach. Sullivan wanted the job for himself and now will probably ly spend 2 years learning on the job. It’s a totally different job to development squads. He’d also have been better off being in with Midleton CBS for a year or two. It’s just too easy for him with his auld lad and his exposure. He is skipping rungs on the ladder. It’s the players suffer for that.
Whatever fellas say about Donal Og, he is after bringing Clyne back from the brink, he has their minors and 21’s going well and intermediates fighting for title again. He can clearly coach and knows the game. Yet they have shunned him. The wrong Clyne man is involved. From what I heard, Cusack is a coach, Sullivan is a trainer. Massive difference.
And I agree that there should be a Kilkenny colleges team in some level of Leinster schools competition and hopefully there will be. But why can’t an area like West Cork bite the bullet, take their heads out of their arses and put a combined schools team in for hurling the way that Waterford did?
Not sure about the whole need to learn the craft along the way. Jim Gavin went from playing to managing 21s in early 2000s and then back to 21s in 2008. I think youth is becoming a factor and being able to relate to lads and get them to buy into what they need to do. Gavin is now only 44.
Cork should look to youth and give them a few years. Cusack won’t get it under any circumstances. I would be a big Brian Murphy fan - get him in as coach with a Kingston type safe pair of hands and then let him take over in a couple of years
You are proving my point really. Gavin did it young but then went away and got more educated and experienced and then picked up really talented bunch. You are right about the connection to youth but you have to get experience, simple as.
If Dublin don’t win the All Ireland is Gavin under achieving? He certainly could be accused of naivety or lacking some dynamism of thought mid-game. How flexible are this Dublin team? Mentally and tactically. I’M not saying it’s easy, I know it’s not, but he has a spectacularly talented team of players available.
I think he is doing a good job, but I don’t think you can hold up the likes of Dublin as the template for coaching. They are ready made coming to you. It’s managing at that stage. Basically I think we are talking about different things here.
If for Cork the focus is on winning Minor Munster and All Ireland then you need one type of coach/manager. If it’s purely about developing young inter county players then you might need someone else.
What might work is Sullivan as manager and Cusack as coach. Won’t happen of course.
I just know huge progress was made this year in coaching and lifestyle development thru the Mardyke Athletic monitoring system and the Cork Minors. It would be a disaster if that was ignored under a new regime. The minor footballers ignored it and some people think the lack of analysis of themselves and of Kerry cost them. They lost by a small margin and now Kerry are favourites for all ireland. It shows how close Cork actually are.
But again it’s chopping and changing is the problem. The fact that they won’t fund the head of games development enough to give up farming his family farm tells you all you need to know. The work rate of a few gda’s is questionable as well.
winning minors is grand but it is not be all and end all - only importance is developing players and players feeding through to senior. You might get 3 or 4 from a very good minor team making it to senior team.
learn from other sports and coach the coaches - coach education at juvenile level makes a huge difference
Dublin have done that and have lots of full time gdo s
Cork were late coming to table with development squads but numbers means players will come through quickly
Dublin football was in crisis in 2007 and 2008 with ex players calling for end to development squads.
You are missing the point
In fact you are believing the mushroom theory
Was 2013 a false dawn for Clare a nd cork hurling
Hardly mushrooms. More grapes. The terroir is there to grow grapes but a new irrigation system is needed with more modern winemaking techniques. Of course a vineyard can be a graveyard if you type quickly and are not details focussed.